Ulster Final 2008 - Armagh vs Fermanagh

Started by wanderer, June 29, 2008, 11:22:11 PM

Yes I Would

Quote from: bloody mary on July 21, 2008, 11:53:49 AM
'Yes I would' - what do you mean about 'don't get me started about that kane fella on bbc'? Every week someone says that here but I never see it so I was wondering what yourse are on about!

Predicatble as hell, No analysis of tactics, game plans etc etc

"Come here... Whos is gonna win the replay?,
"Come here... What was said at half time?
"Come here... Can yous go on and win this?
" Come here... Did you think you would score that equalising point?

Agree about Veron, had been very impressed with him in club and college football. Very powerful ball carrier, but just hasnt clicked into gear yeat after 3 games.
May be better employed introduced off the bench. Wouldnt be Paddy Mc Keevers biggest fan but thought he got into the game when he came on, and have a feeling he might start next day out.

Quote from: charlie stubbs on July 21, 2008, 07:05:40 PM
aaron kernan had a horrible game i thought yesterday but i would definately persavere with him the next day. 

totally wipped out at mf in second half yesterday.

felt mcdonnell made changes he didnt need to why being mcconville and mckeever on when mf was the problem.

vernon isnt impressing me at this level.  expected big things from him after watching qub the last few years he appears v nervous

"Armagh are over reliant on Steven McDonnell.!"  mcdonnell didnrt even score from play against down and todate s kernan and clarke have been better bar yesterday

hill was a joke people squashing up against each other.  had a load of wee dicks beside me who kept shouting to "break"players  and "knock his f**k out"was embarrassed to be frm armagh listening to that

You should have had a quiet word and clipped a few ears

Did ye hear Canavan saying that hundreds of Fermanagh fans left when 8 points down.

dodgyrightfoot

Quote from: Onion Bag on July 21, 2008, 10:27:46 AM
What was that clown Gallagher at yesterday, He wouldnt shake Stevies hand b4 the game and was mouthing in his ear all day, waving his arms at the crowd and all that, someone from Fermanagh would need to have a wee word in his ear,

And just when im in the mood for complaining, i thought the sportmanship from a huge amount of fermanagh fans was a disgrace, There is nothing as bad as someone taking a free kick and getting booed from the opposition fans, Jasus i hate that

I stood on the O'Duffy terrace today in my green jersey and clapped most of Armaghs points as McDonnell and Toner got beauties..but then only to be pushed in the back when Moriarty found the net...lovely lads altogether! Ya get clowns everywhere im afraid!

FromAFar

Re: Ulster Final 2008 - Armagh vs Fermanagh
« Reply #528 on: Today at 08:35:32 PM »
Quote from: Onion Bag on Today at 10:27:46 AM
What was that clown Gallagher at yesterday, He wouldnt shake Stevies hand b4 the game and was mouthing in his ear all day, waving his arms at the crowd and all that, someone from Fermanagh would need to have a wee word in his ear,

And just when im in the mood for complaining, i thought the sportmanship from a huge amount of fermanagh fans was a disgrace, There is nothing as bad as someone taking a free kick and getting booed from the opposition fans, Jasus i hate that

I stood on the O'Duffy terrace today in my green jersey and clapped most of Armaghs points as McDonnell and Toner got beauties..but then only to be pushed in the back when Moriarty found the net...lovely lads altogether! Ya get clowns everywhere im afraid!

What were ya doin in clones today?? Ya should have went yesterday, far better craic.

Were ya not wearin a white jersey ne?? ;)

In drawn games teams that finish strongly always get the plaudits but the main plus point for Armagh to take out of this game was that they dominated the game for large enough periods and led on the scoreboard for most of the game. Another one is that McDonnell and Clarke are on fire at the minute and any ball, good or bad, going in to them is resulting in a score.  As others have said here, if they were getting better service we'd be winning games at a canter.   But hard to remember the last time i've seen a team get so cleaned out possession wise for so long in a game - Armagh didn't win one kickout for the last 20 mins.  Usually a team would expect to win a fair share of it's own kickouts.  Just 1 or 2 breaks won would have seen us win with a few points to spare.   The big problem was the lack of Armagh half backs and half forwards getting in to support the 2 midfielders. Toner and McGrane didn't do any worse in the high fielding stakes than the 2 Fermanagh men - it's just that Fermanagh had a greater number of bodies ready to collect the break ball uncontested. Our half forward line was sitting too deep and weren't tuned in to go and win the ball around there.  Another thing that didn't help was Hearty's kickouts - they were that long they were actually bypassing our midfield and hitting the Fermanagh half back line!  Hearty's from the old school - kick the ball as long and as hard and you can, and he's good at that. But that's not too clever when the opposition are winning everything. Where's the variety Paul? This is nothing new though - Kerry destroyed us in the second half of the 06 game and again nothing changed in the kickouts - straight down Dara O'Se's throat all day long.  Aidan O'Rourke was giving off to him at one stage, but it didn't change anything. McKinney deserves a chance.  

Even being 8 points up games like this can take a turn on careless mistakes and complacency creeping in. I thought a major turning point was when Aaron Kernan was taking a sideline ball in the Fermanagh half. That giveaway led to the Fermanagh goal and they got a bit of belief from that.  After a brilliant first half where he was running the show he had a nightmare second. Others like SK, Vernon, Ciaran McKeever didn't get into the game at all, which was disappointing.  Paddy McKeever will probably have to start the replay - only for him we wouldn't have got a ball in the second half.

In the papers the past week we've been reading about how meticulous and astute McDonnell is. Well it doesn't take a rocket scientist to work out where Armagh's weaknesses lie, based on the last 2 matches.  It remains to be seen whether he will be able to fix them in the space of 1 week but i'd say it's something they'll be working on in training!

By the way, the Fermanagh goalie is a maggot.

Bacon

Quote from: armaghniac on July 21, 2008, 04:54:25 PM
QuoteBBC can only broadcast what RTE broadcast.

Hardly. Yesterday's game was not live on RTE.

So is it on TV live? I should have said "what RTE or TV3".
Down Championships Prediction League Winner 2009

armagh ones behind me had drink brought in and were slabberin and booing Fermanagh free kicks for 60 minutes --there wasnt a word outta any of them in the last 10 minutes!

Bacon I'm not sure you're correct with that...

Take an example of Antrim v Cavan ... was it not live on bcc but no other channel?

BerfArmagh

A very enjoyable match/atmosphere in clones on sunday. Being an Armagh supporter, I thought we had it in the bag after Clarkes goal, but fair play to Fermanagh, they battled to the end & if they had of taken their points instead of going for goal with 15 mins to go would have won by a couple of points.

From an Armagh perspective, ...........very disappointing
MF was totally overrun, if we play our HF line deep to win breaking ball, why did'nt we win any? Its not like they were contributing to scores. Though Brian Mallon played very well. I'd like to see him further up the field.

Full back line did quite well, considering the fact they we being bombed continiosuly for at least the last 20 mins. Half back line was caught in possession too many times. Have to say it was the worst performance from the 2 kernans in an Armagh Jersey, but I would definelty give them a chance to redeem themselves.

I would have liked to have seen Mc Donnell give either swift or mc kenna a run when we were being wiped out in MF. Mc Grane was running on empty. It gives an impression that he has no confidence in them & if this is the case, why are they on the panel? This will be Mc Granes last year, we need to blood these guys...

Clarke & Mc Donnell are a joy to watch, if we play our positions and move the ball into them quicker, we'll beat Fermanagh in the replay

Have to say Marty Mc Grath was outstanding on sunday

Lets go again next sunday

dodgyrightfoot

Quote from: FromAFar on July 21, 2008, 09:42:54 PM

Re: Ulster Final 2008 - Armagh vs Fermanagh
« Reply #528 on: Today at 08:35:32 PM »
Quote from: Onion Bag on Today at 10:27:46 AM

What were ya doin in clones today?? Ya should have went yesterday, far better craic.

Were ya not wearin a white jersey ne?? ;)

The jersey was white yday, but its far from white after a nite out in enniskillen! Chaos!!

QuoteI stood on the O'Duffy terrace today in my green jersey and clapped most of Armaghs points as McDonnell and Toner got beauties..but then only to be pushed in the back when Moriarty found the net...lovely lads altogether! Ya get clowns everywhere im afraid!

Dodgyrightfoot...you're not going to believe this, but while watching one of the replays on TV last night, for some reason I spotted an Armagh fella pushing a Fermanagh supporter in the back when Armagh scored the first goal....they were just to he left of the posts (looking from the field)

M Deegan (Laois) the ref for the replay.

I was chatting to a fella last nite and he reckons it is on tv, Can someone please put this to bed, is it or isnt it?

If Maurice Deegan is the ref the entertainment value will be nil and there will be carnage.

Even a league run-out is ruined by his insistence on black booking for every foul, following by yellow and then red. Except a Garda escort.