Dunphy v Brady

Started by GalwayBayBoy, April 08, 2008, 11:36:09 PM

North Longford

It was going on from before the game.
Bill mentioned to Brady that he would soon be leaving the panel due to his role with Ireland. Quick as a flash Dunphy retorts.....he could be back soon too!
Brady didn't really like that either................Dunphy is just a pure wind up merchant

Quote from: Maximus Marillius on April 09, 2008, 03:30:10 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on April 09, 2008, 02:28:35 PM
Quote from: Maximus Marillius on April 09, 2008, 01:59:47 PM
lads it great TV...thats what we pay our money for...to be entertained, entrolled...

whats this WE paleface
you pay feck all !  :D

you have to pay for your TV licence..well I do anyway
your sterling goes towards paying the BBC and your queen
not our RTE and Irish channels !

that reminds me - must start a thread on you impoverished northerners and brits

I thought you were a northerner Lynchboy?
or is there some sort of exorcism you can go through?

Quote from: Main Street on April 09, 2008, 04:34:42 PM
I thought you were a northerner Lynchboy?
or is there some sort of exorcism you can go through?

what part of the North or NI is Dublin in ? ;)

Harps 21

While Dunphy did go over the top, it's moments like last night which make you appreciate all the more RTE's coverage with the lads compared to ITV and SKY's colourless drivel - could you honestly see Gary Lineker or Jamie Redknapp coming up with cracks like that??

Quote from: hardstation on April 09, 2008, 04:36:25 PM
I always thought that he was from England. Just seems English. Maybe it's just me....
you lads always get touchy when we kick your asses...
eg stuttgart 1988 and I'll leave Mr Fearon to come up with the rest of the historical victories

no need to be so bitter just because our Euro is wiping the floor with Mrs. Windsors pocket posters!  :D

Quote from: AZOffaly on April 09, 2008, 11:42:12 AM
Souness is a different man entirely on RTE. He's interesting and says interesting things. Compare and contrast with him on Sky, probably tonight. The 3 of them on Sky will be like a choir, all saying exactly the same thing. 'Are Roma shite?' 'Yes, Richard, Yes they are'. 'Are United Great?' 'Yes Richard, yes they are'. 'Was last night a fantastic advertisement for the Premiership?' 'Yes Richard, Yes it was'. 'Won't the Liverpool Chelsea tie be another great occasion?' 'Yes Richard, yes it will'. 'Are we Borg?' 'Yes Richard, We Are Borg'.

Jees you have me in stitches :D :D :D :D :D but your are right.

doire na raithe

Quote from: Harps 21 on April 09, 2008, 04:40:34 PM
While Dunphy did go over the top, it's moments like last night which make you appreciate all the more RTE's coverage with the lads compared to ITV and SKY's colourless drivel - could you honestly see Gary Lineker or Jamie Redknapp coming up with cracks like that??

Totally agree!

Quote from: ONeill on April 09, 2008, 02:15:58 PM
I thought it was great. RTE can mix the serious ith the surreal but riveting viewing as well. Brady can be a wee bit up his arse sometimes. Shared a pint with the man too in Belfast. Asked him if he was the first man to say 'codswhallop' on TV.

I love these people who are always "sharing a pint" with famous people.

Chrisowc

Quote from: ONeill on April 09, 2008, 02:15:58 PM
I thought it was great. RTE can mix the serious ith the surreal but riveting viewing as well. Brady can be a wee bit up his arse sometimes. Shared a pint with the man too in Belfast. Asked him if he was the first man to say 'codswhallop' on TV.

Must have been more than a pint.
it's 'circle the wagons time again' here comes the cavalry!

Quote from: doire na raithe on April 09, 2008, 08:26:12 PM

I love these people who are always "sharing a pint" with famous people.

Why do you love me?

It wasnt just Rte who brought up the John Cleese comparison. Tommy Smith brought it up during the game on ESPN only he called him Manuel  :D

Tommy Smith on ESPN is simply the stupidest and worst commentator I have ever heard. A complete clown.

Empty chair on the RTE panel tonight where Liam should have been.
Only Giles and the decrepit lizard were there along with Bill.

Anyway Liam looks the part along with Tardelli in the Ireland set up and the Great One still has to make his entrance there.

gawa316

Quote from: magpie seanie on April 09, 2008, 11:26:38 PM
Tommy Smith on ESPN is simply the stupidest and worst commentator I have ever heard. A complete clown.

Who is this boy or where did he come from? Has he ever played football?

I think he's hilarious.

'In the back of the old onion bag!'

mayo51

he used to be the   g.a.a  commentator in gaelic park about 10 years ago until he was discovered by espn  ;)he also does the commentry on the   st. patricks day parade on ch.9 and was the parade  grand marshall   this year.he has improved quite a bit over the years from what he was but i still would not rate him