Dustin set for Eurovision

Started by Tyronelass, January 29, 2008, 05:27:23 PM

fair play to the bird thats what i say, hope he wins the fecking thing it will be the only bleeding time you will hear me cheering on a dub ;)

'is Dustin not some sort of vulture, Oh he would get my vote, a legend indeed'

He's a vulture who thinks he's a turkey.  He got me through a nine-month-period of unemployment in the Nineties, would have went up the wall but for The Den on RTE...

The laugh of it is, Phil Coulter - writer of the Puppet On A String (the most misogynist song ever) and Ireland's Call (universally despised dreadful dirge) - was on this morning on radio whingeing how this would damage Eurovision and no-one would take it seriously ever again ... what an eejit!

Dustin is probably one of the most talented personalities in Irish television.

I liked Zig and Zag and socky (arent he and Dustin brothers - in real life?) too.

Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 07, 2008, 07:26:47 PM
Dustin is probably one of the most talented personalities in Irish television.

He's brilliant.

Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 07, 2008, 07:26:47 PM
I liked Zig and Zag

Like a lot of Irish celebrities, they cleared off to England.

Quote from: thejuice on February 07, 2008, 09:42:58 AM
Great, hope he does win it, the Eurovision is a joke anyway. We must be about the only ones who still take it seriously.

I think you'll find that Ireland haven't taken it seriously in years, and it shows.  It is however, taken deadly serious in other parts of Europe.
As for Dustin's entry, it's not up to his usual standard. It is actually quite cringeworthy. It's here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lTYnk3vneI0

Quote from: red hander on February 07, 2008, 12:40:08 PM
Phil Coulter - writer of the Puppet On A String (the most misogynist song ever)

I know that this is a bit of a deviation, but this intrigued me sufficiently to google the lyrics:

I wonder if one day that, you'll say that, you care
If you say you love me madly, I'll gladly, be there
Like a puppet on a string

Love is just like a merry-go-round
With all the fun in the air
One day I'm feeling down on the ground
Then I'm up in the air
Are you leading me on?
Tomorrow will you be gone?

If you love me madly, I'll gladly, be there

I may win on the roundabout
Then I'll lose on the swings
In or out, there is never a doubt
Just who's pulling the strings
I'm all tied up to you
But where's it leading me to?

Like a puppet on a..... string

There isn't one single reference to the gender of the singer i.e. it could just as easily be sung by a man. And either way, it's hardly extreme of someone to say that he/she is so in love with someone that they're powerless to resist them.

Anyhow, off the top of my head, the song is nowhere near so bad as e.g. "Stand By Your Man",  or "So long as he needs me" (from "Oliver")

Sometimes its hard to be a woman
Giving all your love to just one man
You'll have bad times
And he'll have good times
Doing things that you don't understand
But if you love him you'll forgive him
Even though he's hard to understand
And if you love him
Oh be proud of him
'Cause after all he's just a man
Stand by your man
Give him two arms to cling to
And something warm to come to
When nights are cold and lonely
Stand by your man
And tell the world you love him
Keep giving all the love you can
Stand by your man
And show the world you love him
Keep giving all the love you can
Stand by your man

As long as he needs me...
Oh, yes, he does need me...
In spite of what you see...
...I'm sure that he needs me.

Who else would love him still
When they've been used so ill?
He knows I always will...
As long as he needs me.

I miss him so much when he is gone,
But when he's near me
I don't let on...

...The way I feel inside.
The love, I have to hide...
The hell! I've gone my pride
As long as he needs me.

He doesn't say the things he should.
He acts the way he thinks he should.
But all the same,
I'll play
This game
His way.

As long as he needs me...
I know where I must be.
I'll cling on steadfastly...
As long as he needs me.

As long as life is long...
I'll love him right or wrong,
And somehow, I'll be strong...
As long as he needs me.

If you are lonely
Then you will know...

When someone needs you,
You love them so.

I won't betray his trust...
Though people say I must.

I've got to stay true, just
As long as he needs me.

Note that Nancy, the singer of the above song, is eventually battered to death by the man she is singing about, Bill Sykes - one of the most vicious brutes in literature...

P.S. Eurovision = Loada Shite. Ireland certainly missed out formerly by not adopting "My Lovely Horse" as an entry, but it sounds like Dustin would be an equally appropriate comment on what is probably TV's biggest single waste of airtime, ever.

Quote from: Maguire01 on February 07, 2008, 07:32:23 PM
Quote from: thejuice on February 07, 2008, 09:42:58 AM
Great, hope he does win it, the Eurovision is a joke anyway. We must be about the only ones who still take it seriously.

I think you'll find that Ireland haven't taken it seriously in years, and it shows.  It is however, taken deadly serious in other parts of Europe.
As for Dustin's entry, it's not up to his usual standard. It is actually quite cringeworthy. It's here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lTYnk3vneI0

Please dont enter that song, its embarressing

Excuse my ignorance but who is the voice of Dustin anyway?  Sounds a bit like Joe Duffy.

Quote from: balladmaker on February 08, 2008, 01:02:07 AM
Excuse my ignorance but who is the voice of Dustin anyway?  Sounds a bit like Joe Duffy.

It aint Joe, they had good old chat about it on his show last week and he is most definately not in favour of the song being allowed.

'There isn't one single reference to the gender of the singer i.e. it could just as easily be sung by a man. And either way, it's hardly extreme of someone to say that he/she is so in love with someone that they're powerless to resist them.'

Technically correct, EG.  But I spose the fact it was sung at Eurovision by Sandie Shaw (who has subsequently disowned it because of its blatant sexism), was written by a man who, as far as I'm aware, isn't a friend of Dorothy, and there are no cover versions of it performed by male singers (though I stand to be corrected on this), I think it's fair to surmise what gender the song is aimed at.

I await your clinical deconstruction of the absolute pile of embarrassing steaming shite that is Ireland's Call with bated breath :-*

Fiodoir Ard Mhacha

Phil Coulter's a British turncoat anyhow.  He never wrote anything for Ireland but instead handed Congratulations over to Spliff Richard instead of giving it to Barry McGuigan's da.

At least Dana and Linda Martin know which side their bread is buttered on.
"Something wrong with your eyes?....
Yes, they're sensitive to questions!"

Quote from: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on February 08, 2008, 01:43:18 PM
Phil Coulter's a British turncoat anyhow.  He never wrote anything for Ireland but instead handed Congratulations over to Spliff Richard instead of giving it to Barry McGuigan's da.

At least Dana and Linda Martin know which side their bread is buttered on.

Cliff was welcome to it! And yes, Dana and Linda Martin, how great are they?  :D

As for never writing anything for Ireland, didn't Phil pen Ireland's Call? (*ducks for cover*)

Quote from: Maguire01 on February 08, 2008, 01:58:37 PM
As for never writing anything for Ireland, didn't Phil pen Ireland's Call? (*ducks for cover*)

Fiodoir Ard Mhacha

Well, I think Red Hurley or Twink would have done a better job on congrats anyday of the week.

I wouldn't kick either of them out of bed. Dana and Linda Martin that is.

"Something wrong with your eyes?....
Yes, they're sensitive to questions!"

Aristotle Flynn

Didn't Phil write "The Town I loved So Well?" One of the best Irish ballads of the past 50 years.  Always brings a tear to my eye, that one.
A tyrant must put on the appearance of uncommon devotion to religion.