Irish people supporting English football clubs

Started by Eamonnca1, August 07, 2026, 05:43:30 PM

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: lurganblue on August 11, 2026, 02:24:34 PM1 - Which team do you support? Aston Villa

2 - How long have you supported them? since 1992

3 - Are you from the same town or city as that club? If not, do you have any personal or familial connection to it? Did you live there for a while? Do you live there now? No connection to Birmingham

4 - If the answers to 3 are all no, why do you support this team? How did you pick them out of all that's available?

I picked them solely for the Irish connection on the pitch.  McGrath, Staunton, Houghton etc.  Nobody else in my family really followed a team at all. I was free to choose without influence really. There have been some ups, but many many downs. School could be rough at times lol

5 - When England plays in international competitions, how do you feel about them? Do you
a - Root for England, particularly any players from your favourite EPL club?
b - Don't have a strong opinion one way or another, but would lean slightly towards wanting England to do well
c - Don't have any opinion at all
d - Have a mild preference for England to lose
e - Vigorously support England's opponents, and yearn for the English to do on the receiving end of a bloody good hiding

I'd be in-between d and e here.  I do enjoy watching England big it up and then eventually fall. I dont particularly want them to win anything but I would be devastated if they did.

6 - Are there any local clubs in your own town or city that you could give your support to? If there are but you don't, why not? Is the quality of the competition not worth your while? Are the facilities crap? Did you just never get into it? Is it not well publicised and you don't know the games are on?

The biggest club in town is of course Glenavon.  Mourneview was really a no go zone in the early 90s. I could of course support Lurgan Celtic but that level never appealed to me.  I enjoyed playing for local Mid Ulster clubs but that would be as far as local support goes. Many from the town go down and support Cliftonville.  That never appealed to me either.

Here is the odd. Not picking on you per say, but you picked a foreign side because of Irish players but cheering on 11 Irish lads in North Belfast doesn't appeal. You can see how all this comes across as strange.

It's quite lucky this 'my local side is shite so I am arbitrarily picking a winning team' never caught on in Gaelic games.

Where are you from? Enniskillen. I follow Kerry in the football and Limerick in the hurling....

GTP

1 - Which team do you support?
Arsenal

2 - How long have you supported them?
11 May 1979

3 - Are you from the same town or city as that club? If not, do you have any personal or familial connection to it? Did you live there for a while? Do you live there now?
No to all.

4 - If the answers to 3 are all no, why do you support this team? How did you pick them out of all that's available?
FA Cup final 1979 choice between Arsenal and Man U, choose Arsenal.

5 - When England plays in international competitions, how do you feel about them? Do you
b - Don't have a strong opinion one way or another, but would lean slightly towards wanting England to do well
e - Vigorously support England's opponents, and yearn for the English to do on the receiving end of a bloody good hiding

E. I support the ROI national team and after that don't care about the results of other teams apart from their effect on ROI. I only care about Arsenal players in the context of them not getting injured or knackered.
It is the same for club teams you will support one and not care about the rest but some you might want to see lose more than others eg. Spurs for Arsenal fans and Rangers for Celtic fans. England are the team you hear about most in NI so not wanting to listen to gloating plays a big part in it.

6 - Are there any local clubs in your own town or city that you could give your support to? If there are but you don't, why not? Is the quality of the competition not worth your while? Are the facilities crap? Did you just never get into it? Is it not well publicised and you don't know the games are on?

I doubt if I knew local (NI) soccer existed when I started following football and with no local teams in the area there was never any particular interest for anyone I knew to attend games.

BB2 the irish league can be quite sectarian and when you're used to the GAA that's kind of hard to get used to. I say this as someone who has been to multiple Cliftonville games. I wanted to get into supporting someone local but I struggled.

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 11, 2026, 03:53:46 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on August 11, 2026, 02:24:34 PM1 - Which team do you support? Aston Villa

3 - Are you from the same town or city as that club? If not, do you have any personal or familial connection to it? Did you live there for a while? Do you live there now? No connection to Birmingham

I picked them solely for the Irish connection on the pitch.  McGrath, Staunton, Houghton etc.  Nobody else in my family really followed a team at all. I was free to choose without influence really. There have been some ups, but many many downs. School could be rough at times lol

I'd be in-between d and e here.  I do enjoy watching England big it up and then eventually fall. I dont particularly want them to win anything but I would be devastated if they did.

The biggest club in town is of course Glenavon.  Mourneview was really a no go zone in the early 90s. I could of course support Lurgan Celtic but that level never appealed to me.  I enjoyed playing for local Mid Ulster clubs but that would be as far as local support goes. Many from the town go down and support Cliftonville.  That never appealed to me either.

Here is the odd. Not picking on you per say, but you picked a foreign side because of Irish players but cheering on 11 Irish lads in North Belfast doesn't appeal. You can see how all this comes across as strange.

It's quite lucky this 'my local side is shite so I am arbitrarily picking a winning team' never caught on in Gaelic games.

Where are you from? Enniskillen. I follow Kerry in the football and Limerick in the hurling....

Life through the lens of a freestater.

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: imtommygunn on August 11, 2026, 04:04:14 PMBB2 the irish league can be quite sectarian and when you're used to the GAA that's kind of hard to get used to. I say this as someone who has been to multiple Cliftonville games. I wanted to get into supporting someone local but I struggled.
I accept that to a point. But doesn't explain why Celtic are so popular.

But is there not a danger of 'I won't follow a local side because there might be Prods about, so I am off to London for my fix' hypocrisy?

It's not because there's "prods about" though. Certainly not for me anyway. There's an atmosphere I just don't like.

(I wouldn't be too bothered about Celtic either)

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: JoG2 on August 11, 2026, 04:21:12 PM

Or just cop on.

I won't follow a team in a league with Linfield in it, so I follow a team in a league with Rangers or Chelsea.

I wish people would just be honest.

"I have a passing interest in soccer so picked the team from the big shiny league that was winning when I was a lad"

There is nothing wrong with that.

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: imtommygunn on August 11, 2026, 04:27:06 PMIt's not because there's "prods about" though. Certainly not for me anyway. There's an atmosphere I just don't like.

But even more vitriolic atmospheres are fine from the couch/barstool....

English soccer remains racist and violent. But Cliftonville is too much?

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 11, 2026, 04:28:00 PM

Or just cop on.

I won't follow a team in a league with Linfield in it, so I follow a team in a league with Rangers or Chelsea.

"I have a passing interest in soccer so picked the team from the big shiny league that was winning when I was a lad"

The last bit, it's pretty much what alot of folk have said. The fact the people don't want to attend hate fest games in their locality and all that comes with it is completely understandable, unless of course you don't have that lived experience....well?

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 11, 2026, 04:30:58 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 11, 2026, 04:27:06 PMIt's not because there's "prods about" though. Certainly not for me anyway. There's an atmosphere I just don't like.

What vitriolic atmospheres am I fine with then? Enlighten me? Are you just looking to attack people here?

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: JoG2 on August 11, 2026, 04:31:18 PM

Or just cop on.

The last bit, it's pretty much what alot of folk have said. The fact the people don't want to attend hate fest games in their locality and all that comes with it is completely understandable, unless of course you don't have that lived experience....well?
But they support teams in England that are involved in hate fests. What do you think Man U v Leeds, Chelsea v West Ham, Arsenal v Spurs, Villa v Birmingham or Newcastle v Sunderland are?

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: imtommygunn on August 11, 2026, 04:34:24 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 11, 2026, 04:30:58 PM

What vitriolic atmospheres am I fine with then? Enlighten me? Are you just looking to attack people here?
Whatever English or Scottish team you pick has at least one game that makes Cliftonville v Linfield look like tea and sandwiches in the park.

The idea that local soccer is too rough so I watch English soccer instead is ludicrous.

I get the sectarian angle, I really do, but soccer does mirror life. And life at your English club is currently Brexity stop the boats noise.

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 11, 2026, 04:39:55 PM

Or just cop on.

But they support teams in England that are involved in hate fests. What do you think Man U v Leeds, Chelsea v West Ham, Arsenal v Spurs, Villa v Birmingham or Newcastle v Sunderland are?

Escapism Coco

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: JoG2 on August 11, 2026, 04:49:06 PM

Or just cop on.

Escapism Coco
Eh?

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 11, 2026, 04:49:55 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on August 11, 2026, 04:49:06 PM

Or just cop on.

Escapism Coco
Eh?

Indeed, why you shouldn't be dictating to northern men of a certain vintage.