?

?
16 (50%)
?
16 (50%)

Total Members Voted: 32

Quote from: Interstellar on May 30, 2026, 12:29:45 PM
Quote from: Ryan O on May 29, 2026, 08:37:29 PMChrist that was poor display by our minors, do we refuse to kick the ball or is it coached out of them?

Tyrone hunting for turnovers in 3s and 4s and we're fist passing a ball 6 yards, surely in that scenario there has to be spare men somewhere.
It has to be the coaching, fist pass and run but under no circumstances kick. The seniors are no different. No quick ball into the forwards. They simply don't score enough under the new rules, 5 points in the second half says it all.

Why do the seniors bother to name a list of subs when they are unlikely to be given any game time?

Not sure if that's the general coaching philosophy in Owenbeg these day but it seems to be.

Minors and U20's playing the exact same way. Seniors similar. All about short possession but no risk kicking the ball. I always envisage these underage levels are good to watch, the 'exuberance of youth' and all that but seems to be very manufactured unfortunately.

In saying that, I think Derry have a great chance today V Armagh.

Re: Naming all subs. Keeps everybody happy.   

Brendan

What character from the hurlers, massive turnover in players every year, so many Christy Ring finals without a win, league relegation then to look dead and buried in the Ring group stages to go on and do this as massive underdogs. Brilliant performances throughout the team on the day to

GTP

Well done to hurlers, hope they enjoy it.

Derry Man

Fair play to Johnny McGarvey getting to the 2nd tier of hurling without possibly 10 players who could start is some going

OakLeaf

Unbelievable. They completely outfought a good Kerry team who were hot favourites. Very happy for Cormac. He's stuck in there through a lot of tough years. Same fir McGarvey. Fair play.

jb77

Serious heart after all those finals losses, grand stuff

LoughNeagh

View from the lough!

Interstellar

This team and management are going nowhere or maybe even going backwards. Tactically inept,  totally outplayed, cleaned out at midfield (although supposedly had the best midfield in the country), no squad depth, no-one who can kick a long range free or 2 pointer and some players that look like they need time away from the game (I won't name them). There is no progression or development here just the same old issues. Back to the bad old days when you just want the season to end soon.

OakLeaf

Quote from: Interstellar on May 30, 2026, 09:02:46 PMThis team and management are going nowhere or maybe even going backwards. Tactically inept,  totally outplayed, cleaned out at midfield (although supposedly had the best midfield in the country), no squad depth, no-one who can kick a long range free or 2 pointer and some players that look like they need time away from the game (I won't name them). There is no progression or development here just the same old issues. Back to the bad old days when you just want the season to end soon.

I think this is totally down to management. Our Seniors, U20s and even Minors have been playing the same putrid shit all year. Our forwards are afraid to shoot. Other players are afraid to make mistakes. Slow, slow, slow buildup. It was almost time up before Ethan Doherty took his first kick at goal this evening! Time for a full management clean out.

jb77

Ethan is just a different player than when he first came into this Derry side, the ruthless streak has been coached out of him. I watched him up at Owenbeg tapping 2 pointers over but that was probably his first go at one tonight?

Some of the older lads just look leggy from the start, there will be pains with it but lads like Sean Young need to be seriously tested out next year, bit of life in him. Was really good to see Sargent

Brendan

Now we're a hurling county Rogers is done at inter county level and Ó Mianian didn't get a look in so throw their lot in with the hurlers next year and see how far they can get in the Joe McDonagh and what should be a handy league promotion

Stickittotheman

The players really need to stand up now. The last few years they have wanted RG or Meenagh back. Some need to show some real leadership. Armagh didnt get out of 2nd gear but neither did we. The shooting was abysmal. Some easy easy scores passed up. Loughlin and McGuigan in the first 10 minutes passed up 1-1 between them and we got zero from those attacks. Kick outs were poor and we barely got any away clean the whole game.

Some real questions need asked now. What do we want to be? The 2020's nearly men who threw it all away or is there something in this team that when it clicks we can be one of the top teams in the country. Confidence looks shot again. Time for Meenagh to really show what's the about.

CookieMonster

Back to the drawing board. They would do well to take a leaf out of the hurler's book. Some of them look like they don't even want to be there. I never expected a win but I expected a bit of bite and will to win. RG will enjoy sticking the boot in again no doubt.

Major sugery required, 4 good U20 teams in  the past 5 yrs. Just 2 players from them teams on. Nxt yr in the league
Derry need play 7/8 new players from the start, this team had its day, too many miles on the clock. Too many men on, based on reputation not form and need a spell on the sideline, zero championship fball intensity, too passive,

statto

Quote from: Ryan O on May 27, 2026, 08:46:08 PMI would expect Mc Closkey - Conaty,
CD - Mc Mullan, Forbes - Turbitt.
Baker - Mc Conville.

On the opposite end Mc Cabe with get job of tagging Shane.

This game will be won and lost between Armagh half back line and our half forward line. If we stop that Armagh initial fast break that totally relights on Burns, Kelly, and probably mc Quillian we'll win.
Absolutely one if the top 4 teams in the country but we should have no fear of.
Wasn't as easy as you made it out to be. Armagh won that with a bit to spare and down a man for 10 mins with black card.

Derry lack line breakers in their team to put fear into teams and a lack of imagination in half forward line Ethan Doherty always seems happy to play safe. The comparison between two teams when turned ball over was night and day.