vegetarians

Started by pullhard, June 19, 2015, 01:58:22 PM

The missus is a vegetarian. I love steak and bacon like there's no tomorrow. But one thing I notice is how defensive people get when herself says she is a vegetarian, many ready to argue with her. She does it for humane reasons and does not wear leather in any way (bag, shoes, etc). But does nor rub it in any faces. Still there's always someone ready to argue, often a family member. "Never saw a healthy vegetarian" etc. Then you have the ones who will stick a fork of meat in her face. All great craic of course. Now where's my Moby records...

Quote from: pullhard on June 21, 2015, 08:12:16 PM
Yikes Joe, you have a serious issue with veggies. Was that car parking space that important that you still bear such a grudge? Are you a closet Veggie? You make some fairly swiping statements and come across as closed minded (I'm sure you not), backed up by hearsay and pseudo science; do you work for the Daily Mail?

Huh? Grudge? Sorry if I came off the wrong way but I defo don't, just want to get into the rationale behind it

Swiping or sweeping statements? Which ones?

Closed minded? Please explain...

What exactly is the hearsay and Psuedo science?

Your post is coming off as a bit of a personal broadside pullhard

Nigel White

Quote from: Olly on June 21, 2015, 11:33:17 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on June 21, 2015, 09:06:54 PM
Il admit personality has alalot to do with it. Any veggies I know just happen to be self righteous, groovy, hippy fcukwits that love to advertise it or pontificafe about it. They be full of shit usually and think they occupy some sort of higher stream of thought.

Well bloody said.

See you vegetarians - you'll be responsible for the destruction of the human race. We only got to this point by ruling the roost over other animals. If we start having a conscience about chewing on meat then before you know it you'll have gangs of pigs and cows roaming the neighbourhood eating you. It's survival of the fittest on this spinning rock and we're only on it for a while and you might as well be king dick and dominate other animals. You people make me sick. You sit there in your houses with your wifi and the only reason you have those luxuries is because over thousands and maybe hundreds of years we got to the top of the food chain by being ruthless. Pigs, cattle, fish, birds - they all know it. You know it. As soon as they get a whiff that we're having doubts about devouring them they'll eat us. Remember the dinosaurs etc.

And by the way, eating meat makes you stronger and fitter. Any vegetarians I know look sick and are dicks.
This is one of ths funniest posts ever put on this board

Quote from: Nigel White on October 14, 2015, 11:44:33 PM
Il admit personality has alalot to do with it. Any veggies I know just happen to be self righteous, groovy, hippy fcukwits that love to advertise it or pontificafe about it. They be full of shit usually and think they occupy some sort of higher stream of thought.

Well bloody said.

See you vegetarians - you'll be responsible for the destruction of the human race. We only got to this point by ruling the roost over other animals. If we start having a conscience about chewing on meat then before you know it you'll have gangs of pigs and cows roaming the neighbourhood eating you. It's survival of the fittest on this spinning rock and we're only on it for a while and you might as well be king dick and dominate other animals. You people make me sick. You sit there in your houses with your wifi and the only reason you have those luxuries is because over thousands and maybe hundreds of years we got to the top of the food chain by being ruthless. Pigs, cattle, fish, birds - they all know it. You know it. As soon as they get a whiff that we're having doubts about devouring them they'll eat us. Remember the dinosaurs etc.

And by the way, eating meat makes you stronger and fitter. Any vegetarians I know look sick and are dicks.
This is one of ths funniest posts ever put on this board

PMSL, I love this part most of all "You people make me sick. You sit there in your houses with your wifi and the only reason you have those luxuries is because over thousands and maybe hundreds of years we got to the top of the food chain by being ruthless.

Brilliant stuff. Well done Shane.

Well bloody said.

I am sure youi have eaten plenty of meat in your time Shane/Olly.

Quote from: Eamonnca1 on June 22, 2015, 12:34:22 AM
If vegetarians are all assholes and all meat eaters are dead on, this isn't a very representative thread. Is it? So far all the abuse has been coming our way. I've yet to lecture anyone with the "meat is murder" talking point, and yet I'm being made to feel like I have to defend my dietary choice or my view of animals.

You do not have anything to defend and there is nothing wrong with being a vegetarian.

My eldest has been one since she was three, when we asked her why she did not want to eat meat she declared" if God wanted us to eat meat, he would have grown it on trees".

I am amazed that some eejits have issues with you being a vegetarian, the mind boggles.

Well bloody said.

Good man Olly. Which particular spinning rock are you on as a matter of interest?

:o :o
Seen Mary Robinson is telling the world to turn Vegan, inc developing countries

Seriously irresponsible...Italy just made it a crime for children as they had a spate of undernourished vegan children needing hospital treatment

Did they actually make it a crime or was it just under discussion?

Plenty of kids are raised vegan/vegetarian with no problems.  Could have been parents who didn't know enough about nutrition on a vegan diet in the cases in Italy.

http://www.eatright.org/resource/food/nutrition/vegetarian-and-special-diets/feeding-vegetarian-and-vegan-infants-and-toddlers

Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on September 30, 2016, 08:59:45 PM

Plenty of kids are raised vegan/vegetarian with no problems.  Could have been parents who didn't know enough about nutrition on a vegan diet in the cases in Italy.

http://www.eatright.org/resource/food/nutrition/vegetarian-and-special-diets/feeding-vegetarian-and-vegan-infants-and-toddlers

Yeah looks like your right its still waiting to pass.

No one really knows enough about nutrition to allow a child to go vegan, and certainly not in the developing world 

I'll take the advice of nutrition experts on this one.

Quote from: omaghjoe on September 30, 2016, 09:06:34 PM

No one really knows enough about nutrition to allow a child to go vegan, and certainly not in the developing world
Millions of Indians are vegan and they get on fine
Dairy based diets are not natural in huge swathes of the world

Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on September 30, 2016, 11:59:55 PM

Like this one  :)
http://www.repubblica.it/salute/alimentazione/2016/08/08/news/vietare_dieta_vegana_ai_figli_l_esperto_espone_a_carenze_e_a_rischi_-145616570/
The Italian Society of Food Science rejecting Savino's  (the reactionary Italian populist politician) assertions, with president Andrea Ghiselli telling La Repubblica that diets containing excessive sugar and fat were of greater concern than the risks of deficiency of a vegan diet.

Quote from: Main Street on October 01, 2016, 01:30:15 AM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on September 30, 2016, 11:59:55 PM

Like this one  :)
http://www.repubblica.it/salute/alimentazione/2016/08/08/news/vietare_dieta_vegana_ai_figli_l_esperto_espone_a_carenze_e_a_rischi_-145616570/
The Italian Society of Food Science rejecting Savino's  (the reactionary Italian populist politician) assertions, with president Andrea Ghiselli telling La Repubblica that diets containing excessive sugar and fat were of greater concern than the risks of deficiency of a vegan diet.

Wouldn't disagree with that but rather amazingly your leaving out the main point of the article which is that Vegan diets are not suitable for children.  ??? ??? ??? ???

The nutrition experts also tell us that they are not suitable for adults either and the diet has to be supplemented.

Quote from: seafoid on October 01, 2016, 12:14:04 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on September 30, 2016, 09:06:34 PM

Millions of Indians are vegan and they get on fine
Dairy based diets are not natural in huge swathes of the world

Aye cos Indian is a case study for other countries when it comes to a well nourished population