Gaa poor communication publication

Started by unoino, February 05, 2015, 05:44:36 AM

Isn't it ironic...someone who struggles to express himself in English complaining about TG4 broadcasting games in Irish. :-\

I went to a fecking match last weekend and there was no commentary in any language. No fights in the crowd either, no segregation and no abusive chanting. We are so backward in the GAA.

Quote from: seafoid on February 05, 2015, 02:00:33 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on February 05, 2015, 01:50:09 PM
While not really agreeing with his overall point, he does make the excellent point that having so many game on TG4 is less than ideal in terms of growing/maintaining the popularity of Gaelic Games given the fact that for vast swathes of the population TG4 simply doesn't register so having such a high chunk of the games on does very little to grow/develop/maintain the popularity of the sport.

Then you have the coverage RTE give Gaelic games, which seems to be stuck in a time when the overwhelming majority of the population lived in 2 channel land and is a lot more limited than it should be imo.

As regards the constitution of the organisation, I wonder if it's time that the GAA had a discussion on the promotion of the Irish language aspect of things - you'd imagine that there the number of people for whom this is a core value would be fairly small, whereas for most people it falls into the nice token gesture/figleaf category.

TG4 show the games that RTE won't or can't.
It's not a commercial imperative. It's cultural. And part of who we are FFS.

The whole point of TG4 is suil eile. A different way of looking at things.
If people don't like Irish they can watch RTE LOL.

BTW the GAA should dump the shite singing as Bearla at the end of the AIF and get some proper culture in.

I couldn't agree more.
Think of all the great homegrown artists we could be promoting.

Quote from: hardstation on February 05, 2015, 10:24:14 PM
Sunday after Sunday TG4 send cameras out to games up and down the length of the country, they produce many great GAA programmes such as Laochra Gael and Seó Spóirt while other broadcasters don't give a flying fcuk yet RTÉ and Sky cream off the championship games. If the upper echelons of the GAA weren't a bundle of cocks, they'd give TG4 the whole lot.
+1 +1 +1 Nach bhfuil RTE agus TG4 baill den comhlacht céanna??? Anyway you are 100% right. I have been saying it for years.

mrhardyannual

I think you are all being a little hard on Omoino. He is really only pointing out the how difficult it is for a foreign audience to understand Gaelic football when broadcast "as Gaeilge"

Now that he has opened the debate there are a few more changes we could make to engage the overseas market and the gambling fraternity:

Players picking up the ball is confusing
The pitch is too big and there are too many players.
Awarding scores for shots passing over the crossbar is too lenient.
Goalkeepers should not be allowed pick up back-passes.
Too many players stay on their feet in a "macho" manner when tackled instead of going to ground and allowing time for spectators to get drinks etc from the  vendors.
There are too many scores which means that those watching require a high mathematical ability.

Now with a few small change we could end up with a truly riveting game with worldwide appeal.

Quote from: mrhardyannual on February 06, 2015, 01:05:09 AM
I think you are all being a little hard on Omoino. He is really only pointing out the how difficult it is for a foreign audience to understand Gaelic football when broadcast "as Gaeilge"

Now that he has opened the debate there are a few more changes we could make to engage the overseas market and the gambling fraternity:

Players picking up the ball is confusing
The pitch is too big and there are too many players.
Awarding scores for shots passing over the crossbar is too lenient.
Goalkeepers should not be allowed pick up back-passes.
Too many players stay on their feet in a "macho" manner when tackled instead of going to ground and allowing time for spectators to get drinks etc from the  vendors.
There are too many scores which means that those watching require a high mathematical ability.

Now with a few small change we could end up with a truly riveting game with worldwide appeal.

Oh holy fcuk what was this post about????

And to you unoino you stated in your post that you didn't want to see immigrants come to our country and beg......' It's not the Ireland I wish to see'. I don't care if it is Irish people or other peoe of different nationalities begging on our street. In this time of day, we as a country have the capabilities of making sure no one begs on the street. But it doesn't stop me giving a few bob to whoever they ar. We are lucky to have such a 'rich' life but others are not. Please don't use your right wing fees to condemn those who have been unlucky.

It's a joke. He's saying it should be soccer.  :)

Quote from: Jinxy on February 05, 2015, 10:29:11 PM
I couldn't agree more.
Think of all the great homegrown artists we could be promoting.

That looks familiar...

Ah yes. That was it.

Quote from: 5 Sams on February 05, 2015, 10:36:49 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 05, 2015, 10:24:14 PM
Sunday after Sunday TG4 send cameras out to games up and down the length of the country, they produce many great GAA programmes such as Laochra Gael and Seó Spóirt while other broadcasters don't give a flying fcuk yet RTÉ and Sky cream off the championship games. If the upper echelons of the GAA weren't a bundle of cocks, they'd give TG4 the whole lot.
+1 +1 +1 Nach bhfuil RTE agus TG4 baill den comhlacht céanna??? Anyway you are 100% right. I have been saying it for years.

tá agus níl
O thaobh an balance sheet de,  tá ach o thaobh an spioraid de, níl.

An achar idir Twink agus Iarla O Lionaird 

A lot of issues are being thrown into the pot here.
such as GAA's promtion of Gaelic Culture ie Scor, Irish language ect
the GAA as a social force binding communities together
The Quality of TG4's coverage  of games
the Quantity of Games they show from many Competitions
all of which scire very strongly, but i think the original issue was much simpler
as long as the games are transmitted in Irish many non committed people will not watch them. I am not talking about us freaks who post on GAA Chat boards when we should be working but the peole who would go to championship games but not league ones or who Idly choose what to watch  and wouuld even watch the Pro12 rugby on RTE in english but would not be arse watching it on TG4 in Irish
maybe  A similar deal couls be worked out with RTE for the NFL?

Watching a match in Irish sounds a bit like frying an egg in algebra.

Quote from: rosnarun on February 06, 2015, 09:56:57 AM
all of which scire very strongly, but i think the original issue was much simpler
as long as the games are transmitted in Irish many non committed people will not watch them. I am not talking about us freaks who post on GAA Chat boards when we should be working but the peole who would go to championship games but not league ones or who Idly choose what to watch  and wouuld even watch the Pro12 rugby on RTE in english but would not be arse watching it on TG4 in Irish
Maybe there will eventually be a specialist channel for that . It's getting cheaper. RTE could use the TG4 material....
Get a few sponsors in . But not for betting. 

RTE have to please everyone and that's hard.
They have set up some kind of restricted internet 'garden' for under 12s who don't watch TV as much as watch videos on tablets- they know their audience is changing

Quote from: rosnarun on February 06, 2015, 09:56:57 AM

My guess - and it is only a guess, but I've been meeja-watching long enough to say it with some confidence - is that the outside broadcast costs for RTÉ, for all manner of reasons (cue a spot of union bashing, no doubt), are astronomical compared to those of the Young Turks in Nemeton. If the GAA wanted RTÉ to show League matches, they would have to make it worth RTÉ's while, i.e. pay them to broadcast them or take less from the Championship TV deal. And yes, I realise costs don't seem to prevent RTÉ making jaunts to All-Ireland League rugby games in front of a man and a dog, but that's different, innit?

OR do what the FAI do and more or less force RTE to Show LOI games by tying it in with the international Games. so because you want to see ROI play france they also have to show Wexford youths v Cabinteely in 400 people and probaly get a bigger audnce for it than TG4 do for most games just because it on in english on a popular channel even though no one give 2 fecks and both clubs will probably be in administrtion within 12 months

Quote from: rosnarun on February 06, 2015, 11:21:48 AM
OR do what the FAI do and more or less force RTE to Show LOI games by tying it in with the international Games. so because you want to see ROI play france they also have to show Wexford youths v Cabinteely in 400 people and probaly get a bigger audnce for it than TG4 do for most games just because it on in english on a popular channel even though no one give 2 fecks and both clubs will probably be in administrtion within 12 months

You can be certain that the FAI are taking a hit in their contract in order to force RTÉ to show League of Ireland games. If you think that would be a good idea for the GAA, fine. But thanks to TG4, the GAA have options.