Down Club Hurling & Football

Started by Lecale2, November 10, 2006, 12:06:55 AM

terrifictommy

I wouldn't be ruling Ballyholland out. In fact, for me they would be my choice to go through

Sad news about Tom Daly, the Cork native who was residing in Warrenpoint who was Down Hurling Officer for a few years.

RIP Tom.

Armaghdog

Quote from: johnnycool on September 11, 2024, 02:07:58 PMSad news about Tom Daly, the Cork native who was residing in Warrenpoint who was Down Hurling Officer for a few years.

RIP Tom.

Terrible news. Gentleman. Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam.

We go into the Burren game with them 1/14 favourites and the bookies are usually right 😉, we will give it a lash and all the pressure is on them.

Quote from: Square Ball on September 11, 2024, 08:46:45 PMWe go into the Burren game with them 1/14 favourites and the bookies are usually right 😉, we will give it a lash and all the pressure is on them.

Harps have moved out from 3/1 to 7/2. Someone must have seen an opportunity on Carryduff.

Bookies haven't been as right as normal this Down championship. Bryansford at 7/4 seems very high to me.

Point-to-Point

Quote from: Truth hurts on September 09, 2024, 09:47:19 AMThe best game of the championship thus far was the one involving Clonduff and Glenn. Up until the red card, Clonduff was winning handily. After that, they started to stand off Glenn, and Glenn picked them off. Glenn plays a beautiful type of football, and they will be a handful or anyone in the quarters with the returning players.

Thought our lads did very well to come back the way they did.

There was a time when we maybe wouldn't have expected to beat a team like Clonduff, especially after being in the position we were in at half time.

To do so whilst missing some key players is great, too.

It'll be interesting to see how we get on from here on out. Bryansford was the draw I would have wanted, but they'll be a tough ask. Hopefully Glenn have more in the tank, yet.

Point-to-Point

Quote from: Truth hurts on September 09, 2024, 11:35:06 AM
Quote from: Blackandblue2 on September 09, 2024, 11:07:00 AMTurned into a real good game yesterday, plenty of mistakes and missed chances but intensity of championship makes up for it all. Glenn missing 3 key players with a fine second half display. Clonduff will find that one hard to deal with over the dark months. Glenn play an exciting brand of football which is a bit different to the norm, great to see.

What age is Carville? He is like a wrecking ball from the 1980's at the edge of the square.

Would be mid thirties I think.

Truth hurts

Quote from: johnnycool on September 11, 2024, 02:07:58 PMSad news about Tom Daly, the Cork native who was residing in Warrenpoint who was Down Hurling Officer for a few years.

RIP Tom.

RIP Tom, a nice man who loved hurling

general

Quote from: Point-to-Point on September 11, 2024, 09:52:26 PM
Quote from: Truth hurts on September 09, 2024, 11:35:06 AM
Quote from: Blackandblue2 on September 09, 2024, 11:07:00 AMTurned into a real good game yesterday, plenty of mistakes and missed chances but intensity of championship makes up for it all. Glenn missing 3 key players with a fine second half display. Clonduff will find that one hard to deal with over the dark months. Glenn play an exciting brand of football which is a bit different to the norm, great to see.

What age is Carville? He is like a wrecking ball from the 1980's at the edge of the square.

Would be mid thirties I think.

Decky would be 34 coming 35 - he was in my year at school and played a couple of age groups with him. He played Cor Na Nog football for the Abbey in Goals if i can remember correctly, by the time Ranafast football came around he was out the field and i was in goals  ;D

Well done Bredagh on winning a great minor final last night in Newry.

They managed to hold their nerve when probably our lads didn't going into the final straight to take the win by the solitary point.
Some great scores from both teams and Davy Carr needs to be commended for his refereeing, not too fussy and let them at it.
I'm sure the Bredagh lads like us are wanting as many to progress on to adult and senior hurling as they've quite a few lads well capable of it if they apply themselves.

Quote from: johnnycool on September 13, 2024, 08:08:38 AMWell done Bredagh on winning a great minor final last night in Newry.

They managed to hold their nerve when probably our lads didn't going into the final straight to take the win by the solitary point.
Some great scores from both teams and Davy Carr needs to be commended for his refereeing, not too fussy and let them at it.
I'm sure the Bredagh lads like us are wanting as many to progress on to adult and senior hurling as they've quite a few lads well capable of it if they apply themselves.

Credit to both clubs here on a great match and delighted we came out on top. Three in a row, doesn't help if none of those boys progress to play senior, we will see in a few years.

Quote from: Square Ball on September 13, 2024, 11:32:29 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on September 13, 2024, 08:08:38 AMWell done Bredagh on winning a great minor final last night in Newry.

Credit to both clubs here on a great match and delighted we came out on top. Three in a row, doesn't help if none of those boys progress to play senior, we will see in a few years.

We made it clear in our changing room after the game that success or failure isn't defined by a puck of a ball in a minor final. It will be defined by how many we get to adult and senior hurling.
All 7 of our 18yo's played adult hurling this year with five getting run outs in the Antrim league at senior and 2 now looking to be starters on the senior team for championship. All got lots of gametime in Down Div1 and the Betsy Gray Shield.
For the first time in decades we had 20 lads up playing in the Betsy Grey in Bredagh and at the same time we'd 18 seniors at home training.

We're hoping for similar next year and the year after from our current U16's. We drop off in numbers for a few years after that but that doesn't mean we haven't got quality hurlers in those groups.

Armaghdog

Typical Ballygalget always making the most out of a smaller pool of players always chipping away to get lads through to senior against the odds against other clubs with bigger resources. Serious pride in the jersey. Said it last week that ye would probably get more of this minor team than Bredagh. College work travel etc the biggest issues we all face in our clubs. Fair play to both minor teams and coaches last night.

Great first 15 mins of championship football tonight. Then a (I've heard but can't confirm - was too far away) dubious penalty gave Carryduff a cushion that they were never going to relinquish.

To be fair, Duff are a fine team. Big, strong, quick, clinical. They're our best hope of preventing another black and white wash and I wish them well in that pursuit.

LosDodgers

Thought it looked a stone cold penalty on first viewing but replays showed it looked very soft.

Think Carryduff were always in control, James Guinness kicked some very nice scores in first half.

Has Seamie Loughlin been involved with county team? Looked very good and could be the free taker the county team needs.