Down Club Hurling & Football

Started by Lecale2, November 10, 2006, 12:06:55 AM

Quote from: Square Ball on September 13, 2024, 11:32:29 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on September 13, 2024, 08:08:38 AMWell done Bredagh on winning a great minor final last night in Newry.

They managed to hold their nerve when probably our lads didn't going into the final straight to take the win by the solitary point.
Some great scores from both teams and Davy Carr needs to be commended for his refereeing, not too fussy and let them at it.
I'm sure the Bredagh lads like us are wanting as many to progress on to adult and senior hurling as they've quite a few lads well capable of it if they apply themselves.

Credit to both clubs here on a great match and delighted we came out on top. Three in a row, doesn't help if none of those boys progress to play senior, we will see in a few years.

We made it clear in our changing room after the game that success or failure isn't defined by a puck of a ball in a minor final. It will be defined by how many we get to adult and senior hurling.
All 7 of our 18yo's played adult hurling this year with five getting run outs in the Antrim league at senior and 2 now looking to be starters on the senior team for championship. All got lots of gametime in Down Div1 and the Betsy Gray Shield.
For the first time in decades we had 20 lads up playing in the Betsy Grey in Bredagh and at the same time we'd 18 seniors at home training.

We're hoping for similar next year and the year after from our current U16's. We drop off in numbers for a few years after that but that doesn't mean we haven't got quality hurlers in those groups.

Armaghdog

Typical Ballygalget always making the most out of a smaller pool of players always chipping away to get lads through to senior against the odds against other clubs with bigger resources. Serious pride in the jersey. Said it last week that ye would probably get more of this minor team than Bredagh. College work travel etc the biggest issues we all face in our clubs. Fair play to both minor teams and coaches last night.

Great first 15 mins of championship football tonight. Then a (I've heard but can't confirm - was too far away) dubious penalty gave Carryduff a cushion that they were never going to relinquish.

To be fair, Duff are a fine team. Big, strong, quick, clinical. They're our best hope of preventing another black and white wash and I wish them well in that pursuit.

LosDodgers

Thought it looked a stone cold penalty on first viewing but replays showed it looked very soft.

Think Carryduff were always in control, James Guinness kicked some very nice scores in first half.

Has Seamie Loughlin been involved with county team? Looked very good and could be the free taker the county team needs.

ardtole

With the new proposed rule changes for the upcoming county season; and having to keep 3 players inside the opposition 45, who is Laverty likely to go with?

I'm thinking the likes of McGovern and Savage would thrive in the extra space.

Also, with the award of 2 points from outside the 45, would this mean a more significant role for the likes of Rory Mason.

maldini

Is the draw for the semi finals of the IFC and SFC already done, as is showing on the county website fixtures?

supersub

Quote from: maldini on September 15, 2024, 01:27:18 PMIs the draw for the semi finals of the IFC and SFC already done, as is showing on the county website fixtures?

No

5times5times

Quote from: ardtole on September 15, 2024, 09:48:54 AMWith the new proposed rule changes for the upcoming county season; and having to keep 3 players inside the opposition 45, who is Laverty likely to go with?

Also, with the award of 2 points from outside the 45, would this mean a more significant role for the likes of Rory Mason.

If were pinning our ulster hopes on those 3 lads, we're at a low ebb

DuffGael

Quote from: ardtole on September 15, 2024, 09:48:54 AMWith the new proposed rule changes for the upcoming county season; and having to keep 3 players inside the opposition 45, who is Laverty likely to go with?

If you're leaving 3 up you need at least 2 ball winners. Im not sure those 3 give you that. Havern could do it as long as he is not going to be in midfield, Ryan McEvoy has been playing there for kilcoo and doing well. Who knows as the rule might not get passed

ardtole

Quote from: 5times5times on September 15, 2024, 04:36:16 PM

If were pinning our ulster hopes on those 3 lads, we're at a low ebb

You would imagine Havern would be one of the 3, maybe interchanging with Murdock at times, if that's permitted. Unfortunately it's an area we don't have a lot of options in, or quality in contrast to a lot of other counties.

Splash

11,500 population according to the latest census. If this includes the outskirts and surrounding areas, there are other clubs drawing from this population - Saul, Kilclief (who do hurl), Bright, Ardglass, maybe Teconnaught. So perhaps the option would be a new club solely for hurling, to eliminate the complications of players playing football and hurling for different clubs? Maybe the Kilclief club would object, or could they be persuaded to be a part of it? Worth exploring if the whole surrounding area and clubs can be somehow included, as opposed to just the RGU.

I had a look there, but Downpatrick has a population of 21,916, according to the Census on the Northern Ireland Statistics and Research Angency website. The only figure I could find which said Downpatrick has a population of 11,500 is a Wikipedia article which says there is a population of 11,545 (which Wikipedia says is according to the Census, but the Census doesn't mention anything in line with this, and when I clicked on the reference, it took me to a custom table and not the Census figures that were published by the NISRA for 2021).

I'm not sure whether or not this includes areas such as Kilclief and Ardglass etc.

Either way, it is clearly a large population without an outlet for hurling (or with only one outlet if we include Kilclief).

I think you're spot on, a great solution would be to establish a hurling club in the town.

Having dual clubs is great, but there's no point in pretending that some people will never be convinced to join their rival club. Which is understandable.

I think this is partly why clubs like Sean Tracey's, Craobh Rua, Na Magha, etc., are succesful. Sean Tracey's, for example, has players from Clann Eireann, Clan na Gael, and St Peter's, but it is no great stretch to assume if the club had simply come about as say, a Clann Eireann hurling side, they potentially would not have  the same players down to club rivalries.

I think the Clann Mhúrn innovative between the clubs in the Mournes is a great example of how this could be done, and hopefully it works out. 5 rival football clubs, but all feed one hurling club, which removes any complications of say, someone playing football for Ballymartin, but hurling for An Riocht.

I'm not sure how many players Kilclief actually have from Downpatrick, but I would like to think they wouldn't object to the creation of a hurling club in the town. Personally, if such a venture was done, I'd like to see Kilclief remain separate, as the more clubs the better, and it would be a pity to undo the hurling tradition in the area.

You're absolutely right though, it's an idea which is definitely worth exploring. It's an area with a lot of potential for hurling development, and it's a pity that our county town doesn't have an outlet to play our national game.

Splash

Quote from: DownFanatic on September 06, 2024, 11:36:18 AMBryansford hurled in the 1980's for a short while. Think they won a Special Junior Championship. Michael Hanley (RIP), a Tipperary native, was a hurling influence in the local primary schools in the Newcastle area throughout the 90's in relation to the small ball game but I don't think anything formal in terms of establishing it at club level ever happened.

Very interesting, never knew that.

Often times, it seems that it takes one very dedicated person to keep something going, and when they unfortunately pass away or move out of the area, there is no one to keep it going.

Encouraging hurling in schools is a great thing.

Hopefully some day hurling returns to Newcastle. Clann na Boirce were a successful club in the very, very early years of the Down Hurling Championship; would be great to see hurling at the foot of the Mournes again after all these years.

Splash

Quote from: Armaghdog on September 11, 2024, 05:49:04 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on September 11, 2024, 02:07:58 PMSad news about Tom Daly, the Cork native who was residing in Warrenpoint who was Down Hurling Officer for a few years.

RIP Tom.

Terrible news. Gentleman. Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam.

Awful sad. Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam.

manwithnoplan

11,500 population according to the latest census. If this includes the outskirts and surrounding areas, there are other clubs drawing from this population - Saul, Kilclief (who do hurl), Bright, Ardglass, maybe Teconnaught. So perhaps the option would be a new club solely for hurling, to eliminate the complications of players playing football and hurling for different clubs? Maybe the Kilclief club would object, or could they be persuaded to be a part of it? Worth exploring if the whole surrounding area and clubs can be somehow included, as opposed to just the RGU.

I had a look there, but Downpatrick has a population of 21,916, according to the Census on the Northern Ireland Statistics and Research Angency website. The only figure I could find which said Downpatrick has a population of 11,500 is a Wikipedia article which says there is a population of 11,545 (which Wikipedia says is according to the Census, but the Census doesn't mention anything in line with this, and when I clicked on the reference, it took me to a custom table and not the Census figures that were published by the NISRA for 2021).

I'm not sure whether or not this includes areas such as Kilclief and Ardglass etc.

Either way, it is clearly a large population without an outlet for hurling (or with only one outlet if we include Kilclief).

I think you're spot on, a great solution would be to establish a hurling club in the town.

Having dual clubs is great, but there's no point in pretending that some people will never be convinced to join their rival club. Which is understandable.

I think this is partly why clubs like Sean Tracey's, Craobh Rua, Na Magha, etc., are succesful. Sean Tracey's, for example, has players from Clann Eireann, Clan na Gael, and St Peter's, but it is no great stretch to assume if the club had simply come about as say, a Clann Eireann hurling side, they potentially would not have  the same players down to club rivalries.

I think the Clann Mhúrn innovative between the clubs in the Mournes is a great example of how this could be done, and hopefully it works out. 5 rival football clubs, but all feed one hurling club, which removes any complications of say, someone playing football for Ballymartin, but hurling for An Riocht.

I'm not sure how many players Kilclief actually have from Downpatrick, but I would like to think they wouldn't object to the creation of a hurling club in the town. Personally, if such a venture was done, I'd like to see Kilclief remain separate, as the more clubs the better, and it would be a pity to undo the hurling tradition in the area.

You're absolutely right though, it's an idea which is definitely worth exploring. It's an area with a lot of potential for hurling development, and it's a pity that our county town doesn't have an outlet to play our national game.

I may have the wrong figure on population then, if it is around the 20k mark then surely there is an opportunity there. I know in the past an odd player from RGU have played for Ards teams, as they have no football teams to conflict with, so the Kilclief hurlers are probably all from their own area. As long as it doesn't hurt an existing club in the long term then like you say it would be great to have another club in the area.

Down CCC have decided all the last round games be played at the same time this Sunday at 2:30pm.

3rd and 4th will come down to score differences in all likelihood so makes sense.