Unionist wants GAA jerseys banned from universities

Started by blewuporstuffed, April 08, 2014, 02:50:41 PM

Quote from: armaghniac on April 08, 2014, 03:46:05 PM
QuoteI'd ban all the tops, they do in most gyms anyway so what's the problem? We've banned them years ago at work and the students just get on with it

This kind of thing is ridiculous. In universities and gyms all over the world people wear sportswear. And universities in particular have no place banning things, it is not Iran.

Works for us, a lot of people in this (Norn Iron) place are very sensitive about colours, ya wouldn't believe it i know but people have ended up getting their heads kicked in for wearing different coloured football tops!! I mean ya couldn't make it up.

Honestly though I couldn't care less, I worked in a place that was decked out in Union jacks the size of soccer pitches, means nothing to me, others? hmmm well some people might be
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

sheamy

Good man Trap. The thread was always headed this way. Here we go.... ;D

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 08, 2014, 03:54:07 PM
QuoteI'd ban all the tops, they do in most gyms anyway so what's the problem? We've banned them years ago at work and the students just get on with it

This kind of thing is ridiculous. In universities and gyms all over the world people wear sportswear. And universities in particular have no place banning things, it is not Iran.

Works for us, a lot of people in this (Norn Iron) place are very sensitive about colours, ya wouldn't believe it i know but people have ended up getting their heads kicked in for wearing different coloured football tops!! I mean ya couldn't make it up.

Honestly though I couldn't care less, I worked in a place that was decked out in Union jacks the size of soccer pitches, means nothing to me, others? hmmm well some people might be

so do we ban all soccer /rugby jersies as well?
do we stop people wearing poppies?

Could the Unionists not wear IFA jerseys ?

This is a good time for an Apres Match link

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fjEkjeVzL34

Quote from: blewuporstuffed on April 08, 2014, 03:56:34 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 08, 2014, 03:54:07 PM

so do we ban all soccer /rugby jersies as well?
do we stop people wearing poppies?

Like I said it works for us, as the kids I look after have problems with lads from the 'other' side and this could result in some lad getting a kicking (it's happened before), some places have a duty of care to their students, now I wouldn't want to deal with a student getting a hiding and then explain this to their parents.

Norn Iron unfortunately is full of smicks who'll give someone a kicking based on their tops, EC would be going ape shit in Liverpool given half the chance ;)

Should they be banned? No should we have normal lives where our children wear what they want, express views without reprisals? Yeah course we do, but this is Norn Iron and some cnut is always going to be offended by some other cnut
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Why doesn't he sponsor a Private Member's Bill at Stormont and use someone to front it?

Quote from: NAG1 on April 08, 2014, 03:17:05 PM
A member of the tax paying public should be allowed to slap a politician (of any colour) every time they come up with this type of crap. That would soon stop them wasting tax payers money on such drivel.

That's a great idea NAG. Where's the queue?!

There was something in a paper the other week there which I didn't see much about on here - Ian Paisley junior accused SF of voting for losing jobs when they voted that adults should not be allowed to smoke in cars with kids in them. Several slaps would be due there also.

Though there's no point in starting a list as it'd be a long one.

Quote from: OakleafCounty on April 08, 2014, 03:02:38 PM
I doubt they could ban GAA jerseys without banning soccer and rugby tops as well. And also, what sort of person over the age of 17 wears football jerseys as a dress code.

There really are some joyless feckers out there in the world.

Dress code for Grace Neill's pub in Donaghdee

No football jerseys
No visible tattoos
No hooded tops
No baseball caps

Good old twisted bigot Allister at it again.
He doesn't want SF votes to count for Ministerial jobs in Stormont and now doesn't want any visible signs of "Taigs" being about the place.
I suppose the one way to sort this out would be for every Catholic/Nationalist/Fair minded Student to turn up with a GAA jersey and see would they be stopped - with TV cameras present of course - similar to the black Student who tried to get into the Uni in Mississippi back in the day.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Quote from: seafoid on April 08, 2014, 03:58:00 PM
Could the Unionists not wear IFA jerseys ?

This is a good time for an Apres Match link

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fjEkjeVzL34

No superdry jackets would be enough to identify. The unionists love Superdry!

Thankfully this is what passes as tit-for-tat nowadays. I am offended by your (frankly embarrassing) poppy, but yet I can't for the life of me understand what you don't like me wearing my identity on my chest.

Still, it's better than the 70s & 80s version of tit-for-tat.

Other than stirring the shite like this dick, what exactly do those wankstains in Stormont do?