Tyrone County Football and Hurling

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, April 01, 2007, 05:58:31 PM

Jerome

Quote from: Fuzzman on April 27, 2026, 04:08:13 PMHow do yis feel about how Down beat Donegal yesterday and what will our management team learn from that?

Was good to see Down going for it with the shackles off. Running at Donegal and making and taking their goal chances and 2 pointers. Not playing with fear and the shackles on.
I feel we are also too rigid and stuck to the system too much. Playing with fear. Not good for forwards and their confidence.

What system is that exactly.

Tyrone under this management and previous were trying not to lose games. Other coaches are trying to win games. There is a difference.

square_ball

Quote from: Fuzzman on April 27, 2026, 04:08:13 PMHow do yis feel about how Down beat Donegal yesterday and what will our management team learn from that?

Was good to see Down going for it with the shackles off. Running at Donegal and making and taking their goal chances and 2 pointers. Not playing with fear and the shackles on.
I feel we are also too rigid and stuck to the system too much. Playing with fear. Not good for forwards and their confidence.

Something Daniel Guinness said in an interview afterwards that Down 'played fast' which is something we don't really do. Our middle 8 don't have that burning pace that other teams have.

Only saw the highlights but Downs forward play was exactly how gaelic football used to be/should be played. Confident at being able to beat a man and bear down on goal, turning over and actually playing over the press before Donegal had time to reset, showing ruthlessness infront of goal. The second(?) goal showed this where the down forward ran through 2 defenders and the keeper to walk it in.
This could be a watershed moment in the way Donegal v Dublin 2011 was.

Tyrone have to adapt the Down template for playing football.

ClubScene13

Goals win games, incredible achievement. Phenomenal stuff. Drive it on 2 more to go

cjx

Quote from: ClubScene13 on April 29, 2026, 09:15:47 PMGoals win games, incredible achievement. Phenomenal stuff. Drive it on 2 more to go

And so u20s prove 4-18 1-22 win Great stuff. All needdd now is senior mamager to take heed.

sam03/05

Surely Paul Devlin has to come in as manager at end of the year - a man with a proven track record of developing young talent. A man that wins big games.
Our senior management has won two big games in two years, Dublin (who are not the Dubs of old) and Donegal who had just won Ulster. They failed in every other big game and I see young talent such as O'Hare not even playing.  The man deserves the job.

barelegs

Quote from: sam03/05 on April 29, 2026, 10:17:11 PMSurely Paul Devlin has to come in as manager at end of the year - a man with a proven track record of developing young talent. A man that wins big games.
Our senior management has won two big games in two years, Dublin (who are not the Dubs of old) and Donegal who had just won Ulster. They failed in every other big game and I see young talent such as O'Hare not even playing.  The man deserves the job.

Paul Dook has done an amazing job at underage level with the U20s and Minors before that. The one criticism that'll be thrown at him is that he's not managed a senior team, at either club or county level. I stand to be corrected on that but I think that's a fairly big question mark that he has against him. It's not one that cant be overcome but it's certainly not irrelevant

Quote from: barelegs on April 29, 2026, 10:48:25 PM
Quote from: sam03/05 on April 29, 2026, 10:17:11 PMSurely Paul Devlin has to come in as manager at end of the year - a man with a proven track record of developing young talent. A man that wins big games.

Paul Dook has done an amazing job at underage level with the U20s and Minors before that. The one criticism that'll be thrown at him is that he's not managed a senior team, at either club or county level. I stand to be corrected on that but I think that's a fairly big question mark that he has against him. It's not one that cant be overcome but it's certainly not irrelevant

I'd say managing  AI winning minor and U20 teams is more important than managing a club team.

You rather have him, in my opinion, with that experience etc., than a lad who's managed a Top 5 club team in Tyrone. No debate about that.

Plus he knows a good cohort of these younger lads coming through the underage system in Tyrone. When U20s is over, I'm sure he watches a lot of senior club games in Tyrone.

God14

Quote from: marty34 on April 30, 2026, 07:18:55 AM

I'd say managing  AI winning minor and U20 teams is more important than managing a club team.

You rather have him, in my opinion, with that experience etc., than a lad who's managed a Top 5 club team in Tyrone. No debate about that.

Plus he knows a good cohort of these younger lads coming through the underage system in Tyrone. When U20s is over, I'm sure he watches a lot of senior club games in Tyrone.

He's omnipresent at Tyrone club games.

Im not sure he wants that Senior gig. If he did he would likely have taken a cherry picked senior club side by now. He looks very content where he is.

Ballygawleyftw

Jp McManus left the County Board 100k to build a statue of Paul Devlin

Quarterbackk

Young Devlin is a fantastic player.  He is good enough to be playing 2 on our senior team. He isnt even on the senior panel!!

Topoftheworld

Shea O'Hare was awarded the best u20 player in Ireland 2 years ago. How many games did he play for the seniors before being dropped by Malachy? would it have been 3/4 sub appearances, if even?

Nothing against him i think hes an exceptional player. There has to be something way off with Tyrone's S&C? Daly, O'donell, Devlin won the u20 all ireland in 2022 I think and could argue their conditioning/size was the same then as it is now?

Also did I hear right that 1 or 2 more left the senior panel in the last week or so

Goals_Will_Come

Quote from: God14 on April 30, 2026, 07:58:07 AM

Im not sure he wants that Senior gig. If he did he would likely have taken a cherry picked senior club side by now. He looks very content where he is.
Devlin himself has had loads of questions around him prior to 2024 and some of his previous teams massively underachieving - The first round exits in 2021 & 2023 and the manner of the All Ireland Semi Final losses in 2019 & 2020. Lots of posters on here and myself included would have doubted his capabilities but the past three years have been outstanding at this level - excellent brand of football, tactically sound and great results.
One thing that is apparent about him is the amount of good coaches he surrounds himself with. He has an excellent track of record of having an excellent coaching team around him. Tyrone seniors over the past few years can be accused of lacking in this department.
But this title is a tremendous achievement - not the most fancied of teams, missing his marquee forward throughout and picked up another injury or two to key players but still delivered another Ulster title. Hopefully can go and deliver a third All Ireland Title in a row.
Conor Devlin surely an automatic call up to the seniors as soon as the U20s finish, a fantastic player serious leader.

cjx

Quote from: Goals_Will_Come on April 30, 2026, 11:12:38 AM
Quote from: God14 on April 30, 2026, 07:58:07 AM

Devlin himself has had loads of questions around him prior to 2024 and some of his previous teams massively underachieving - The first round exits in 2021 & 2023 and the manner of the All Ireland Semi Final losses in 2019 & 2020. Lots of posters on here and myself included would have doubted his capabilities but the past three years have been outstanding at this level - excellent brand of football, tactically sound and great results.
One thing that is apparent about him is the amount of good coaches he surrounds himself with. He has an excellent track of record of having an excellent coaching team around him. Tyrone seniors over the past few years can be accused of lacking in this department.
But this title is a tremendous achievement - not the most fancied of teams, missing his marquee forward throughout and picked up another injury or two to key players but still delivered another Ulster title. Hopefully can go and deliver a third All Ireland Title in a row.
Conor Devlin surely an automatic call up to the seniors as soon as the U20s finish, a fantastic player serious leader.
All good for future but would Paul Devlin reallt want to manage senior team. If so great change b4 end of year and get strength and conditioning right mentally and physically as current managment are not good enough here or with wierd team selections not mixing age and experience to best effect. Must sadly recognise dazzler is not a starter for one example. Who is cuuently in charge of S&C. Is it still email in Kiwi-land? Blather won't cut it but Con Kilpatrick a great iterview after the Armagh match so as we know the spirit is there under the current bull dung Devlin's inspiration required badly.