Tyrone County Football and Hurling

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, April 01, 2007, 05:58:31 PM

driveherin

Brendan Burns never gave Bradley, PJ Lavery and Harte a kick hardly. Definitely deserves a chance. HP McGeary also shone for Pomeroy in their championship run. Is John Loughran worth a chance?
McLaughlin and O'Donnell definitely worth a look at too... McLaughlin destroyed wonderkid DD Mulgrew? O'Donnell only 30 odd? Age just a number!!
I'd safely say Brian Kennedy from Derrylaughan a better option than Paudy McNulty/McShane
Not sure on too many other to be honest,no better than whats already there.No out and out scorers in fairness  :-\ :-\ :-\

So who Mickey taking into backroom team?

bigpackiechestout

Quote from: driveherin on October 02, 2017, 03:54:53 PM
Brendan Burns never gave Bradley, PJ Lavery and Harte a kick hardly. Definitely deserves a chance. HP McGeary also shone for Pomeroy in their championship run. Is John Loughran worth a chance?
McLaughlin and O'Donnell definitely worth a look at too... McLaughlin destroyed wonderkid DD Mulgrew? O'Donnell only 30 odd? Age just a number!!
I'd safely say Brian Kennedy from Derrylaughan a better option than Paudy McNulty/McShane
Not sure on too many other to be honest,no better than whats already there.No out and out scorers in fairness  :-\ :-\ :-\

So who Mickey taking into backroom team?

Apologies, don't know how i missed out Brendan Burns. Along with Frank and O'Donnell he's been the standout player in the Championship so far for me.

At 29/30 I agree O'Donnell is not old but I just mean that it would be unusual for a player to start out his county career at this age. Would be great to see if he did though

wee scully

A big stringy forward is what Mickeys after surely Kyle Coney would be worth another shot

Club boi

Quote from: wee scully on October 02, 2017, 05:38:40 PM
A big stringy forward is what Mickeys after surely Kyle Coney would be worth another shot

Ah jaysus lads this ship has sailed, he's never coming back, move on

southtyronegael

from what ive seen i would say mc loughlin, mc kernan, hp mc geery, frank burns, brendan burns, shea mc guigan, conan grugan, conor o donnell, munroe all should be getting game time for tyrone.

skeog

STG vast majority have been involved either didnt cut it or they had other things to do with their lives which doesnt involve Senior County Football.

southtyronegael

skeog, you say 'involved' does that mean playing an odd mc kenna cup game or what? cause i dont remember too many of the lads ive named playin meaningful games for tyrone.

Quote from: southtyronegael on October 02, 2017, 09:07:11 PM
skeog, you say 'involved' does that mean playing an odd mc kenna cup game or what? cause i dont remember too many of the lads ive named playin meaningful games for tyrone.

I'm pretty sure there's more goes on in the preparation of teams than just the games you see.

twenty one yard free

To be fair til kyle he had a great league campaign for the Rossa finishing top scorer for them this year again and with ardboe getting put out in the first round of the championship we couldn't really judge Kyle on that performance

redhandefender

Quote from: southtyronegael on October 02, 2017, 09:07:11 PM

Aye sure start 5 or 6 of them in the ulster championship first round for the craic!

Would definitely give Conor O'Donnell another shot but pointless unless he changes the system a bit.

Reading extract from Gooch's book last night, God we had it good back then, 1-15 or maybe 1 to 26 absolute terriers on the pitch went out to get Sam. Oh to have a Ricey mc menamin now. Gooch obviously still raging throwing in sly digs and then trying compliment them. Gooch should have stayed away from Books, TV and money spinning dinners as he as gonnne from a mysterious enigma to a wee ginger p***k!

skeog

Mickey said in a recent interview that the league cannot be used for playing rookies.So in effect the O Fiach and Mc Kenna cup is the only chance for newcomers.

GaelTheGael

Story from Garvaghey tonight is Peter Donnelly has left the setup over issues surrounding his wages. Rumoured to be for Mayo but you would imagine a queue of counties would take him.

Tyrone wouldn't be paying backroom team surely? Is this what Club Tyrone is funding?

skeog

Not many counties could afford him.

Redhand Santa

Quote from: Carmen Stateside on October 04, 2017, 01:52:14 AM
Tyrone wouldn't be paying backroom team surely? Is this what Club Tyrone is funding?

You want him to be a full time strength and conditioning coach for the county for all the teams for free? How will he support himself? If Tyrone have any ambitions of doing anything they will have to put some money into this area.