Ciarán Kilkenny returns from Aussie Rules

Started by Geoff Tipps, January 10, 2013, 11:41:23 AM

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 10, 2013, 04:34:34 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on January 10, 2013, 04:09:02 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on January 10, 2013, 03:52:04 PM
QuoteOverrated? There hasn't been a dual talent like him since Jimmy Barry Murphy and McCarthy, a cracking player at such a young age, plenty time to mature into a great player. Has highorlow pointed out not overly hyped

Hmmm. Right.

Look, I didn't mean to offend anyone. I think he's an excellent player, honestly. I did think there were other players on the last two Dublin minor teams as good who didn't get the same credit or attention.  It's beyond me how you could compare a 19 year old to Jimmy Barry Murphy and in the same post deny that he's being hyped up. But as I said, he's a very good player and he has great potential.

I agree, when JBM was Ciaran Kilkenny's age he had won an All-Ireland medal, an All-star, had scored 2 goals in an All-Ireland final and was MOTM in an All-Ireland final. Would have been there or thereabouts for the player of the year as well.

Had he been a year older he'd have been on the squad for the seniors and an All Ireland in his back pocket. Again it's the media who hype these lads. I'd say he'd get on most teams in Ireland football and hurling once he matures

Earning an All-Ireland medal as a squad player would hardly compare with being MOTM in an All-Ireland final and winning an All-Star

Great news for Dublin.

Bad news for the rest of Leinster and beyond.

Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on January 10, 2013, 05:09:42 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 10, 2013, 04:34:34 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on January 10, 2013, 04:09:02 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on January 10, 2013, 03:52:04 PM
QuoteOverrated? There hasn't been a dual talent like him since Jimmy Barry Murphy and McCarthy, a cracking player at such a young age, plenty time to mature into a great player. Has highorlow pointed out not overly hyped

Hmmm. Right.

Look, I didn't mean to offend anyone. I think he's an excellent player, honestly. I did think there were other players on the last two Dublin minor teams as good who didn't get the same credit or attention.  It's beyond me how you could compare a 19 year old to Jimmy Barry Murphy and in the same post deny that he's being hyped up. But as I said, he's a very good player and he has great potential.

I agree, when JBM was Ciaran Kilkenny's age he had won an All-Ireland medal, an All-star, had scored 2 goals in an All-Ireland final and was MOTM in an All-Ireland final. Would have been there or thereabouts for the player of the year as well.

Had he been a year older he'd have been on the squad for the seniors and an All Ireland in his back pocket. Again it's the media who hype these lads. I'd say he'd get on most teams in Ireland football and hurling once he matures

Think he's a better footballer than hurler to be honest from the limited amount I've seen of him. He has the potential to be a very good footballer. I don't think his ceiling is quite so high in hurling. Saw him play Galway in underage hurling a couple of times and while he was good he didn't particularly stand-out whereas I saw him play Galway in the minor All-Ireland football in 2011 and he basically won Dublin the game by himself in the last 7 or 8 minutes although he did have a significant size advantage over his marker. Am only going on a few games though so not exactly the biggest sample size.

Debatable. That was a star galway team and the dublin team had a mare on the day. He was unreal in the other games at hurling. A mile better then Keaney was at that age and he didn't turn out half bad.

He's proven at the football. Gave Mayo an awful time in the all-ireland semi despite never even playing an NFL game. Its bad news for other counties because he'll eventually or maybe right away concentrate on football. He's by far and away the best prospect we've had in recent years.

Underage success doesn't always translate so I wouldn't get the champagne out yet but Donegal will be the exception to have done very little at underage and win an- ireland. ( training 15 times a week can make up for a lot though)

Best Dublin player in the AISF and the only one to stand out at all when the Mayo onslaught was at full tilt. Impressive for an u21 making his first championship start.

Classy statement by him anyways and alongside the likes of Cormac Costello and Emmett O'Conghaile Dublin have one hell of a talented crop coming up through the ranks. Kilkenny is a huge boost for the u21s' chances of retaining the AI.

Big boost to Dublin's hopes for this year, they won't be far away

Very good player and can be a very special one, will bring much needed spear head to the Dublin attack from likely No.11, there are one or 2 of the last years minor team who looked very good and it would be better for dublin to blood them early through the league and pick up 3 or 4 players who can cut it and add to their panel for another all-ireland assault. Again with Donegal, Cork, and Kerry, they be in the hunt for sam.

tyroneStatto

is that his club that will be playing in upcoming all-ireland junior semi final?

tommysmith

QuoteDid Murphy's team not get to an under 21 final, I would have used Kerry as an example of a county who have done very little underage compared to what they have achieved at senior over the last 12 or so years.

They did and only for him hitting crossbar with a last minute penalty they would have won it.

Quote from: clarshack on January 11, 2013, 12:03:57 PM
is that his club that will be playing in upcoming all-ireland junior semi final?

Yeah, Castleknock.

Quote from: Fuzzman on January 10, 2013, 03:51:39 PM
Am surprised how many of ye want to see him stick with the hurling.

I'm not sure they'll get close to Kilkenny or Tipp in the hurling.

Dublin hurlers had a collective mare last year with poor performances and injuries to key personnel. If Daly and Co can put that behind them then they'll certainly be a force, not sure if they'd have enough to win an AI just yet, but they're certainly going in the right direction and will only get better as they'd some clinker minors last year who came up short against a very talented Tipp team, Kilkenny being one of them.

Quote from: rodney trotter on January 11, 2013, 12:08:01 PM
Quote from: clarshack on January 11, 2013, 12:03:57 PM

Yeah, Castleknock.

He'll be handy at that level!

Even if you don't appreciate "de boyiz in blooo" it's great for the GAA that such a potentially big star is now back to grace our games. The Aussie thing isn't for everyone and it's ok if lads don't go that route just as it's ok if they decide to go for it. As Kilkenny put it so well, our games do have their own unique benefits and we are often slow about outlining those for fear of appearing old fashioned or whatever.

Carlow star and former AFL recruit Brendan Murphy believes Ciarán Kilkenny did the right thing in deciding not to return to Australia and an AFL career with Hawthorn.
Murphy spent two years on the books of the Sydney Swans before refusing the offer of a contract extension and returned to Ireland in 2009.
Although he did not break in to the Swans first team he impressed in the reserves, despite a series of injuries, and the former Swans coach Paul Roos expressed his disappointment at Murphy's decision to return to Ireland.
The Rathvilly man, speaking to RTÉ Sport, said that he fully understood and empathised with Kilkenny's decision not to return to Australia.
"I was surprised at first when I read Ciarán's statement. I had heard he was going very well out there, but at the end of the day if he was not happy, and his heart was dragging him back to Ireland, than I think he made the right decision", said Murphy.
"Ciarán said in his statement, and I suppose I can relate to it, that it's great to be a professional and getting to play sport but, for me, pulling on the Sydney Swans jumper was just not the same as pulling on a Rathvilly or Carlow jersey.
"There is a lot to be said for lining out beside your brothers and the friends you've grown up with. For me it was just not the same in Australia and Ciarán obviously felt the same."
Questioned as to whether the respective contrasting states of the Australian and Irish economies would influence the decision to return to Ireland, Murphy was dismissive in his assessment of the financial factors involved.
"If your heart is telling you that it's not meant for you than it's just not meant for you. When I first came home people were saying to me that, with the way things are, would I not be better off staying in Australia.
"But it you're not happy in a place there is no point staying there just for the sake of money. It's not right. If you want to come home, and you feel that's the best place for you, than go for it."
"If your heart is telling you that it's not meant for you than it's just not meant for you" - Brendan Murphy
Homesickness is often alluded to as one of the big issues facing young Irish recruits in the AFL, and Murphy admitted that it was a factor for him, despite the support of everyone at the Sydney club.
"For me, at the Swans, they were brilliant. All the staff and players at the club made me feel really welcome. At the start the homesickness was a big thing.
"I remember flying back to Australia after my first Christmas and it was tough for the first two or three months.
"You are constantly thinking of home, and you would have a pain in your gut missing home. Everyone at the club makes you feel welcome but, at the end of the day, it's not home."
"It's not like playing for your club, and Ciarán obviously has a strong feeling about playing for his club (Castleknock) and loves it, and loves playing for Dublin and that must have been a big factor for him as well."

Murphy has no doubt that Kilkenny would have made it in the AFL, and dismissed notions that Kilkenny's contrasting profile in Ireland and Australia was an issue.
"I have no doubt that Ciarán would have made the grade in AFL because he is that sort of a talent. He is one of the best young lads coming up through GAA.

"Some people might say that (he was a small fish in a big pond in Australia) but you would not worry about people like that. Ciarán has a massive opportunity now with his club in an All-Ireland semi-final and, of course, with Dublin."
"Dublin are one of the best teams in the country so coming home, for him, gives him the chance to fulfil every dream he ever had as a child."
Murphy was emphatic when asked if he was happy, in hindsight, with his decision to return home. "I'm delighted," he insisted.

It all makes me wish the GAA would get off their hands and make the schedule of games work for the players and not just have the intent of just fulfilling a set of fixtures by the end of the year.

If Ciaran was at college here right now he'd be splitting time between training with his college team, the u21 panel, the senior panel and his club.

That is ridiculous even for a professional player, let alone someone doing it simply for a love of the game.

Quote from: rodney trotter on January 10, 2013, 02:30:30 PM
Its not for everybody. John Heslin was only there a few months aswell, think Heslin would have been there longer.

Best of luck to Kilkenny, another option for Dublin, with Hudson showing well so far in the O Byrne Cup, Dublin will have good options in attack come the Championship

Heslin went back after the Christmas break until Feb/March. Helped Westmeath stay up after a horrendous start to the league.

Some boost for the Dubs, would hope he concentrates on the small ball as well  :P

Quote from: Syferus on January 11, 2013, 02:29:41 PM
It all makes me wish the GAA would get off their hands and make the schedule of games work for the players and not just have the intent of just fulfilling a set of fixtures by the end of the year.

If Ciaran was at college here right now he'd be splitting time between training with his college team, the u21 panel, the senior panel and his club.

That is ridiculous even for a professional player, let alone someone doing it simply for a love of the game.

According to the Star, he is able to resume the Arts course he was studying in UCD. Fresher Football starts in Feburay I think.

It said he will be eligible for 10 teams in 2013, Freshers football and Hurling. County Senior Football and Hurling, County U21 football and Hurling, Club football and Hurling ,and Club u21 Football and Hurling.