Ciarán Kilkenny returns from Aussie Rules

Started by Geoff Tipps, January 10, 2013, 11:41:23 AM

Quote from: Ard-Rí on January 10, 2013, 12:31:05 PM
There's no question but that he's overrated, even so, it's good news for Dubh Linn and good luck to them and to him.

You've either on the windup or you haven't seen much of him.

Quote from: theticklemister on January 10, 2013, 12:44:21 PM
Is he at college or anything? I reckon an oul coaching job may open up for him if he is unemployed!!!!lol!! Ah fair play to the lad.

Had a UCD scholarship, did a few weeks then went to Oz.

He'll go back to that next September and will do a bit of coaching in the meantime

Quote from: snoopdog on January 10, 2013, 01:00:38 PM
Great boost fro the Dubs, Quality footballer from what ive seen.
I would probably think he was homesick and that was his main reason for returning.
Good to have him back will only be an asset to the GAA as a whole

A red haired pale Irishman having to run around in temperatures up to 50°C surely entered the equation as well.

Quote from: heffo on January 10, 2013, 01:42:44 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on January 10, 2013, 12:31:05 PM
There's no question but that he's overrated, even so, it's good news for Dubh Linn and good luck to them and to him.

You've either on the windup or you haven't seen much of him.

That kind of comment amazes me, he has played in 3 under-age All-Ireland finals, a senior All-Ireland semi-final where he scored 3 points and has had to live and play with the kind of social media pressure that no player has ever been exposed to. Yet his attitude and commitment has been exemplary, he is a credit to his family, club and county and more importantly to himself. Having had the pleasure of seeing him play minor against Kildare there is not one poster on this board I can't imagine who doesn't wish he was born in their county.

Having lived and worked in Australia it can be tough and hopefully he has made the right decision for himself. If any under age star can fulfill their potential at senior it will be Ciaran Kilkenny and I think everyone of us should be wishing his the best of luck in achieving that.

Its not for everybody. John Heslin was only there a few months aswell, think Heslin would have been there longer.

Best of luck to Kilkenny, another option for Dublin, with Hudson showing well so far in the O Byrne Cup, Dublin will have good options in attack come the Championship

QuoteThat kind of comment amazes me, he has played in 3 under-age All-Ireland finals, a senior All-Ireland semi-final where he scored 3 points and has had to live and play with the kind of social media pressure that no player has ever been exposed to. Yet his attitude and commitment has been exemplary, he is a credit to his family, club and county and more importantly to himself. Having had the pleasure of seeing him play minor against Kildare there is not one poster on this board I can't imagine who doesn't wish he was born in their county.

Having lived and worked in Australia it can be tough and hopefully he has made the right decision for himself. If any under age star can fulfill their potential at senior it will be Ciaran Kilkenny and I think everyone of us should be wishing his the best of luck in achieving that.

+1 Dinny Good man

Great see him back alright, I just hope it wasn't in haste under a bout of home sickness. Marty Clarke had a similar experience I remember.

Hope he sticks to hurling of course.  ;)

Great to see the young fella back and will be displaying his skills in our games for hopefully a long time.

Nice bit of PR work on the statement to leverage the most out of what is obviously homesickness

Am surprised how many of ye want to see him stick with the hurling.
I'd say with him, a new rejunvenaed hungry B.Brogan, a more mature & disciplined D. Connolly and young Caffrey coming along Dublin will have quite a potent forward line for the first time in decades and would have a great chance of winning another AI in 2013.

I'm not sure they'll get close to Kilkenny or Tipp in the hurling.

Interesting how many lads have went over to try it out and came back
How's young Walsh from Kerry getting on now?

Ard-Rí

QuoteOverrated? There hasn't been a dual talent like him since Jimmy Barry Murphy and McCarthy, a cracking player at such a young age, plenty time to mature into a great player. Has highorlow pointed out not overly hyped

Hmmm. Right.

Look, I didn't mean to offend anyone. I think he's an excellent player, honestly. I did think there were other players on the last two Dublin minor teams as good who didn't get the same credit or attention.  It's beyond me how you could compare a 19 year old to Jimmy Barry Murphy and in the same post deny that he's being hyped up. But as I said, he's a very good player and he has great potential.
Ar son Éireann Gaelaí

Quote from: Fuzzman on January 10, 2013, 03:51:39 PM
Am surprised how many of ye want to see him stick with the hurling.
I'd say with him, a new rejunvenaed hungry B.Brogan, a more mature & disciplined D. Connolly and young Caffrey coming along Dublin will have quite a potent forward line for the first time in decades and would have a great chance of winning another AI in 2013.

I'm not sure they'll get close to Kilkenny or Tipp in the hurling.

Interesting how many lads have went over to try it out and came back
How's young Walsh from Kerry getting on now?

McCaffrey is a half back. Paul Hudson looks a gem of a player, u21 from last year. Worrying for every other county - Dublin starting produce so many top forwards.

Cormac Costelloe is another and Emmet O Conghaile.

Quote from: Ard-Rí on January 10, 2013, 03:52:04 PM
QuoteOverrated? There hasn't been a dual talent like him since Jimmy Barry Murphy and McCarthy, a cracking player at such a young age, plenty time to mature into a great player. Has highorlow pointed out not overly hyped

Hmmm. Right.

Look, I didn't mean to offend anyone. I think he's an excellent player, honestly. I did think there were other players on the last two Dublin minor teams as good who didn't get the same credit or attention.  It's beyond me how you could compare a 19 year old to Jimmy Barry Murphy and in the same post deny that he's being hyped up. But as I said, he's a very good player and he has great potential.

Jimmy at that age and being a Dual player, the media hype these lads up not the players or clubs themselves
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Hmmm. Right.

I agree, when JBM was Ciaran Kilkenny's age he had won an All-Ireland medal, an All-star, had scored 2 goals in an All-Ireland final and was MOTM in an All-Ireland final. Would have been there or thereabouts for the player of the year as well.

Quote from: blanketattack on January 10, 2013, 04:09:02 PM

Hmmm. Right.

I agree, when JBM was Ciaran Kilkenny's age he had won an All-Ireland medal, an All-star, had scored 2 goals in an All-Ireland final and was MOTM in an All-Ireland final. Would have been there or thereabouts for the player of the year as well.

Had he been a year older he'd have been on the squad for the seniors and an All Ireland in his back pocket. Again it's the media who hype these lads. I'd say he'd get on most teams in Ireland football and hurling once he matures
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 10, 2013, 04:34:34 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on January 10, 2013, 04:09:02 PM

Hmmm. Right.

Had he been a year older he'd have been on the squad for the seniors and an All Ireland in his back pocket. Again it's the media who hype these lads. I'd say he'd get on most teams in Ireland football and hurling once he matures

Think he's a better footballer than hurler to be honest from the limited amount I've seen of him. He has the potential to be a very good footballer. I don't think his ceiling is quite so high in hurling. Saw him play Galway in underage hurling a couple of times and while he was good he didn't particularly stand-out whereas I saw him play Galway in the minor All-Ireland football in 2011 and he basically won Dublin the game by himself in the last 7 or 8 minutes although he did have a significant size advantage over his marker. Am only going on a few games though so not exactly the biggest sample size.