Things that make you go .....Hmmm, that's interesting.

Started by Asal Mor, October 05, 2012, 05:06:13 PM

Last Man

Quote from: Genocide Organ on December 19, 2025, 11:19:53 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on December 18, 2025, 02:19:05 PMThe fox hunting ban didn't pass. Good to see

Yes, I agree. However, thought the Shinners used to be all for it?

Id say so, how are they voting on the abortion debate?

Genocide Organ

Quote from: Rossfan on December 19, 2025, 02:53:47 PMToffee nosed cnts thinking they can ride their horses anywhere they want.
6 Cos Nationalists and big rich English landowner types on the same side :o

As decreed by the prime example of a spiteful mutant.

Banks of the Bann

Fox hunting is not vermin control. That can be easily and effectively carried out at night with a lamp and a rifle.

It's animal cruelty dressed up as sport to satisfy the whims of a bunch of sick morons larping about as highly respected country ladies and gentlemen.

This shite has no place in the modern world.

Anyone partaking in it or defending it is an arsehole. 

tyrone08

Banks of the Bann

Quote from: Armagh18 on December 21, 2025, 10:20:07 AMIt's great craic :D cry more

Is that a little extra thrill you get, other than terrifying and terrorising wildlife, you might upset someone?

What a sad little man you are.

Do you dig old fox out of the hole if he gets the better of all you silly wankers?

AustinPowers

Speaking of animal cruelty .....

On Thursday, we'll all sit up and feast on  Our turkey and ham Christmas dinner,  curtesy of  a  dead bird and a dead pig.

I have to say, the Phoebe Buffay Christmas greeting line  "happy needless turkey murder day"  has been gnawing at me  this year,  for the first time

But, herself has  the turkey and ham ordered , so I suppose I'll have to eat it , but I'm not  entirely happy about it.  As  Joey Tribbiani said , if turkeys weren't so "stupid, ugly... and delicious ", I would consider going vegetarian 

I think I watch  too much Friends 

Banks of the Bann

Quote from: AustinPowers on December 21, 2025, 12:06:56 PMSpeaking of animal cruelty .....

On Thursday, we'll all sit up and feast on  Our turkey and ham Christmas dinner,  curtesy of  a  dead bird and a dead pig.

I have to say, the Phoebe Buffay Christmas greeting line  "happy needless turkey murder day"  has been gnawing at me  this year,  for the first time

But, herself has  the turkey and ham ordered , so I suppose I'll have to eat it , but I'm not  entirely happy about it.  As  Joey Tribbiani said , if turkeys weren't so "stupid, ugly... and delicious ", I would consider going vegetarian

I think I watch  too much Friends

If you can't understand the difference between food and chasing a terrified animal for miles for a sick thrill then that's on you.

Do fox hunters enjoy the suffering? Is that part of it?

AustinPowers

QuoteSpeaking of animal cruelty .....

On Thursday, we'll all sit up and feast on  Our turkey and ham Christmas dinner,  curtesy of  a  dead bird and a dead pig.

I have to say, the Phoebe Buffay Christmas greeting line  "happy needless turkey murder day"  has been gnawing at me  this year,  for the first time

But, herself has  the turkey and ham ordered , so I suppose I'll have to eat it , but I'm not  entirely happy about it.  As  Joey Tribbiani said , if turkeys weren't so "stupid, ugly... and delicious ", I would consider going vegetarian

If you can't understand the difference between food and chasing a terrified animal for miles for a sick thrill then that's on you.

I know the difference, but  turkeys and pigs (and others) are still killed for  us to eat. How? I'm not so sure , gassed,  shot in the head , throats cut... I'm not sure. Maybe that's the problem, that we're so far removed from  the food supply that essentially the word "turkey" or "lamb" is just that. A word. With no connection to  an animal that's been put to death , so just we can eat  it.

They day animals heading to the  abbatoir can smell and sense their impending doom from far off. I've heard it say that if you worked in  in one , and witnessed  this , you'd never eat meat again.

like I said , it's the first year I've  had these thoughts , just thought I'd share.

anyway, back to the topic........

Banks of the Bann

Quote from: AustinPowers on December 21, 2025, 12:35:28 PM

I know the difference, but  turkeys and pigs (and others) are still killed for  us to eat. How? I'm not so sure , gassed,  shot in the head , throats cut... I'm not sure. Maybe that's the problem, that we're so far removed from  the food supply that essentially the word "turkey" or "lamb" is just that. A word. With no connection to  an animal that's been put to death , so just we can eat  it.

They day animals heading to the  abbatoir can smell and sense their impending doom from far off. I've heard it say that if you worked in  in one , and witnessed  this , you'd never eat meat again.

like I said , it's the first year I've  had these thoughts , just thought I'd share.

Fair enough but I don't see anyone at any point doing any of the above for fun or 'great craic'. Nor do I see anyone eating the fox.

As a matter of fact, if any of the workers you mentioned above got any pleasure out of the slaughter of animals, you'd think there was something wrong with them. And you'd be right.

Maybe if the workers wore red jackets, had little horns, chased the pigs and turkeys for miles over fields, dug them out of a hole, had a swig of rum from a hip flask, then cut their throats, it would make it all a bit more agreeable and good fun? That's a question for the Armagh lad not you.

Quote from: Banks of the Bann on December 21, 2025, 01:44:45 PM

I know the difference, but  turkeys and pigs (and others) are still killed for  us to eat. How? I'm not so sure , gassed,  shot in the head , throats cut... I'm not sure. Maybe that's the problem, that we're so far removed from  the food supply that essentially the word "turkey" or "lamb" is just that. A word. With no connection to  an animal that's been put to death , so just we can eat  it.

They day animals heading to the  abbatoir can smell and sense their impending doom from far off. I've heard it say that if you worked in  in one , and witnessed  this , you'd never eat meat again.

like I said , it's the first year I've  had these thoughts , just thought I'd share.

Fair enough but I don't see anyone at any point doing any of the above for fun or 'great craic'. Nor do I see anyone eating the fox.

As a matter of fact, if any of the workers you mentioned above got any pleasure out of the slaughter of animals, you'd think there was something wrong with them. And you'd be right.

Maybe if the workers wore red jackets, had little horns, chased the pigs and turkeys for miles over fields, dug them out of a hole, had a swig of rum from a hip flask, then cut their throats, it would make it all a bit more agreeable and good fun? That's a question for the Armagh lad not you.

Do you really feel fox hunting is any more cruel than the death nature selects for the foxes? A slow, painful death whilst riddled with tumours, lingering on in a state of emaciation burdened with flesh eating parasites, dying of exposure in the corner of an open field or wood or bleeding to death slowly in a state of excruciating pain due to being hit by a car?

Do you expect the foxes not killed during the hunt slip away in their sleep whilst tucked up in a cosy foxhole?

Truthsayer

Quote from: trileacman on December 21, 2025, 02:35:17 PM

Do you really feel fox hunting is any more cruel than the death nature selects for the foxes? A slow, painful death whilst riddled with tumours, lingering on in a state of emaciation burdened with flesh eating parasites, dying of exposure in the corner of an open field or wood or bleeding to death slowly in a state of excruciating pain due to being hit by a car?

Do you expect the foxes not killed during the hunt slip away in their sleep whilst tucked up in a cosy foxhole?
You're so compassionate to Mr Fox saving them from that pain.. get dogs to rip them to pieces instead 😆 🦊

The hunt is a great day out for Brits and West Brits alike. Tally ho chaps.

All the board's worst people support fox hunting. What a shocker.

Banks of the Bann

Quote from: trileacman on December 21, 2025, 02:35:17 PM

None of the above are deliberate acts undertaken for the pleasure and delight of humans of a cruel disposition.