More Thuggery on the GAA field

Started by agorm, January 23, 2012, 06:25:39 PM

More proof, as if it were needed, that Kerry is overstocked with sanctimonious pricks.

Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 26, 2012, 09:39:35 AM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on January 26, 2012, 09:20:52 AM
Cross will love that.
dr crokes have enough to worry about on the field without giving Cross this kind of motivation.

I honestly hope the Cross boys play the football they are capable of and shut these whinging kerry feckers up.

+1 Come on the Rangers!!

Maybe the Kerry fans should be segregated caged at the Cross match. Páidi Ó'Sé might have been right with the whole "animals" thing.

http://www.kerryman.ie/news/gaa-to-probe-attack-on-referee-567497.html

GAA to probe attack on referee

A DARK cloud of violence is hovering over the GAA after loutish Skellig Rangers fans subjected a South Kerry referee to a terrifying ordeal at the weekend. A mob of incensed fans raced onto the pitch following the South Kerry minor championship final which saw Waterville defeat Skellig Rangers by one point.Over 20 fans attacked match referee Michael Curran of Dromid PearsesBy Sinead Kelleher....

....The referee was put through what he described as a 'frightening' ordeal which included being 'kung f*' kicked in the stomach.

....A spokesperson for the South Kerry Board admitted that incidents such as this were becoming more common and that the element of sport is gone is going out of championship matches....

...This is the second incident involving violence against a referee in a week. The referee was also attacked following the East Kerry minor championship semi-final in which Spa defeated Dr Crokes, by a single point. This incident is also being investigated by the East Kerry Board."..

Quote from: orangeman on January 25, 2012, 09:45:41 PM
Dromid upping the ante

Dromid Pearses have revealed a further press release relating to the violent clashes in the All-Ireland Junior Football Championship semi-final between the club and Derrytresk, thanking their supporters and leaving the resolution of the issue in the hands of the CCCC.

Dromid were beaten by Tyrone side Derrytresk 1-10 to 0-7 in Portlaoise, but the game was marred by fights and brawls. As a result of the violence, several Dromid players were injured and a CCCC investigation is pending.

The club has also called for violence at GAA matches to be clamped down upon as a result of the disturbing scenes the club was involved in.

The statement also states in no uncertain terms that Dromid feel the game should have been called off as a result of the melee which followed the final whistle.

THE FULL PRESS RELEASE READS:

"Cumann Peile Piarsaigh na Dromoda would like to thank all those who have supported us through the recent days and wish to advise all media outlets that this will act as our final public statement regarding the events that occurred at last Sundays All Ireland Junior Football Championship Semi-final in O'Moore Park, Portlaoise.

"It is now in the hands of the officials of Croke Park and in the hands of the C.C.C.C. We are issuing this statement in order to prevent any further confusion on the matter and hope this will clarify matters for all concerned, we also trust that a review of the footage of last weekend's game will speak for itself.

"In light of the game that occurred on Sunday last in Portlaoise, we felt that the issue of violence and public scenes of disturbance at GAA fixtures needed to be highlighted and acted upon in an official capacity.

"This incident has left us, our team, management and club as a whole feeling quite disturbed having enjoyed our run throughout this fantastic competition to date, and we are saddened that it culminated in the events of last Sunday.

"However the fact that so many people were placed in danger cannot be left unnoticed.

"Failure to highlight issues such as this to us is no longer an option, Piarsaigh na Dromoda's management and players have put their heart's and soul's into this competition and stand by the fact that we believe that last Sunday's game should have been called off immediately after the incident that occurred on the pitch, that saw many individuals enter the field and partake in the melee that occurred.

"It has taken much courage on behalf of our club to press ahead with this issue, as we feel it is a serious one. Challenges like this can be perceived as "sour grapes" but as our spokesperson has made clear from the outset, this issue has nothing to do with the final score in this game and who has won or lost but chooses instead to emphasise that the likes of last Sundays incident has no place in the GAA and that the safety of players, referee's and spectators is paramount.

"We stand very firmly by the fact that this is not an issue of Kerry versus Tyrone or anything of the kind.

"We wish to make clear that had this occurred with any other team that we would feel the same.

"We have the greatest of respect for Tyrone football and all they have achieved but incidents such as last Sundays [sic] cannot be tolerated by anyone or any team regardless of what county or province they represent.

"Finally to clarify our stance on the issue, we feel that the events of last Sunday should never have occurred and that it has highlighted issues that need to be examined from a health and safety point of view as well as the ramifications that it has on the GAA as an entity.

"However the players, management and supporters of Cumann Peile Piarsaigh na Dromoda are all united in the knowledge that the CCCC will deal with this and assign appropriate punishment to those who instigated events."

This is outrageous. Apostrophe abuse is a cancer in the GAA. Throw them out!

Quote from: Armamike on January 25, 2012, 05:19:26 PM
I was at the ulster semi and final. Those 2 games had men sent off for off the ball stuff. In the ulster semi eire ogs top forward hit out after bou1 min. Spot a theme?
I was at that game as well and the incident happened directly in front of the umpire who called the ref. I was also at the Ulster final, I didn't think the sending of in that game was justified. The goodthing about the athletic grounds though is that the subs can't easily access the pitch. Having attended all Cross's Ulster Championship matches i have to say that the support all club teams received was very passionate. Sitting amongst the Derrytresk people though at the final I did sense a certain tension that could in my opinion have spilled over in the wrong circumstances. Having said that the Monaghan guys were very aggrieved at the end and Gregory Walshe was roundly booed. Although sending of apart I thought he did well.

Quote from: jeepers on January 25, 2012, 06:12:35 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hUmKAV0y6Yg

Thats a slow mo vid posted on youtube. Very clearly the DT guy with the clipboard can be seen kicking out at the DP number 4 who was going down on the ball with his back turned to take the sideline which got everything going.
Having watch this slomo if I was Dromid Pearces I would shut up, it would appear that they instigated the row and threw most of the early punches.

Quote from: Orangemac on January 25, 2012, 10:12:37 PM
Is this the front page of the paper?FFS there must be little happening round Kerry.

I would like to see Derrytresk kicked out purely as a marker has to be laid down by the GAA but the victim card being played in Kerry is unbelievable. It was a great laugh when Tadgh Kennelly crashed the elbow into Nicholas Murphy after 30 seconds of the AI final in 2009 though.
Watch that slomo video, there is nothing in this to warrant DT being expelled from the competition, bans possibly for the subs. I think Dromid have a lot of questions to answer.

jeepers

Quote from: hardstation on January 26, 2012, 10:50:02 AM
Do the Currans of Dromid Pearses bring it on themselves, as Armamike might ask? ::)

No relation whatsoever, sorry to dissapoint

Quote from: ONeill on January 26, 2012, 12:09:28 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 25, 2012, 11:57:11 PM
In fairness from what I can see at the start of this slow-mo version (mute the sound), there wasn't a whole pile done to the number 4.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hUmKAV0y6Yg&feature=player_embedded
Looks like he took a bit of a dive to be honest.
Once he was down he stayed down.
Shag all wrong with him.

Keep an eye on the Dromid No.5 throughout. His involvement escalated something that may have turned out to be nothing.

Ah will you stop, he clatters into clipboard man at 0:07 and 2 seconds later the subs were over the hoardings. Jaysus if they could react that fast they'd be starting.

cicfada

I think Crokes are dead right! If ya met anyone from Cross you would take all available precautions! Christ I remember the night myself and Billys Boots met Broken Crossbar! I never saw two eyes closer together than I saw on BC...and that was through the Balaclava!! Menacing, smelly, no modesty and no sense of humour  either!  The amount of times he told that Cross would never have won anything without him was unbelieveable!!  The good people of Belgooly obviously saw the light and told him to clear off again!! Jaysus when I think of that night and all the Paddy irishman jokes he was coming  out with!!.....Shiver down my backbone when I think about it!!  :D

cicfada

Quote from: cicfada on January 26, 2012, 12:35:54 PM
Cross PRO on newstalk now!!

O'Moore park will be full at this rate of going - all ticket match ??

GAA are loving it.

cicfada

Full of cops segregating the violent fans you mean!

I might go myself now. I;ll bring a hurl, no Crokes or Cross man will know what it is.

Quote from: cicfada on January 26, 2012, 12:44:10 PM
Full of cops segregating the violent fans you mean!

This calls for a joint Garda / PSNI operation.

Cross fans will be forced to have a police escort into the ground and made to walk in chain gangs.

After the match the Kerry fans will be let out of the ground first and the Cross fans will have to stay until Tuesday afternoon.