Quote from: Banks of the Bann on December 12, 2024, 03:29:46 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on December 12, 2024, 03:10:35 PM
Quote from: Banks of the Bann on December 12, 2024, 02:45:28 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on December 12, 2024, 02:39:48 PM
Quote from: Banks of the Bann on December 12, 2024, 02:24:17 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 12, 2024, 02:16:27 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on December 12, 2024, 01:46:04 PM
Quote from: SaffronSports on December 12, 2024, 01:40:40 PMUltimately people celebrated the capture downfall of Saddam, Gaddafi and others. They believed their troubles were over. It would be great if the future was bright for the region but the reality is the history tells us it will get worse before it gets better, if it ever does. Even people here wouldn't have far to look for misguided joy. Were a lot of catholics not delighted at the arrival of the Brits thinking they were there to save them from the loyalist hate mobs burning them out and attacking them. Didn't work out did it.

Exactly that.

Assad was/is a tyrant, no question, but don't be fanboying these ISIS lads either.

I'm not sure anyone in here has 'fanboy'd' this crowd though.

They aren't ISIS either.

Dancing on the head of a pin. What are the noticeable differences we should be looking out for in the "moderates" in Al Qa'ida" that ISIS wouldn't be?

So, are HTS a proscribed terrorist organisation by the US, United Nations, UK or not?

https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/proscribed-terror-groups-or-organisations--2/proscribed-terrorist-groups-or-organisations-accessible-version

Al Qa'ida (AQ) - Proscribed March 2001
Inspired and led by Usama Bin Laden, its aims are the expulsion of Western forces from Saudi Arabia, the destruction of Israel and the end of Western influence in the Muslim world.

The government laid Orders, in July 2013 December 2016 and May 2017, which provided that the "al-Nusrah Front (ANF)", "Jabhat al-Nusrah li-ahl al Sham", "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" and "Hay'at Tahrir al-Sham" should be treated as alternative names for the organisation which is already proscribed under the name Al Qa'ida.

It's not dancing on the head of a pin. They aren't ISIS, nor Al Qaeda for that matter. You want them to be and obviously can't wait for the carnage to begin so you can say I told you so.

The rest of us are, like the Syrians, hopeful that they will act out their rhetoric of what they want for Syria.

So, you reckon the UK Foreign Office and intelligence services have gotten it all wrong about HTS?

I'm only quoting them.

I don't want them to be what they are, I really do want them to ride off into the sunset and let the Syrians decide for themselves who governs them and what way they want to be governed, but that would be a first for any regime change in that area.

We all live in hope.

It's been widely reported and you will have heard it that they split from AQ and severed ties in 2016/17.

Yet the US still has a $10M bounty on yer man's head and the UK failed to update their terrorists list!

Time will tell, but if I was a moderate Syrian I wouldn't be breaking out on the alcohol just yet.

Quote from: north_antrim_hound on December 12, 2024, 04:41:32 PMThe UK foreign office has no problem backing the biggest terrorist (Isreal) in the Middle East in their quest for extermination of the Palestinians. If it suits their agenda they will and probably behind doors are backing the HTS. Do people realise with the fall of the Assad regime the axis of resistance is now split. How does Iran get weapons to hezbollah or Hamas now. The fact this kicked off at the exact same time as the ceasefire stinks of collusion

Oh, it's collusion alright, and Ergodan has been done up like a kipper and for all his empty rhetoric will do nothing to curb the Israeli land grab, but he'll be making mincemeat out of the Kurds.

Quote from: johnnycool on December 12, 2024, 03:10:35 PM
Quote from: Banks of the Bann on December 12, 2024, 02:45:28 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on December 12, 2024, 02:39:48 PM
Quote from: Banks of the Bann on December 12, 2024, 02:24:17 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 12, 2024, 02:16:27 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on December 12, 2024, 01:46:04 PM
Quote from: SaffronSports on December 12, 2024, 01:40:40 PMUltimately people celebrated the capture downfall of Saddam, Gaddafi and others. They believed their troubles were over. It would be great if the future was bright for the region but the reality is the history tells us it will get worse before it gets better, if it ever does. Even people here wouldn't have far to look for misguided joy. Were a lot of catholics not delighted at the arrival of the Brits thinking they were there to save them from the loyalist hate mobs burning them out and attacking them. Didn't work out did it.

Exactly that.

Assad was/is a tyrant, no question, but don't be fanboying these ISIS lads either.

I'm not sure anyone in here has 'fanboy'd' this crowd though.

They aren't ISIS either.

Dancing on the head of a pin. What are the noticeable differences we should be looking out for in the "moderates" in Al Qa'ida" that ISIS wouldn't be?

So, are HTS a proscribed terrorist organisation by the US, United Nations, UK or not?

https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/proscribed-terror-groups-or-organisations--2/proscribed-terrorist-groups-or-organisations-accessible-version

Al Qa'ida (AQ) - Proscribed March 2001
Inspired and led by Usama Bin Laden, its aims are the expulsion of Western forces from Saudi Arabia, the destruction of Israel and the end of Western influence in the Muslim world.

The government laid Orders, in July 2013 December 2016 and May 2017, which provided that the "al-Nusrah Front (ANF)", "Jabhat al-Nusrah li-ahl al Sham", "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" and "Hay'at Tahrir al-Sham" should be treated as alternative names for the organisation which is already proscribed under the name Al Qa'ida.

It's not dancing on the head of a pin. They aren't ISIS, nor Al Qaeda for that matter. You want them to be and obviously can't wait for the carnage to begin so you can say I told you so.

The rest of us are, like the Syrians, hopeful that they will act out their rhetoric of what they want for Syria.

So, you reckon the UK Foreign Office and intelligence services have gotten it all wrong about HTS?

I'm only quoting them.

I don't want them to be what they are, I really do want them to ride off into the sunset and let the Syrians decide for themselves who governs them and what way they want to be governed, but that would be a first for any regime change in that area.

We all live in hope.

Wouldn't be like them....

In fairness they'll have got their money and guns from the yanks/brits anyway.

It would be lovely to think those behind the new Syrian regime were concerned about ordinary Syrians.

Unfortunately it's all to do with expanding and protecting the Zionist GroßIsrael project.

PS for the avoidance of doubt, Assad was a total cnut and is no loss.

No danger of the Yanks removing the other dictators/islamist cnuts who rule Kuwait, Bahrain, Abu Dhabi, Saudi Arabia etc etc, who treat women worse than dogs etc.
But they're pro Yank cnuts... 
2026 the year of the 9 Cups

Quote from: Rossfan on December 12, 2024, 05:42:25 PMIt would be lovely to think those behind the new Syrian regime were concerned about ordinary Syrians.

Unfortunately it's all to do with expanding and protecting the Zionist GroßIsrael project.

PS for the avoidance of doubt, Assad was a total cnut and is no loss.

No danger of the Yanks removing the other dictators/islamist cnuts who rule Kuwait, Bahrain, Abu Dhabi, Saudi Arabia etc etc, who treat women worse than dogs etc.

Hard to argue with that.

Although is Abu Dhabi not fairly westernised? Maybe not.

So is every prisoner just getting let out?? Surely that won't go too well.

Quote from: theskull1 on December 12, 2024, 08:24:13 AMWas the efforts to get rid of Assad an organic revolt of Syrian people or was it a Western heavily funded regime change operation?

You know it was the latter don't you? It's mission accomplished for the US Israel and Turkey (all under they eyes of NATO) . 'Hope' all youse want now that Assad is out. Syria is fcuked and Israel is the main benefactor. Excuse me for not joining in the celebrations.

Get with the the program Skull.
Scott Ritter the deranged Kremlinist, leading useful idiot, says it just happened, there was no plan.

claims in a you tube interview

convenient the United States played a role, turkey played a role, Israel played a role, but here's my take on this nobody
6:32
expected this to happen and the reason why I can tell you I believe that is the chaos there is no orderly transition
6:40
there is no identified government um jolani came in because HTS started was
6:46
supposed to be a limited attack in the U in the idlib area basically to to
6:51
capture some highways that the Syrian government together with the Russians had taken from them back in
6:57
2020 to recapture those and and solidify their position and as they pushed in the
7:04
Syrian Army evaporated so they kept pushing and the Syrian Army evaporated
7:09
they went into Aleppo the Syrian Army evaporated so HTS just said keep going.
and they kept going and there was not any resistance and then behind them the Syrian National Army was sitting there
7:21
they weren't part of this original offensive and sudden they go hey guys we got to get jened up and let's get going
7:26
everything that's happened since then is reactive in nature it's not got part of a proactive plan carefully coordinated

Apparantly  Scott is regarded as (an atheist version of) a Godlike figure among the Kremlin horde of useful idiots, you should take heed Skull.

At the very least, the sudden  deportation of Assad  to a growingly overcrowded Despot Strasse in Moscow, is of a prison breakout/release of gigantic proportions, the release of the bedraggled surviving remnants of 10s of thousands who were tortured and murdered in Assad's jails, on the most petty of charges.

This was a tremendous humiliation for Russia and as per usual in such circumstances of great humiliation, the coward Putin is silently sulking in some dungeon or other. The Russian milbloggers are furious with the Kremlin, not brave or foolhardy enough to be critical of Putin. But as is the way with Russian braggarts, they get drunk, they incessantly moan out loud,  they beat up their long suffering spouses and after a week or so find something else to drunkenly moan about, then beat their spouse yet again.

There is no escape from the shattering of Russia as a force in the Middle East.

Quote from: Rossfan on December 12, 2024, 05:42:25 PMNo danger of the Yanks removing the other dictators/islamist cnuts who rule Kuwait, Bahrain, Abu Dhabi, Saudi Arabia etc etc, who treat women worse than dogs etc.

You think the US should remove the rulers in Kuwait, Bahrain, Abu Dhabi and Saudi?

If they want democracy, fair elections, human rights for women,equality for all religions....

Quote from: Rossfan on December 12, 2024, 11:37:54 PMIf they want democracy, fair elections, human rights for women,equality for all religions....

And what do you want? Would you support Western intervention In deposing those regimes?

Banks of the Bann

Scott Ritter.

Time was being a twice convicted sex offender and masturbating online while chatting to an FBI agent (posing as a 15 year old child) would have ended any sort of career in political punditry.

But then there's nothing like the old pro-Kremlin, pro-Assad online propagandist grifting circuit to breathe a bit of life into a failing career. They don't mind scraping the barrel so long as he's on script.

Anyway here is Scott with one of his many famous military predictions. This is from 3rd December. It's only 2.30 long so worth a listen.

https://x.com/jamesllandis/status/1865989400091607211?s=46

It's going to be ok lads.  America are meeting arab leader in Jordan to sort things out.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/world/2024/12/14/israel-syria-war-news-hamas-gaza-palestine/

That's reassuring.

Has there ever been a more useless eejit than Blinken?
(6 Cos Secs of State excluded)

Quote from: Rossfan on December 14, 2024, 01:20:07 PMHas there ever been a more useless eejit than Blinken?
(6 Cos Secs of State excluded)
His boss.

Nobody predicted that the regime would collapse. Russia was blindsided.
Israel said it was a disaster. Turkey  is afraid of Kurds getting uppity. Nobody knows what will happen

Banks of the Bann

What will the Arabs do now?

https://x.com/georgegalloway/status/1867902358312681883?s=46

George abandons Arabia to the rice eating Chinamen and is off to pastures new - probably going to focus on licking Putin's boots full time now.