Syria

Started by Trout, June 10, 2011, 09:56:11 PM

Quote from: theskull1 on December 11, 2024, 04:28:53 PMDoes anyone else have a cyberstalker on this board?

I'd encourage everyone else to watch it and then check yourself to see if what they discuss holds any water?

That video is quite bizarre. Loads of raving about Trotskyites and neo liberalism. I don't have the time to watch it all but what really is the point they're trying to make? There's this really strange video in the middle where Assad talks about gay rights and its origin in the 70s. WTF is that all about? Sure he lives in a country where Islam rules and homosexuality is illegal. Why does he give a damn about the neoliberal attitude to homosexuals?

I didn't see anything there that holds water, just a scattergun approach throwing out enough shit and hoping something sticks.

Then there's all this shite about Trotsky taking control of the Republican Party. Do you really believe this stuff skull?

My two cents on Syria.

Initial thoughts is that I'm quite hopeful this will be an end to the bloodshed and not the beginning of more as the majority of commentators seem to be suggesting. There's 3 reasons I have for this.

HTS are trying to give the impression that they are not an extremist group. Probably in an effort to garner some level of acceptance overseas which will bolster their economic links and in the medium term strengthen their position as leaders of the Syrian government.

Secondly there seems not to be large reprisals or extensive violence directed at the previous regime. They seem to have treated the reigning PM with a level of respect, at least until he hands over control of the government to them. This would suggest HTS are trying to draw a line under the civil war and settle down tensions again most likely so that they can take control of the state.

Thirdly HTS appears to have created quite a broad coalition to overthrow Assad, certainly they bought off or won over elements of Assad's army. They also look to have, at the very least, won a tactile approval from the Kurdish militias and the Turkish supported militias. It does not seem that these groups are using the overthrow to seek secession, or more power or undermine the regime change.

Lastly it's quite odd, given all the ire most European media outlets direct at Donald Trump and his administration, to see so many commentators pretty much back the new Trumpian American foreign policy. The generally accepted view seems to be that the west should not get involved in either supporting or opposing this new regime. The era of liberal interventionism is dead and welcomed across the American/Western political spectrum.

Personally i think the new isolationism policy is gonna be wrong this time. I would support the new HTS regime in Syria if only to a) build up Syrian infrastructure again and b) stabilise the political landscape. The West could easily supply a monthly line of credit to Syria on the sole condition that there is no more violence. To do nothing is to ensure Syria becomes a regional puppet. To ask for anything more is to once again impose Western ideals on a people who resent the cultural interference.

Banks of the Bann

Quote from: trileacman on December 11, 2024, 07:12:10 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on December 11, 2024, 04:28:53 PMDoes anyone else have a cyberstalker on this board?

I'd encourage everyone else to watch it and then check yourself to see if what they discuss holds any water?

That video is quite bizarre. Loads of raving about Trotskyites and neo liberalism. I don't have the time to watch it all but what really is the point they're trying to make? There's this really strange video in the middle where Assad talks about gay rights and its origin in the 70s. WTF is that all about? Sure he lives in a country where Islam rules and homosexuality is illegal. Why does he give a damn about the neoliberal attitude to homosexuals?

I didn't see anything there that holds water, just a scattergun approach throwing out enough shit and hoping something sticks.

Then there's all this shite about Trotsky taking control of the Republican Party. Do you really believe this stuff skull?

Good luck getting an answer to your questions.

What you 100% will get is an invitation to watch more or less the same thing again in a few weeks time.

Banks of the Bann

Quote from: trileacman on December 11, 2024, 07:42:10 PMMy two cents on Syria.

Initial thoughts is that I'm quite hopeful this will be an end to the bloodshed and not the beginning of more as the majority of commentators seem to be suggesting. There's 3 reasons I have for this.

HTS are trying to give the impression that they are not an extremist group. Probably in an effort to garner some level of acceptance overseas which will bolster their economic links and in the medium term strengthen their position as leaders of the Syrian government.

Secondly there seems not to be large reprisals or extensive violence directed at the previous regime. They seem to have treated the reigning PM with a level of respect, at least until he hands over control of the government to them. This would suggest HTS are trying to draw a line under the civil war and settle down tensions again most likely so that they can take control of the state.

Thirdly HTS appears to have created quite a broad coalition to overthrow Assad, certainly they bought off or won over elements of Assad's army. They also look to have, at the very least, won a tactile approval from the Kurdish militias and the Turkish supported militias. It does not seem that these groups are using the overthrow to seek secession, or more power or undermine the regime change.

Lastly it's quite odd, given all the ire most European media outlets direct at Donald Trump and his administration, to see so many commentators pretty much back the new Trumpian American foreign policy. The generally accepted view seems to be that the west should not get involved in either supporting or opposing this new regime. The era of liberal interventionism is dead and welcomed across the American/Western political spectrum.

Personally i think the new isolationism policy is gonna be wrong this time. I would support the new HTS regime in Syria if only to a) build up Syrian infrastructure again and b) stabilise the political landscape. The West could easily supply a monthly line of credit to Syria on the sole condition that there is no more violence. To do nothing is to ensure Syria becomes a regional puppet. To ask for anything more is to once again impose Western ideals on a people who resent the cultural interference.

Well thought out points. I'm remaining hopeful too.

Israel have launched more than 300 airstrikes since big bad Assad fled while creeping further and further into Syrian territory... the territory which has now been taken over by Jihadists who have no beef with Israel.

Ruthless as per normal by Israel, not very surprising and makes political and military sense for them to do what they are doing. They can do whatever they like anyway.

Quote from: theskull1 on December 11, 2024, 08:36:59 PMIsrael have launched more than 300 airstrikes since big bad Assad fled while creeping further and further into Syrian territory... the territory which has now been taken over by Jihadists who have no beef with Israel.

Sarcasm?

Banks of the Bann

Quote from: Eamonnca1 on December 12, 2024, 12:24:34 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on December 11, 2024, 08:36:59 PMIsrael have launched more than 300 airstrikes since big bad Assad fled while creeping further and further into Syrian territory... the territory which has now been taken over by Jihadists who have no beef with Israel.

Sarcasm?

Some humanitarians on this board have an amazing ability to be moved to tears and rage and anger when a murdering thug slaughters defenceless men, women and children in one place yet remain completely indifferent and uncaring and perhaps even offer excuses when a different murdering thug (with the help of another murdering thug) slaughters defenceless men, women and children a few hundred kilometres away (including men, women and children from the first group of people they proclaim to care so much about).

Was the efforts to get rid of Assad an organic revolt of Syrian people or was it a Western heavily funded regime change operation?

You know it was the latter don't you? It's mission accomplished for the US Israel and Turkey (all under they eyes of NATO) . 'Hope' all youse want now that Assad is out. Syria is fcuked and Israel is the main benefactor. Excuse me for not joining in the celebrations.

Banks of the Bann

Quote from: theskull1 on December 12, 2024, 08:24:13 AMWas the efforts to get rid of Assad an organic revolt of Syrian people or was it a Western heavily funded regime change operation?

You know it was the latter don't you? It's mission accomplished for the US Israel and Turkey (all under they eyes of NATO) . 'Hope' all youse want now that Assad is out. Syria is fcuked and Israel is the main benefactor. Excuse me for not joining in the celebrations.

The whole of Syria is rejoicing but the board humanitarian won't be joining in the celebrations.

Can't even bring himself to criticise a mass murderer. Utterly shameful.

Everything you think you 'know' you got from Max and Aaron so you know f**k all.

If Gaza was a city in Syria and those were Russian bombs landing on them you'd turn a blind eye and shrug your shoulders to that too.

There's plenty of video's around of HTS/ISIS/Al Qaeda committing summary executions in Syria if you look beyond the normal mainstream media.

Assad going has the potential for being a good day for Syrians but what makes you lads think this hotch both of Jihadi's that have taken over are going to be any better?

Also,
  Ergodan is going to reap what he has sown and the Israelis do what they do best, a quick land grab, blow the shít out of the place with their US bombs and planes so he's some set on him to complain about the Israelis now.

Look whatever the motive was (as we all know) just say Assad was a mass murderer, torture and leave it at that..

The mental gymnastics at not saying it is a bit embarrassing

Now this regime in now, like new regimes in any country when it's over thrown will carry out atrocities, there will be blood letting, they'll do that themselves. Of course their handlers/suppliers/intelligence will try and get a foothold in there but that won't happen.

That's been the case in hundreds of countries, thanks for the help, but you can f**k off now
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Banks of the Bann

Quote from: johnnycool on December 12, 2024, 09:28:05 AM

There's plenty of video's around of HTS/ISIS/Al Qaeda committing summary executions in Syria if you look beyond the normal mainstream media.

Assad going has the potential for being a good day for Syrians but what makes you lads think this hotch both of Jihadi's that have taken over are going to be any better?

Also,
  Ergodan is going to reap what he has sown and the Israelis do what they do best, a quick land grab, blow the shít out of the place with their US bombs and planes so he's some set on him to complain about the Israelis now.

HTS are not ISIS and they are not Al-Qaeda despite their origins.

Assad was so bad Syrians are ecstatic even to have the 'potential' for a better future. The pro-strongman dictatorship fanboys in the west begrudge them even that.

The fanboys miss Assad already, even though for some reason Israel only feel the need to destroy his military capability after he is gone.

Quote from: Banks of the Bann on December 12, 2024, 10:02:26 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on December 12, 2024, 09:28:05 AM

Also,

HTS are not ISIS and they are not Al-Qaeda despite their origins.

Assad was so bad Syrians are ecstatic even to have the 'potential' for a better future. The pro-strongman dictatorship fanboys in the west begrudge them even that.

The fanboys miss Assad already, even though for some reason Israel only feel the need to destroy his military capability after he is gone.

Hopefully not but sure we will see.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 12, 2024, 09:48:24 AMThe mental gymnastics at not saying it is a bit embarrassing

Oh the hypocrisy .... we've watched you defend terrible refereeing for years : ;D

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 12, 2024, 09:48:24 AMLook whatever the motive was (as we all know) just say Assad was a mass murderer, torture and leave it at that..

Now this regime in now, like new regimes in any country when it's over thrown will carry out atrocities, there will be blood letting, they'll do that themselves. Of course their handlers/suppliers/intelligence will try and get a foothold in there but that won't happen.

That's been the case in hundreds of countries, thanks for the help, but you can f**k off now

Look .... I'm just not allowing others to corner me with low IQ gothca questions. I'm explaining my concerns now that the Syria has fallen. The West has fcked that region up by forcing a regime change as we'll see in the years to come (when you look at how they split the kurdist region across 4 countries after WW1 you'd question if they ever want peace in that region ... divide and conquer is always the way). It suits the west (the bankers) to do perpetual wars as they gain control of more and more resources ... there's no money in peace. You don't need to be Assadist to makes these points. Israel and the banks are the winner here.