explosion in omagh

Started by randomtask, April 02, 2011, 05:20:05 PM

Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 06, 2011, 10:55:46 PM
Just home and watched the funeral. A real sense of this backfiring on the dissidents.

True, for once the word 'watershed' may be justified.

http://spailpin.blogspot.com/2011/04/gaa-and-need-to-honour-constable-ronan.html
An Spailpín was struck by the tremendous dignity of Constable Ronan Kerr's mother as she spoke to the media in the aftermath of his murder in a car bomb. Let his death not be in vain, she said.

And she was right. Such a grim reminder of the past shouldn't be filed as just one of those things. An acceptable level of violence, as Reggie Maulding once put it.

So maybe it's an opportunity for the biggest national organisation on the island to make a gesture, and say we are all Irish people of equal stature, irrespective of code or creed, Catholic, Protestant or Dissenter.

Wouldn't it be great if the GAA were to organise a challenge match between the PSNI and either a Garda selection or a GAA all-star selection? The Garda team is the obvious comparator, but the Guards will have a better pick and having the PSNI boys hammered won't make anyone feel better.

So how either a GAA All-Star team of veterans whose age would have drawn some of their sting to give the PSNI a game, or else appoint some GAA players policemen for a day, and let them line out on the PSNI side to even things up a bit?

Whatever. The details don't really matter. What does matter is if the game were on. And not on some back pitch in Belfast. A full house day in the summer – maybe one of the August Bank Holiday weekend games, a day out for the PSNI with all the trimmings? President, dignitaries, the Artane Band, the works.

The game would show that everyone on the island is a Gael, irrespective of who they are, what they do for a living, where they live or whether they prefer their spuds waxy or floury. It would say that none of that matters. That we have drawn a line under history, and old disputes and old squabbles that aren't worth any mother's tears.

That a man or woman who wants to be policemen and maybe buy a house and meet a nice nurse some night in Coppers and set up a house and family and raise their children to be good and honest people should be allowed to do that. It really doesn't seem like much to ask.

I saw something on Sunday about a visit to Croke Park by Queen Elizabeth of England. I didn't like it. I would like to see a PSNI team play and made a fuss over in Croke Park first. It would mean that we are able to look after our own affairs on the island, and that we recognize neither border nor boundary between Irish people. The Queen's visit isn't necessary. Celebrating our brothers and sisters in the PSNI as the island tries to repair the hurt of centuries is.

God have mercy on Constable Kerr. I hope a PSNI team can play in Croke Park this summer so we can celebrate his life and what he tried to achieve.

If nothing else i would really hope that this lads murder will be a watershed as Tony Baloney said.
Some of the more regular posters on this site are very very quite on this thread for some reason.

Should list the posters who would normally post on things relating to such happenings, this would maybe (along with a poll) gauge feelings on this board
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Just home and watched the funeral. A real sense of this backfiring on the dissidents.

Would love to think so but I doubt it.

Ulick

Quote from: HiMucker on April 06, 2011, 05:48:41 PM
Quote from: Ulick on April 06, 2011, 02:08:50 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on April 05, 2011, 05:52:24 PM
Are there IRA prisoners?  I thought the GFA meant that IRA prisoners were released? 

Are these collections for prisoners who were incarserated after the GFA and after peace?

Please don't give them any money.

A couple of points. There a quite a number of republican prisoners at  the moment who are being held on long term remand i.e. they haven't been convicted of anything. Others have had their licence revoked unfairly and others who are just being plain victimised:

http://www.organizedrage.com/2011/03/tribulations-of-brendan-lillis.html

http://www.releasemartincorey.com/

http://www.freegerry.com/

All of these people have families who have lost the main breadwinner through no fault of their own. I for one have made donations and reserve the right to do so in future for whomever I see fit.
Ulick, just a question, so dont crack up with me. But would you condem the murder of young Ronan Kerr as a completely unacceptablle attack against the people of this island?

Yes, unreservedly and without hesitation.

Quote from: Gaffer on April 06, 2011, 11:31:44 PM

Unfortunately I doubt it too. Dont think they're remotely bothered about bad PR. Total scum that they are. RIP Ronan Kerr. Heart goes out to his poor family.

Abble

Quote from: ross matt on April 07, 2011, 01:03:29 AM

Unfortunately I doubt it too. Dont think they're remotely bothered about bad PR. Total scum that they are. RIP Ronan Kerr. Heart goes out to his poor family.

yes this is what we momentarily might think after such an event, but the sad reality is, if the omagh bomb couldnt help with a backfire effect then probably nothing ever will.

Quote from: ross matt on April 07, 2011, 01:03:29 AM

I'm sorry to be pessimistic, but I agree.  That's not to say that the reaction to Ronan's death is insignificant. The public burying of the hatchet between traditional antagonists and the eloquence of the symbolism at his funeral may well constitute the proverbial watershed in community relations.

Some moving words from the funeral from what I heard on the Radio yesterday.  But I also heard Gerry Kelly on condeming the killing and violence in general, and how the pictures of the devastation caused should send some kind of message to the killers.  If you are going to get someone from your party to speak in such matters, surely he is not the man.

HiMucker

Quote from: Abble on April 07, 2011, 07:53:33 AM
yes this is what we momentarily might think after such an event, but the sad reality is, if the omagh bomb couldnt help with a backfire effect then probably nothing ever will.
Thats what i was thinking.  If the outrage of them killing all those people 9 of which were children and one was a pregnant mother with un born twins has not deterred them what will?  But having said that, watching the aftermath on the TV and reading in the papers, it does have a very watershed and symbolic feel to it.  I just wonder does the idiots even consider this.
On a separate tangent, does anyone else think that Peter Robinson seems much more human and approachable since the scandal about his wife.  Doesnt seem as cold in the face anymore

It looks like the 50k reward is bringing forth info ... second man, a 40 yr old,  arrested this morning along the road from Omagh to Ballygawley.

Quote from: nrico2006 on April 07, 2011, 09:03:23 AM
Some moving words from the funeral from what I heard on the Radio yesterday.  But I also heard Gerry Kelly on condeming the killing and violence in general, and how the pictures of the devastation caused should send some kind of message to the killers.  If you are going to get someone from your party to speak in such matters, surely he is not the man.
Why?

Banana Man

very poignant watching the PSNI handing over the coffin to mickey harte and brian dooher yesterday, listening to the news last night and Ronan's brother reading the poem and breaking down was heartbreaking stuff.

On another note, mickey harte called to the family home for the wake, if it's possible this man grows even further in my estimation with his humanity and selflessness.

Is it right this 26yr old chap is a former member of the Royal Irish Regiment?  ???

paco

Quote from: sammymaguire on April 07, 2011, 09:53:23 AM
Is it right this 26yr old chap is a former member of the Royal Irish Regiment?  ???

I may be wrong, but I think that was a different arrest that was made yesterday and wasn't linked to this killing, because they released a name. Someone on here mentioned the possibility of the dissidents having infiltrated the PSNI, and on the news they said that this man had a PSNI uniform in his possession.