six county elections 05/05/2011

Started by rossie mad, March 23, 2011, 10:38:13 AM

Quote from: Minder on May 05, 2011, 08:52:59 PM
Having the Shinners at my door every couple of hours to get my wife to vote, as she hasnt voted yet, is a pain in the hole.

Hate those feckers that take one-woman-one-vote for granted  ;)

The DUP's Jim Wells is in hospital tonight, as one of his election posters fell on him tonight and broke his collar bone.

Quote from: EC Unique on May 05, 2011, 07:13:09 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 05, 2011, 06:57:16 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on May 05, 2011, 06:45:41 PM
What is the craic with the alternative vote. I did not have a clue what to do there? Have not read this thread so maybe already discussed?
If you look at the party positions, i'd imagine you'd vote 'Yes'.

Labour, Lib Dems, SDLP, SF - Yes
Tories, DUP, UUP - No

I indeed placed an x beside yes. A lucky guess.  :D

Jesus wept. Endlessly.

Quote from: ziggysego on May 06, 2011, 01:24:41 AM
The DUP's Jim Wells is in hospital tonight, as one of his election posters fell on him tonight and broke his collar bone.

Wells Republican Cargo no doubt!

Quote from: ziggysego on May 06, 2011, 01:24:41 AM

He'll have to shoulder the blame for that himself.

spiritof91and94

He will probably claim of drd now.
HSE will hardly get involved?

Quote from: Rois on May 06, 2011, 12:16:07 AM
Went into it with an open mind, as I said I would, but still the Unionists didn't come near me.  However, kinda glad about that as Nelson is standing in my constituency and would have found it hard...

Had a massive debate/argument in work about AV.  Not sure it'll get through.  Voted yes anyway.
WTF are (assuming) Irish people Northern or Southern arguing about the merits of AV for when we've all been brought up on full blown PR? ???  The only trouble with AV is that it doesn't go far enough - it's a bit of a cop-out.

Quote from: bennydorano on May 06, 2011, 10:39:19 AM
Quote from: Rois on May 06, 2011, 12:16:07 AM
Went into it with an open mind, as I said I would, but still the Unionists didn't come near me.  However, kinda glad about that as Nelson is standing in my constituency and would have found it hard...

Had a massive debate/argument in work about AV.  Not sure it'll get through.  Voted yes anyway.
WTF are (assuming) Irish people Northern or Southern arguing about the merits of AV for when we've all been brought up on full blown PR? ???  The only trouble with AV is that it doesn't go far enough - it's a bit of a cop-out.

That was actually one of the points made by the guy I was arguing with - it was an acceptable solution for both Conservatives and Lib Dems but didn't go far enough for the Lib Dems, and his view was that this, and any other compromise decision made by a coalition, is not the best solution as it will never fully achieve one side's aims.  I gave up when he said that about compromises.     

Ulick

Early tallies have SF doing very well in Upper Bann and East Antrim. TUV don't seem to be doing well so I suspect SF could add one to their existing seat in Upper Bann with the SDLPs Dolores Kelly in a dogfight for the last. Three nationalist seats in Upper Bann and one in the unionist heartland of East Antrim would be a tremendous result.

Does East Antrim not now include a lot of the Glens. I would have thought a nationalist seat there would be very doable in this situation.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

There's a Nationalist seat now due to boundary changes. Probably SF's if they stay ahead of SDLP.

Ulick

Quote from: armaghniac on May 06, 2011, 12:20:49 PM
Does East Antrim not now include a lot of the Glens. I would have thought a nationalist seat there would be very doable in this situation.

There are new boundaries which will help but last year SF & SDLP were on 6.8% & 6.5% respectively. So there could just about be a nationalist quota but will depend on one transferring completely to the other - which is unlikely at this stage (IMO).

Quotedepend on one transferring completely to the other - which is unlikely at this stage (IMO).

So if there is not seat it is the fault of those who do not transfer.
Not filling out your ballot is almost as bad as not voting.

Ulick

I'm not saying it would be anyone's fault, just that there is always leakage even in the most well managed vote between party colleagues, so when the margins are so thin as here it would make it even more unlikely when depending transfers from another party. Still very early days, it's numerically possible, so I'm hopeful.

Not a good day for the UUP, I would have thought. Alliance to pick up a seat or two from them, and the DUP likewise.