FG
LAB
SF
Others
Greens
Not going to Vote

Quote from: ross4life on January 23, 2011, 05:40:00 PM
Talk in the papers that SF could get in with Labour but who would be the leader as Gerry Adams can't be?

Gilmore would probably have to do a Trevor Sargent, he has said no to this already. I'm pretty sure he said as recently as yesterday I think that the only party he would not go into power with was S.F.

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 23, 2011, 05:38:26 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 23, 2011, 05:32:06 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 23, 2011, 05:26:28 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 23, 2011, 05:25:09 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 23, 2011, 05:15:06 PM
Am I right in saying Cowen is the first Fianna Fáil member to lead a single party government since Charles Haughey!

He is no longer the leader of that party though.

But he is a member  ;D

I see what you mean, he leads the government, not the party, yes!

Does anyone know if Mary Hanifin is the defacto leader of Fianna Fáil, is she F.F.'s Kevin Keegan?

God I hope. She would be final nail.

She showed herself to be a terrible ditherer last week so sadly she hasn't a prayer.

Its Martin's to lose.

Quote from: muppet on January 23, 2011, 05:43:57 PM
Am I right in saying Cowen is the first Fianna Fáil member to lead a single party government since Charles Haughey!

But he is a member  ;D

Does anyone know if Mary Hanifin is the defacto leader of Fianna Fáil, is she F.F.'s Kevin Keegan?

She showed herself to be a terrible ditherer last week so sadly she hasn't a prayer.

Its Martin's to lose.

Is it possible she might get a female voter boost? She is awful but you can never figure what motivates people.

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 23, 2011, 05:43:12 PM
Talk in the papers that SF could get in with Labour but who would be the leader as Gerry Adams can't be?

Gilmore would probably have to do a Trevor Sargent, he has said no to this already. I'm pretty sure he said as recently as yesterday I think that the only party he would not go into power with was S.F.

There does be a lot of that auld talk before an election but you'd be amazed what would happen if the numbers added up.

Quote from: mylestheslasher on January 23, 2011, 05:47:11 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 23, 2011, 05:43:12 PM

There does be a lot of that auld talk before an election but you'd be amazed what would happen if the numbers added up.

Ya the Green Party, circa 2007.

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 23, 2011, 05:46:58 PM

But he is a member  ;D

Its Martin's to lose.

Is it possible she might get a female voter boost? She is awful but you can never figure what motivates people.

What female voter boost? This will be a vote of the Fianna Fail parliamentary party.

If you are talking about the GE her seat is considered very vulnerable.

Quote from: muppet on January 23, 2011, 05:53:33 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 23, 2011, 05:46:58 PM

But he is a member  ;D

Its Martin's to lose.

What female voter boost? This will be a vote of the Fianna Fail parliamentary party.

If you are talking about the GE her seat is considered very vulnerable.

I suppose your right, and sorry ya I had switched to the GE there. Also a female boost would only happen if she had a hope of becoming Taoiseach, but thats not going to happen.

Ulick

FG cosying up to the Greens already?

Quote from: Ulick on January 23, 2011, 06:13:57 PM
FG cosying up to the Greens already?

You talking about the Finance Bill Ulick? Labour have said the same. Also what use will the Greens be after the G.E. How many seats do ya reckon they will manage?

I see Adams was interviewed by RTE in the midst of a derelict back alley?

Just how many Labour td's were able to fit into the one camera frame, 10?

All parties are united on the Finance Bill except for Sinn Fein.
Really, what's the difference between FG/FF/Lab?  a % point on the interest rates?

Ulick

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 23, 2011, 06:21:40 PM
You talking about the Finance Bill Ulick? Labour have said the same. Also what use will the Greens be after the G.E. How many seats do ya reckon they will manage?

The Greens and FG held talks with each other before the Greens announced they were withdrawing.

Quote from: Ulick on January 23, 2011, 06:27:09 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 23, 2011, 06:21:40 PM

The Greens and FG held talks with each other before the Greens announced they were withdrawing.

Is that not just Fine Gael showing leadership and taking Fianna Fáil out of the equation. Its about time that F.F. where bypassed as they are the past and a barrier to Irish democracy and economic survival.

Ulick

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 23, 2011, 06:37:13 PM
Is that not just Fine Gael showing leadership and taking Fianna Fáil out of the equation. Its about time that F.F. where bypassed as they are the past and a barrier to Irish democracy and economic survival.

Maybe but now is not the time for back-room deals, there has been enough of that already.

In other news Labour are fairly making fools of themselves by trying to get the Finance Bill passed before the election. Trying to ride two horses, I hope the sleeveen c***ts get found out in the course of the campaign.

belleaqua

Quote from: Ulick on January 23, 2011, 06:51:02 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 23, 2011, 06:37:13 PM

Maybe but now is not the time for back-room deals, there has been enough of that already.

In other news Labour are fairly making fools of themselves by trying to get the Finance Bill passed before the election. Trying to ride two horses, I hope the sleeveen c***ts get found out in the course of the campaign.

And well they may. The onus is on Fine Gael to go on the attack but I suspect they wont do it. I think this is a dangerous election. Its likely to be a reactionary backlash which is understandable given the position we've been left in. However its not healthy. What is needed in terms of stability is a Fine Gael majority or almost a Fine Gael majority supported by Independents.

A Fine Gael/Labour coalition to me is stupid. They're ideologically opposed and thats the way it should be. Personally I think its time we had a healthy left/right differentiation. Fine Gael and Labour coalition will result in politics as usual rather than work at hand. Id love to see Fine Gael to have the balls to attack Labour. Take them on. Typically though they'll both go to savage Fianna Fail which will make no difference to them cos they're f**ked either way.

Gonna have a few quid on a minimum 8 Independents too.

All of a Sludden

Sinn Féin President Gerry Adams responded to newspaper reports that the daughter of Jean McConville, who was murdered by the IRA in 1972, was considering running against him in the Louth constituency.

Helen McKendry and her husband, Seamus, started the campaign that led to the IRA finally agreeing to give locations of the bodies of the so-called 'Disappeared'.

Nine victims have so far been recovered.

Mr Adams said the McConville family had suffered grievously during the Troubles, and that anyone who wished to stand in the election should do so.

I'm gonna show you as gently as I can how much you don't know.