AI Football Final 2010: An Corcaigh vs An Dún

Started by under the bar, August 23, 2010, 02:25:01 PM

Another deflated cup celebrations thanks Cooney

Clarke is some player, Down will be back next year

best team won in the end, Cork done another job on Down like they did on the Dubs

Quote from: ross4life on September 19, 2010, 04:56:11 PM
O'Connor MOTM
has to be, player of the year - not a chance.

Down just not good enough, cleaned out in the middle of the field for the second half.  Cork did well in the end, but jaysus it took them a while to get going.  Better bench wins it again.

Quote from: gallsman on September 19, 2010, 05:11:12 PM
Pretty shite match I thought. Down had nothing in the second half and got absolutely cleaned out in midfield for the majority of the game.

RTE was out so was forced to endure:

Mark Sidebottom repeatedly referring to Nicholas Murphy as Graham Canty

Peter Canavan being an absolute knob

Martin McHugh giving out about McKernan being penalised a 45, eve though he readily admits it was a penalty. Generally saying Down have reason to be upset with the referee. My hole.

Congrats Cork.

I think watching the game on BBC made a huge difference to your opinion. I watched it on BBC as I had no choice and the atmosphere seemed awful. Interesting that most down south thought it was a cracker.

comethekingdom

Well done to Cork. They certainly gave a great 2nd half. I didnt think they'd do it but they tore into Down when they had to in the 2nd half. They do have a great bench to empty and Counihan made good use of it. Good to see Sam will be residing next door to us for the next 12 months.

Thank f**k for that, Cork clearly the better team though I thought they were going to blow it. 

Quote from: ExiledGael on September 19, 2010, 05:14:08 PM
Pretty shite match I thought. Down had nothing in the second half and got absolutely cleaned out in midfield for the majority of the game.

Martin McHugh giving out about McKernan being penalised a 45, eve though he readily admits it was a penalty. Generally saying Down have reason to be upset with the referee. My hole.

Congrats Cork.

I think watching the game on BBC made a huge difference to your opinion. I watched it on BBC as I had no choice and the atmosphere seemed awful. Interesting that most down south thought it was a cracker.
I flicked between the two - atmosphere was miles better on RTÉ - the sound was totally muted on BBC.

comethekingdom

McHugh on BBC crying that Cork havent beat Kerry! - what a bollix.!!

it was a good game. It certainly wasn't a cracker.

ardchieftain

Really enjoyed that game. Glad Cork showed their true colours in the 2nd half. Marty Clarke is some player though, he will be a legend.
Would usually cheer on the Ulster county but i cheered on my wager instead.
And it's an anti climax without the supporters on the pitch.

Quote from: ExiledGael on September 19, 2010, 05:14:08 PM

Congrats Cork.

Maybe. In fairness it was wet and slippy which didn't make it seem such a good spectacle.

Despite being woeful in the first half Cork still had plenty of the ball and were able to turn it into scores in the second.

I don't think Down will be at the top table too long but hopefully making the final can inspire them next year and make Ulster a bit more competitive.

Hard luck to Down although I think Cork deserved it. Seems a bit dull without the pitch invasion.

McHugh now talking shite about Down wearing the yellow jerseys. He was on about it before the match as well.

BBC is a joke.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 19, 2010, 05:08:44 PM
"Down don't lose All Ireland Finals." RIP.
Fair f**ks to Cork. They had nothing in the first half but they had the bench.
To the bit in bold all I have to say is hahahahahahahaha

I know, I am being an annoying ****, can't help it, hope MCMLX sees it  ;D