Sean Og wants pay for play

Started by Minder, April 29, 2010, 10:22:11 AM

just more sh1te coming out of Cork

umgolaarmagh

its time the gaa started spreading the cash out, its a profitable organisation and to be a county player these days its like a full time job

cornafean

Quote from: umgolaarmagh on May 02, 2010, 03:22:09 PM
to be a county player these days its like a full time job

hardly full time if you spend your days "stuck in da benk"?
Boycott Hadron. Support your local particle collider.

The only solution to make the begrudgers on this forum happy is to abolish inter County games, sell off all the stadia and dont allow spectators into any games. :P :-*
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

dowling

Be interesting to hear from all the boys/girls who were arguing not so long ago that no one was looking pay for play or professionalism.

Delighted to see the O'Hasbeens stuffed by Galway today. Shows were their focus was this week £££££s.

Tatler Jack

Quote from: Rossfan on May 02, 2010, 09:37:07 PM
The only solution to make the begrudgers on this forum happy is to abolish inter County games, sell off all the stadia and dont allow spectators into any games. :P :-*

Fair play to you Rosfan you are nothing if not consistent...."usual suspects!" , "begrudgers" and the usual "im a fierce clever fella" type arguments,

Those of us who oppose professionalism have done more than our share in ensuring that games are played, stadia provided, and are spectators at many games. But your contribution to this debate any time it has arisen amounts to nothing more than cat calling from the back of the hall. 

put-it-up

You can understand why IC players would like some sort of payment.

Think about it, nearly everyone involved in an IC set up is paid - except the players. I know of one player that retired and went into coaching and was getting 150 a night for training a team. The player's are the ones that fill stadiums - not coaches.

Just off the top of my head thinking about people who would be receiving cash for being involved with Cavan:

Manager - Paid
Physio - Paid
Masseur - Paid
Groundsman - Paid
Secretary - Full-Time position
GK coach - paid

Personally I wouldn't like to see GAA go professional but I do agree that a certain and significant portion of gate receipts should be divided up between the two participating team's that fill a ground on that day.

Like I would hate to see GAA player's on contracts and only playing for cash but I personally would have no problem whatsoever with players receving a chunk from the gate receipts.

Quote from: put-it-up on May 03, 2010, 12:59:22 AM

Think about it, nearly everyone involved in an IC set up is paid - except the players. I know of one player that retired and went into coaching and was getting 150 a night for training a team.

The player's are the ones that fill stadiums - not coaches.

Just off the top of my head thinking about people who would be receiving cash for being involved with Cavan:

Manager - Paid
Physio - Paid
Masseur - Paid
Groundsman - Paid
GK coach - paid

Personally I wouldn't like to see GAA go professional but I do agree that a certain and significant portion of gate receipts should be divided up between the two participating team's that fill a ground on that day.

Like I would hate to see GAA player's on contracts and only playing for cash but I personally would have no problem whatsoever with players receving a chunk from the gate receipts.

and there's me thinking it was the supporters filled the stadiums...

put-it-up

Quote from: longrunsthefox on May 03, 2010, 01:46:15 AM

Think about it, nearly everyone involved in an IC set up is paid - except the players. I know of one player that retired and went into coaching and was getting 150 a night for training a team.

Manager - Paid
Physio - Paid
Masseur - Paid
Groundsman - Paid
GK coach - paid

There is always one smart arse around here ;D

You think all the supporters would pay into a ground where there were no player's in action?

We pay into the ground to be entertained. I wouldn't imagine there are too many industries in the world where the entertainers got none of the profits. In a circus, i'm sure the acts get some money. Imagine a stand-up comedian selling out a venue and not getting a cent of what was taken in at the door. If professional athletes knew how hard GAA players worked for the love of the game, I would say they would think that GAA lads are barking mad ;D

IC players should be given a few extra shillings from the gate receipts if you ask me..

Quote from: put-it-up on May 03, 2010, 02:36:09 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on May 03, 2010, 01:46:15 AM

Manager - Paid
Physio - Paid
Masseur - Paid
Groundsman - Paid
GK coach - paid

There is always one smart arse around here ;D

You think all the supporters would pay into a ground where there were no player's in action?

We pay into the ground to be entertained. I wouldn't imagine there are too many industries in the world where the entertainers got none of the profits. In a circus, i'm sure the acts get some money. Imagine a stand-up comedian selling out a venue and not getting a cent of what was taken in at the door. If professional athletes knew how hard GAA players worked for the love of the game, I would say they would think that GAA lads are barking mad ;D

IC players should be given a few extra shillings from the gate receipts if you ask me..

Where does it end in a sport that can't expand? Few quid today- is a lot in 10 years. In other words gate receipts won't get much bigger between now and then so the players cut will get bigger. Then clubs have nothing to build facilities with. There is no way that players getting paid doesn't mean the end of the clubs. Some of them are on the breadline anyway.
It would have to be financed outside the receipts of the association to have any chance.

Has anyone mentioned the lad that sells the hot dogs yet?
He gets paid.  :P ::)

Think about it, nearly everyone involved in an IC set up is paid - except the players. I know of one player that retired and went into coaching and was getting 150 a night for training a team. The player's are the ones that fill stadiums - not coaches.

Manager - Paid
Physio - Paid
Masseur - Paid
Groundsman - Paid
GK coach - paid

... all so that lads can play football in the best of facilities, supported by the best coaching and physical training services and professional administration and never have to put their hands in their pockets for it, apart from the negligible annual membership fee (I wonder how many IC players actually pay it).

The GAA provides its members with the best facilities of any sport in the country bar none (only golf* comes close), paid for by the voluntary contributions of the members and now the greedy few want to be paid to use them.

* How much does it cost to join a golf club? How much is the annual membership after that? Do golf clubs pay coaches, administrators, groundsmen, etc. Of course they do. Do they pay their members for using these services and facilities? Try asking your club pro for free lessons.

Quote from: Tatler Jack on May 03, 2010, 12:24:10 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 02, 2010, 09:37:07 PM

Fair play to you Rosfan you are nothing if not consistent...."usual suspects!" , "begrudgers" and the usual "im a fierce clever fella" type arguments,

Those of us who oppose professionalism have done more than our share in ensuring that games are played, stadia provided, and are spectators at many games. But your contribution to this debate any time it has arisen amounts to nothing more than cat calling from the back of the hall.

I'm opposed to professionalism too on the basis that it cannot be sustainable.
I play(badly) a biteen of music but will never be good enough to even get a token few €s.
However I don't go around criticising those talented ones who can make a living out of doing something they love.
The usual begrudgers are the lads running down the IC players at the slightest opening. Not many real arguments being made against professionalism but a lot of "Sean og is a ****"  "Donaghy is a *****"  "IC players are greedy ****s" "I' m finished with the GAA if IC players get paid"
Methinks I'm not the only consistent one hereabouts ;)
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

The Hammer

Quote from: AZOffaly on April 29, 2010, 11:34:22 AM
In other news, pope is Catholic.

I'd say if you asked any player would you like to be a professional GAA player, the vast majority would say yes please.

However, the GAA as an organisation must not go down that road, in my opinion, for reasons that have been done to death here.

Anyhow, my mantra is that players who represent their county are honoured to do so, but should be looked after and not be directly out of pocket because of their involvement.

Thus by all means pay gym membership, give them gear, help them with diet etc. But that's it.

tyrone county board have been doing this for year