SDLP and Sinn Fein. Surely an electoral pact would make sense

Started by T Fearon, February 12, 2010, 12:44:05 PM

Quote from: Nally Stand on February 13, 2010, 11:18:50 PM
All Sinn Fein elected reps at all levels earn the average industrial wage and the rest is donated to the party Trevor

Ah, the stock SF answer about how holy their MPs are.

Didn't stop them claiming for an apartment and house in London though, even though they don't take their seats, did it?

Gallsman, it's the stock answer because it's the truth strangely enough. They have expenses for accomodation in london because they still make use of facilities and attend meetings in Westminster in their capacity as MPs. As for Adams' holiday home, he's one member. If they were all taking massive pay checks they'd all own holiday homes. Don't forget that Gerry has written books which have prob earned him a tidy fortune. Enough people bought them so fair play to him.

Ps Gallsman, is your indignance solely for SF or would you not think that the SDLP track record is something of interest? Eddie McGrady only stayed in luxury hotels in London and in one year cost the taxpayer £17000 on such luxury hotel rooms, and in one eight night stay, cost the taxpayer £2570 in his expenses on only food, laundry and phone calls. Almost £2000 of this was on food alone. You couldn't do it if you tried.

Quote from: Maguire01 on February 14, 2010, 10:06:56 AM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on February 14, 2010, 10:05:19 AM
Quote from: Gaffer on February 14, 2010, 09:49:11 AM
All Sinn Fein elected reps at all levels earn the average industrial wage and the rest is donated to the party Trevor

Never believed that one. How can Gerry afford a holiday gaff in Donegal?
He also has one in Monaghan and one in Kerry
The industrial sector must be doing better than the news would suggest.
Might have something to do with the books he was wrote.  I'd be surprised if anyone here dislikes sinn fein more than me but if you're going to bash do it for a real reason.  Shite talk for the sake of it is annoying.

Quote from: Nally Stand on February 14, 2010, 10:59:19 AM
Ps Gallsman, is your indignance solely for SF or would you not think that the SDLP track record is something of interest? Eddie McGrady only stayed in luxury hotels in London and in one year cost the taxpayer £17000 on such luxury hotel rooms, and in one eight night stay, cost the taxpayer £2570 in his expenses on only food, laundry and phone calls. Almost £2000 of this was on food alone. You couldn't do it if you tried.

You were talking about SF, so I pointed out that the holier than thou attitude was somewhat misplaced.

Why have they now given up the two properties if they didn't feel somewhat guilty or embarrassed about the whole furore?

Well I've just raised the issue of SDLP expenses so by your logic then, you should also have acknowledged that and responded. On the two flats (not house & apt galls), don't forget that they were two flats which were shared among 5 MPs and also doubled as staffed offices. Makes Eddie's bill sound even more staggering. Also, unlike Eddie et al, SF MPs don't even get paid for their work as MPs because they don't sit in sessions, even though they do all their associated work. They should have kept the flats.

Quote from: Nally Stand on February 14, 2010, 11:41:31 AM
Well I've just raised the issue of SDLP expenses so by your logic then, you should also have acknowledged that and responded. On the two flats, don't forget that they were two flats which were shared among 5 MPs and also doubled as staffed offices. Makes Eddie's bill sound even more staggering. Also, unlike Eddie et al, SF MPs don't even get paid for their work as MPs because they don't sit in sessions, even though they do all their associated work. They should have kept the flats.

Unfortunately, your logic appears to be a load of bollocks. You've been on this thread voicing support for Sinn Fein and criticising the SDLP. I have neither voiced support or criticised either party. I'm simply pointing out that where you openly criticise the SDLP, you reuse to acknowledge that SF has or has had in the same areas.

Logic safe enough for you there?

Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 14, 2010, 11:16:14 AM

Might have something to do with the books he was wrote.  I'd be surprised if anyone here dislikes sinn fein more than me but if you're going to bash do it for a real reason.  Shite talk for the sake of it is annoying.
Eh?

But anyway, my comment on the industrial wage was tongue in cheek - I realise he has other sources of income; sure he's getting £10k for this religious programme he's doing for Channel 4.

And good for them if they want to live on an industrial wage, but to be honest, if you're doing a good job as a politician, I have no problem with you earning the full amount. The average person on the industrial wage does standard hours and goes home; a lot of politicians do massive hours, including very unsociable ones, are never really 'off-call' and sacrifice a lot of family time - I don't really think the full salary is disproportionate.

You said you talked about Sinn Fein because that's what I was talking about. So I then I mentioned the SDLP expenses but you continue to criticise SF. Hence unlike you, I have referred to both parties on the subject. This is just another side show created by those desperate to bash SF about stupid tired arguments like Gerry Adams having a holiday home, without talking about this merger idea of the thread. As I already said, the SDLP are fundamentally confused on policy and this makes a merger a non starter.

Quote from: Maguire01 on February 14, 2010, 11:49:06 AM

Eh?

But anyway, my comment on the industrial wage was tongue in cheek - I realise he has other sources of income; sure he's getting £10k for this religious programme he's doing for Channel 4.

And good for them if they want to live on an industrial wage, but to be honest, if you're doing a good job as a politician, I have no problem with you earning the full amount. The average person on the industrial wage does standard hours and goes home; a lot of politicians do massive hours, including very unsociable ones, are never really 'off-call' and sacrifice a lot of family time - I don't really think the full salary is disproportionate.
typo, books he Has wrote.

I agree on that Maguire. They generally do more hours than almost any other profession out there.

Quote from: Nally Stand on February 14, 2010, 11:59:55 AM
You said you talked about Sinn Fein because that's what I was talking about. So I then I mentioned the SDLP expenses but you continue to criticise SF. Hence unlike you, I have referred to both parties on the subject. This is just another side show created by those desperate to bash SF about stupid tired arguments like Gerry Adams having a holiday home, without talking about this merger idea of the thread. As I already said, the SDLP are fundamentally confused on policy and this makes a merger a non starter.

As you're responding to me, I'll point out that I haven't attempted to "bash" SF in any way whatsoever. Everything I've pointed out is factual. I haven't "continued to criticise" SF at all, I've actually been referring to the same issue the whole time as you appear incapable of acknowledging it.

The point here is that you've been trumpeting SF around as the be all and end all of Nationalist politics whilst, in your words, "bashing" the SDLP. I'm simply pointing out that as a SF supporter, you might think twice before getting all high and mighty.

Quote from: Nally Stand on February 14, 2010, 10:59:19 AM
I have no problem in criticising this. Whatever about my opinion on salaries, such claims are taking the p*ss.

Although for the record, a quick google shows that the £17k of hotel bills covers a 4 year period. Sinn Fein were paying rent of £3,600 per month for one flat and £5400 per month for another flat, so let's read a bit more than just the big headline. Considering Conor Murphy admitted to only staying in his apartment once, i think it would have represented better value for money if he'd stayed in a plush hotel for the night!

Also, in the interests of accuracy, the excessive claim of £2570 was never paid (and 'only' £1562 was for food) - it doesn't take away from the fact that it should never have been submitted in the first place, but it's misleading to state that it "cost the taxpayer" when it didn't.

Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 14, 2010, 12:01:31 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 14, 2010, 11:49:06 AM

Eh?

typo, books he Has wrote.
or books he has written.
:P

Ah whatever, I'm suffering from sleep deprivation and I haven't even got washed or dressed yet.