Fitting Punishment for Stephen Ireland

Started by mylestheslasher, September 20, 2009, 08:57:00 PM

Quote from: muppet on September 22, 2009, 10:39:42 PM
Quote from: Main Street on September 22, 2009, 10:26:48 PM
Keane was immense in all the 4 games against Portugal and Holland and we would not have done it without him but we would not have done without that last ditch clearance from the kid Richard Dunne in Holland, the Matt Holland cracker in Portugal, plus a good bit of fortune in the Dutch game at home (all owed to us of course), plus Shay, plus a rocket from McAteer, plus McCarthy, plus  a nervy  play off where an unfit Keane just about featured in the first game.

No question about the contribution of others being needed, but without Roy we wouldn't have got there. BTW you left out Cyprus away, 0-4 sounds routine by it was his best performance of the qualifiers for me.

I also left out the Keaneless, yet very controlled win against Estonia away,
a place where the Dutch needed a fortunate last minute goal to take all 3 points.
No doubt Keane was the best player over the qualifiers but it was the team who qualified.

Quote from: muppet on September 22, 2009, 10:49:31 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on September 22, 2009, 10:45:36 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 21, 2009, 03:11:26 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 21, 2009, 12:14:15 AM
The baldy fuckwit should be attached to the tow bar of his pink Range Rover by the bollix using vice grips and driven around Stretford until his head bleeds so much he needs more hair extensions to cover up the cuts.  A stupid cnut if ever there was and no matter how talented he believes he is he will never play for Ireland as he is all about Stephen.  Self indulgent p***k >:(

Or,................ his citizenship could be questioned to the degree of whether or not he is an EU citizen and whether he needs a work permit to play in England.

Having consistently abandoned his country since underage, as he is entitled to do, I don't see how he could be considered Irish within the EU.
or maybe he doesnt want work for for a partitionist 26 county Pauper organisation run by a bunch of incompetent half-wits.
If the fai team qualify or not it says a lot more about the youth team system in england that anything about sport in Ireland
or maybe hes just afraid John delany will make him wear his wig

That post was put up by me at 3am after the AIF.

What I meant to say was that he can play in England without a work permit because he is Irish otherwise he would have to seek a work permit. He is happy to benefit on one hand from being Irish but as we all know, he isn't interested in returning anything. 
i dont see how playing professional sport can be construed as returning anything.
do you think ray houghton tony cascarino john aldridge or Mick Mccarthy thought they were returning anything when they played for the fai.
they would have gladly played in china had the money been right and the hours suitable.
Professional sports men play for money look at the Irish cricketers if SI doesnt want the extra few bob or the Care we promotion that comes from being an international that thats his call.

Quote from: rosnarun on September 22, 2009, 11:33:18 PM
i dont see how playing professional sport can be construed as returning anything.
do you think ray houghton tony cascarino john aldridge or Mick Mccarthy thought they were returning anything when they played for the fai.
they would have gladly played in china had the money been right and the hours suitable.
Professional sports men play for money look at the Irish cricketers if SI doesnt want the extra few bob or the Care we promotion that comes from being an international that thats his call.

When it came to playing for ireland those players were beyond reproach.
China?
It should be noted that for Mick's first cap, he was a late call up to the Ireland squad for a friendly in China. He left the night before his own wedding or being best man for his brothers and travelled 1/2 way round the world for a worthless friendly, for a pittance. As he remarked, wild horses wouldn't have keep him away.

Quote from: muppet on September 22, 2009, 10:49:31 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on September 22, 2009, 10:45:36 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 21, 2009, 03:11:26 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 21, 2009, 12:14:15 AM
The baldy fuckwit should be attached to the tow bar of his pink Range Rover by the bollix using vice grips and driven around Stretford until his head bleeds so much he needs more hair extensions to cover up the cuts.  A stupid cnut if ever there was and no matter how talented he believes he is he will never play for Ireland as he is all about Stephen.  Self indulgent p***k >:(

Or,................ his citizenship could be questioned to the degree of whether or not he is an EU citizen and whether he needs a work permit to play in England.

Having consistently abandoned his country since underage, as he is entitled to do, I don't see how he could be considered Irish within the EU.
or maybe he doesnt want work for for a partitionist 26 county Pauper organisation run by a bunch of incompetent half-wits.
If the fai team qualify or not it says a lot more about the youth team system in england that anything about sport in Ireland
or maybe hes just afraid John delany will make him wear his wig

That post was put up by me at 3am after the AIF.

What I meant to say was that he can play in England without a work permit because he is Irish otherwise he would have to seek a work permit. He is happy to benefit on one hand from being Irish but as we all know, he isn't interested in returning anything. 

All 4 did their bit for Ireland and probably all 4 went beyond the call of any duty.

But equally all 4 benefited enormously from their profiles as Irish internationals playing in the World Cup and European Championships. The money from the FAI was small but the exposure earned them a lot of money and good luck to them, they deserved it.

Stephen Ireland obviously earns all that he needs at City.

new devil

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 22, 2009, 08:04:46 PM
Quote from: AFS on September 22, 2009, 07:43:28 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on September 22, 2009, 07:29:53 PM
Quote from: AFS on September 22, 2009, 07:25:41 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on September 22, 2009, 07:15:22 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on September 22, 2009, 06:55:22 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on September 22, 2009, 02:21:51 PM
Why has he to be punished?

He has made it clear that he doesn't want play for Ireland but he did so in a cack handed way.  Is this what he is to be punished for?

Although is he starts to bleet if we do get through to South Africa, that will be anotther matter.

Well if you think it is ok that someone would refuse to play for his country for no good reason than it doesn't fit in with his plans then thats fine. For me that makes him a self centered like w**ker that has no respect for his country. Thats why I'd like to punish him in some way.
Do you think the same of Roy Keane?

Roy Keane - 66 caps
Stephen Ireland - 6 caps

What's your point ?

Or is it that if you put them together you get 666 the number of the devil !

That its ridiculous to compare a lad that played for his country for a couple of months before packing it in, with a guy that lined out for over a decade.

Although 666 is definitely a sign. Also if you combine their goal tallies you get unlucky 13. We're better off with the both of them.

At least Ireland has the decency to tell us before hand that he doesn't want to play for his country in the World Cup.

::) ::) Bla Bla Bla

Leo

Quote from: Main Street on September 22, 2009, 11:44:03 PM

China?
It should be noted that for Mick's first cap, he was a late call up to the Ireland squad for a friendly in China. He left the night before his own wedding or being best man for his brothers and travelled 1/2 way round the world for a worthless friendly, for a pittance. As he remarked, wild horses wouldn't have keep him away.

Don't know the motivation of Houghton, Aldridge or Cascarino but MCarthy is a case apart. His father (who played hurling for Waterford) like many others had to leave Ireland to find work. This was in the north of England coalmines yet he brought up his family as Irish and to his credit Mick adhered to that identity long before he was capped or managed the team.
In contrast some prima donna players come from a background where their fathers lived off state benefits all their lives and the suspicion is that their offspring would be more takers than givers.I believe Kevin Kilbane is another who was brought up in a strong Irish tradition in England and might have more of a gra for the oul sod than some of the jackeen Manu Utd supporters who populaate the FAI terraces for the big games only.
Fierce tame altogether

http://cdn.faniq.com/images/blog/Stephen%20Ireland%20Range%20Rover.jpg

I like how that blank out the number plate in this picture, just in case anyone would be able to recognise whos car it was if they saw it in the street!!

anglocelt39

Missing Stephen Ireland could go a bit on the back burner if Stephen Reid was to make it back to full fitness. Really rate him and think it's an awful pity he's been rode with injuries.

Agree that Keano was top class in the qualifying campaign, also think its a bit of an insult to others to say that he dragged us through single handed, simply not true over the entire qualifying program.

You would be more inclined to say move on from 2002 only the man himself seems unfit to do so. He was quoted two weeks ago as reckoning we have a chance of qualifying for 2010 and went on along the lines that he's sure the preparations would be better than the last time he was involved and hoped nobody would be sent home by management before a competitive ball was kicked. He then offered his thoughts on Adewhatsits goading Arsenal fans. But sure i suppose with Ipswich's performances to date he could do with a bit of distraction.
Undefeated at the Polo Grounds

Quote from: Leo on September 23, 2009, 05:06:23 PM
Quote from: Main Street on September 22, 2009, 11:44:03 PM

China?

Don't know the motivation of Houghton, Aldridge or Cascarino but MCarthy is a case apart.
I don't know the motivation of the first 3 to initially declare. But beyond reproach, in the sense of how they applied themselves to the task of representing Ireland. Our Stephen is a dim shade of green compared to them.

I don't know the detail of the Stephen Ireland story but just to say that I wouldn't play for them either.

Who gives a féck about what you don't know and about what you do say on the matter.

Quote from: anglocelt39 on September 23, 2009, 05:53:55 PM
Missing Stephen Ireland could go a bit on the back burner if Stephen Reid was to make it back to full fitness. Really rate him and think it's an awful pity he's been rode with injuries.

Got through 75 minutes for Blackburn there last night I see, a couple of Premier League games over the next few weeks and he should be ready for the Italians. Although its hard to be too optimistic about him.

Quote from: AFS on September 23, 2009, 07:48:23 PM
Quote from: anglocelt39 on September 23, 2009, 05:53:55 PM

Got through 75 minutes for Blackburn there last night I see, a couple of Premier League games over the next few weeks and he should be ready for the Italians. Although its hard to be too optimistic about him.

The man has no luck with injuries, a fit stephen reid would fit more into Tra[p's plans than SI anyday of the week.

GBXII

Just wanted to say in reply to those people saying that Stephen Ireland would be shown the door if City decided to buy a few 'superstars' in midfield, that Ireland is a top quality player, easily in the top few midfielders in the EPL. He would be hard to replace and would not have trouble finding another top club to play for..Man Utd could do with a midfielder of his quality these days.

Also, I think the comparisons with Keane are apt enough. Both seem to be very individualistic characters while also being hard to deal with some times. They are/were both extremely talented and very focused and determined footballers. They're both from Cork and they are quite controversial :)