?

?
63 (87.5%)
?
9 (12.5%)

Total Members Voted: 72

Lamh Dhearg Alba

Quote from: tyroneman on October 07, 2007, 05:29:28 PM
I hope that all those who got carried away with the Milan result watched the shambles of a performance today away to Gretna.................

To my mind Celtic are woefully short of class. Plenty of grit / spirit / dig in - whatever ye want to call it - class, no fraid not.

Your team beat the European champions, how can celebrating and enjoying that constitite getting "carried away" ??? And whilst they may have been poor today they emerged with the win, are top of the league and on top of that have a 3 point cushion over their main rivals (I know Hibs are 2nd and doing great but ultimately if they finish 3rd theyre doing well). I think you need to cut the Celtic team and WGS a bit of a slack.

More importantly Scotland's top team in hoops are on a four match unbeaten run and up to 3rd ;)

12.30 Saturday 20th October - Setanta sports 1      rangers v Celtic

the countdown has started!  8)

Going to be a tight match, no right back and half our players out!! The Hun are looking quite light-weight themselves! no recovery time from the Internationals!!

Heart says Celtic 2-0, head says dull game and draw!

Fcuk the head - Come on the Celts.

Hail Hail

seanf

Stromg rumours that Darren O'Dea will start for the Celts

Why on earth did O'Dea start right back with Caldwell in the centre, given that O'Dea is left footed and has never played there before. 

Very poor perfomance all round apart from Skippy and Jarosik doing alright in 1st half.

Lamh Dhearg Alba

Quote from: Rav67 on October 20, 2007, 03:50:17 PM
Very poor perfomance all round apart from Skippy and Jarosik doing alright in 1st half.

Celtic were poor and especially so at the back, WGS should surely be looking at getting some cover in there because McManus is the only really decent defender he has at the minute. Boruc let himself and Celtic down again at the end with his behaviour, they need to have a word with this guy. Not something Im particularly happy about but Rangers are going to challenge all the way for the title as I said they would, it will be real battle this season.

doofus

The better team won on the day, but i still think celtic will win the league over the course of the season. WGS's record against Rangers could not be near as good as O'Neills. anyone got stats on this?

Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on October 21, 2007, 07:39:30 PM
Quote from: Rav67 on October 20, 2007, 03:50:17 PM

Celtic were poor and especially so at the back, WGS should surely be looking at getting some cover in there because McManus is the only really decent defender he has at the minute. Boruc let himself and Celtic down again at the end with his behaviour, they need to have a word with this guy. Not something Im particularly happy about but Rangers are going to challenge all the way for the title as I said they would, it will be real battle this season.

all Celtic need to do is get two full backs , and then once they stop leaking goals (and having to chase the game) they can set about winning - and have to learn to take their chances - the goals to shots ratio is poor !
thought Celtic looked like th eteam more likely to win - even at 1-0 down, but as they had to chase the game, rangers only had to sit back and counter attack.
I think the SPL is the new sire A !
The team that concedes first will lose!

Very poor result on Saturday - but have to move on and concentrate on Wed nights match.

Good to hear that McManus, Jan the man and Hartley all travelling to Lisbon - also going are Pressley and Bobo!! Bet you thought that you'd heard the last of him!

3 points essential in Lisbon but it will be an incredibly tough match.

Hail Hail

Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on October 22, 2007, 11:57:55 AM3 points essential in Lisbon but it will be an incredibly tough match.

Jaysus, I'd take ur hand off for a draw, what with injuries, etc.

Referring was unbelievable at the weekend, 9 yellows to 2, wasn't even consistent. Defending was abmisable for the 3 goals and if u can't put the ball in the net from in front of the goals don't deserve anything out of the game...

On a more positive note, off to Parkhead for the Motherwell game next weekend. Years since I've been over, does anyone remember what buses go out the London Road/Gallogate??? Also what time would one need to be there to see the coaches come up the drive??? Match is at 3...

Boruc defiant over Rangers snub

Artur Boruc (right) refused to shake the hand of Rangers' David Weir

Celtic goalkeeper Artur Boruc has no regrets about his refusal to shake hands with Rangers players - because he does not like them or their club.

Boruc was criticised in some quarters for his actions after Rangers' 3-0 victory in Saturday's SPL meeting.

But he told Polish newspaper Gazeta Wyborcza: "They were provoking me throughout the game. They were teasing me and they were trying to hurt me.

"I don't have to love anyone. I don't like this club, or these players."

It is not the first time that Boruc has courted controversy in an Old Firm derby.

The Poland international was cautioned by police for gesticulating at Rangers fans during a Celtic victory in February 2006.

If we meet in town like normal people, I might shake hands

Celtic goalkeeper Artur Boruc

Police also expressed concerns in May this year after Boruc waved a flag at Ibrox proclaiming Celtic as champions after a win by Rangers.

And his latest actions led to criticism from Rangers players and the likes of former Celtic midfielder and BBC football pundit Murdo McLeod.

Boruc suggested that his latest decision was provoked by a pain in his hands and admitted that his emotions and adrenaline had been running high after a painful defeat.

But he stressed that he thought it ridiculous that he was expected to shake hands with the opposition.

"I didn't shake hands with them because it is not my duty," he said.

"We are enemies. We are fighting for the title and any form of friendship is out of the question."

However, Boruc did suggest that there might come a time when he could shake hands with his city rivals.

"If we meet in town like normal people, I might shake hands, but not at Ibrox after a game like that," he said.

Police had stressed that the 2006 caution of Boruc was for a "combination of behaviour" and not, as some had claimed, for blessing himself in a football fixture so often marred by religious rivalry.

But Boruc said of the latest incident: "They like to make scandals out of nothing.

"They complained to the police about certain gestures when we were winning.

"But they didn't call this time. Why? Because they won."

Class Artur!   :D ;D :D

Match on live on Setanta Ireland or Sky Sports Xtra for us poor sods in the wee six.

McManus did light training yesterday, doesn't look like Pressley will make it, Bobo looking likely to get at least a place on the bench! Van's good to go and Hartley looks like getting a run as well.
Going to be tight, Benfica on a run of three straight CL defeats (poss backlash?) all of the Celts games in Europe have ended 3-0 (afaik)! Hopefully we can stay solid for the first half an hour defensively and not concede 2 goals and I think we would be in with a shout!
Need to break the away win hoodoo, and I hope tonight is the time to do it.

Celtic to win 3 -1

COME ON THE HOOPS

Smiler An Dun

Where are you staying??
you can get a bus from Glasgow cross area (end of High Street/Argyle Street) that brings you along the London Road and probably Gallowgate.  I'm not sure of bus numbers but i know some of them are marked Carntyne.

Another way is the get the underground from Glasgow Central (Lower Station) to Dalmarnock.  Only takes 5 mins and is then less than a 10 min walk to the ground.

The team normally arrives at about 12.00/12.30.

Quote from: Smiler An Dun on October 24, 2007, 11:41:27 AM

Where are you staying??
you can get a bus from Glasgow cross area (end of High Street/Argyle Street) that brings you along the London Road and probably Gallowgate.  I'm not sure of bus numbers but i know some of them are marked Carntyne.

Another way is the get the underground from Glasgow Central (Lower Station) to Dalmarnock.  Only takes 5 mins and is then less than a 10 min walk to the ground.

The team normally arrives at about 12.00/12.30.

Staying in the Radisson, thanks for that. From what I remember the buses along the London Road don't go through the Gallowgate. Will head out early to see the team come in, hell of a time to wait for the match though, what do they be doing for 3 hours anyway??? Recommend any bars nearby to wet the whistle? Been to Bairds and The Hoops bar before but don't fancy the walk to/fro...