Kerry V Dublin

Started by magickingdom, July 26, 2009, 06:51:09 PM

...but what were people supposed to think after they scraped past Sligo, Longford and Antrim... "Kerry are brilliiant and will whip the Dubs?!!"  You can only go by current form... same as last year when rubbish Down beat Tyrone and the rest as the say etc... can only go on form. Everyone so wise after the event...     

Quote from: Bogball XV on August 03, 2009, 11:44:19 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on August 03, 2009, 11:22:43 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on August 03, 2009, 11:19:25 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on August 03, 2009, 11:06:07 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on August 03, 2009, 11:01:08 PM
Does anyone really give a filying fcuk about what he writes about every Sunday? I dont buy the Tribune but may do if they got rid of that gobshite and got a proper columnist to write for them.

Hayes showed his class when he called Micko a "stubborn old goat". He did such a great job down in Carlow himself!
got a win over offaly if i'm not mistaken in his first year, that would have to be success for carlow?

Quote from: hardstation on August 03, 2009, 11:16:06 PM
I'd have him ahead of Penrose (for one).

I'll never forget the day he nearly beat Tyrone on his own (AI minor final '04). Only for the Tyrone players fouling him every time he got the ball, he probably would have beaten Tyrone on his own.

if ever a game highlighted the need for a sin bin, that was the one.

One win over Offaly hardly gives him the license to slag off the greatest manager in the history of the game.
is calling micko a stubborn old goat an insult?  I'd say it's accurate - no?

You're entitled to your opinion but as a Kildareman I certainly wouldn't agree. The Kildare lads that played under Micko would have gone through brick walls for him.

There probably was a grain of truth in what Hayes was getting at but to simply label Micko as a "stubborn old goat" was very disparaging and downright disrespectful as far as I'm concerned.

Quote from: longrunsthefox on August 03, 2009, 11:51:27 PM
...but what were people supposed to think after they scraped past Sligo, Longford and Antrim... "Kerry are brilliiant and will whip the Dubs?!!"  You can only go by current form... same as last year when rubbish Down beat Tyrone and the rest as the say etc... can only go on form. Everyone so wise after the event...     

cream always rises to the top & it's 2001 since either Tyrone or kerry didn't play in the all Ireland Final (nothing different this year ;))

Quote from: hardstation on August 03, 2009, 11:54:59 PM
Just shows you how good Longford, Sligo and Antrim really are.

yeah & spare a thought for westmeath, beaten by that dublin team by all of 27 points

Quote from: INDIANA on August 03, 2009, 07:28:13 PM
When the going got tough we didn't want to know. No legislation for that.
Complete clear out required- I'm talking a complete clear out.
It's a peculiar one The going got tough against Kildare and the Dubs stood up to be counted.
That was no fluke.

Anyway didn't Freud say, the Dubs are beyond psychoanalysis.

You have a fair point with the clean out.
Along with the clean out you could give this man a call.

Are Dublin still planning a city team and a rural team? Or a north Dublin team and a south Dublin team?

Either of those might do better than the 15 that went out today.

Quote from: Orior on August 04, 2009, 12:33:13 AM
Are Dublin still planning a city team and a rural team? Or a north Dublin team and a south Dublin team?

Either of those might do better than the 15 that went out today.
No but I believe they are planning a 15 lads who never played Gaelic football before team .

It don't make sense though... they were very good against Kildare who gave Tyrone their fill of it yesterday. They just can't seem to bring it through the latter stages of the championship ... can't suddenly be  a useless team overnight, can they? 

JMohan

Quote from: ross4life on August 04, 2009, 12:05:08 AM
Quote from: hardstation on August 03, 2009, 11:54:59 PM
Just shows you how good Longford, Sligo and Antrim really are.

yeah & spare a thought for westmeath, beaten by that dublin team by all of 27 points

At least Gilroy didn't wait until 30 minutes gone before he made a change

Quote from: Main Street on August 04, 2009, 12:12:50 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 03, 2009, 07:28:13 PM
When the going got tough we didn't want to know. No legislation for that.
Complete clear out required- I'm talking a complete clear out.
It's a peculiar one The going got tough against Kildare and the Dubs stood up to be counted.
That was no fluke.

Anyway didn't Freud say, the Dubs are beyond psychoanalysis.

You have a fair point with the clean out.
Along with the clean out you could give this man a call.

Kerry spook Dublin Main Street. Its  as simple as that. We've beaten them twice since 1955 in the championship. We're not good enough either.

never kickt a ball

Quote from: hardstation on August 03, 2009, 11:24:45 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on August 03, 2009, 11:17:42 PM
Penrose is a mighty man for being out in front this past couple seasons. His option selection is getting better every game. Id take penrose right now myself.
Penrose is very quick but when he gets the ball he's like Bambi on ice. A calamity.

Scored a point, directly involved in three other points and indirectly involved in another point. Some calamity!

SidelineKick

Quote from: never kickt a ball on August 04, 2009, 01:25:22 AM
Quote from: hardstation on August 03, 2009, 11:24:45 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on August 03, 2009, 11:17:42 PM
Penrose is a mighty man for being out in front this past couple seasons. His option selection is getting better every game. Id take penrose right now myself.
Penrose is very quick but when he gets the ball he's like Bambi on ice. A calamity.

Scored a point, directly involved in three other points and indirectly involved in another point. Some calamity!

Now there's a new one!
"If you want to box, say you want to box and we'll box"

Cant understand how Bastik was still on the field at the end
If he had of been as interested in marking his man instead of attempting to leave marks on any man he came into contact with it may have suited him better

Whelan is Whelan. Dirty as sin

Drumanee 1

after Whelan's elbow and Dublin's behaviour in the last 20min in general it would be interesting to hear the views of a couple of the dub posters who were climbing onto there very high horse after the Derry monaghan match.

GrandMasterFlash

Anyone know why this game wasn's available to stream from the RTE website? My big plan was to watch it last night but could find it nowhere. Also, I must be going mad but I thought I heard Des Cahill say on the Sunday Game that he'd announce the winner of the competition after the Monday game, no sign of that either. I may be losing it though..