USFC Semi Final, Cavan V Antrim, Clones,Saturday 27th June at 7pm

Started by BallyhaiseMan, June 14, 2009, 07:43:51 PM

pebble-dasher

airlocking match...............................................

:D :D

Good man hardstation still at it! :D
Great stuff today!
Therell be no hurling for you tomorrow.
:)

Keep playing like that and there could be a fair few more miles on the clock before the summer ends, be it as Ulster champs or through the back door,  more likely Ulster champs  ;)

70 minutes, Tyrone will be complacent, you never know. Jees be some craic if ye pull it off. On the NFL argument, Sligo and Antrim coasted the Div4, both teams are better than that standard, both will do well next yr in DIv3  and 1 will get promoted again like tipp IMO.

Quote from: hardstation on June 28, 2009, 01:13:00 AM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on June 28, 2009, 12:59:58 AM
Quote from: hardstation on June 27, 2009, 11:27:22 PM
To a certain few Cavan men (and we know who you are), did you just overlook us?
Well suck it up you arrogant shower of b**tards.

Enjoy the win but wind your neck in a bit maybe? Not many Cavan folk here or elsewhere for that matter were arrogant or over confident, we thought we'd squeak it and would have been more than delighted to. Bottom line is we were a million miles behind Antrim today and should have been beaten by more. Be proud, and rightly so, but don't be a bad winner.
There were a number of posts on this board saying that Donegal overlooked us and that Cavan wouldn't do the same so Cavan should win. A total disregard for our ability.
Then this from Drung:
Cavan have beaten Antrim five or six times in the last few years in McKenna Cup and championship and drew a couple of times. That's a better record than we have against anyone.
Plus, Antrim were the only Division Four team in Ulster.
If we're being honest, Cavan usually beat Antrim most of the time and if both sides play to their best, Cavan will beat them again.
However, if we underperform - as we often do - they should beat us.

Some Cavan posters on this board really had a high opinion of themselves and never gave us any credit.
Suck it up.

If there is one thing worse than a bad loser its a bad winner. Cop your self on to f**k. So one cavan poster expresses a little too much confidence and we get this shite from you. I suppose you were part of that gang of pricks from Antrim on the town side 45 on the hill booing every Cavan free? And whats all this shite about you having a few drinks, do you bring your laptop to the pub so you can post rubbish while you drink or are you just at home in your bedroom, wishing you were Shane McGowan?

Well done to Antrim and I hope ye go on and beat Tyrone. Got your tactics spot on and were just more focused and confident in what your were going to do. I actually believe the game you play can run Tyrone close, but ye'll need to take more of the chances ye create. I am hoping Cavans atrocious display was down to nerves but that may be wishful thinking. We were so bad that I couldn't give 1 player more than 4/10. Walsh dire in the middle. Cullivan woeful. Mackey marked out of it. Only Martin Reilly tried to make it difficult for Antrim to break. The back 6 roasted. Carr made some very bad mistakes. Leaving Flanagan sweeping was a waste of time. McCUtcheon at corner back just stupid, as was leaving brides on the pitch. LArry did more in 3 mins of the 2nd half than a disinterest Johnstone did in the whole half - what is the story with the superstar attitude he has - disgusting. I agree we will be a handy draw for anyone in the backdoor cos that performance has wiped out any hard earned confidence developed since the start of the yr. Very depressing for true Cavan fans today.

cavan4ever

What a shit midfiield, thats where the problems start and end.   Galligan ans Walsh are not up to it.

P.S Myles noboby called Johnstone plays for Cavan

Cavan4ever ,not to want to kick you while you're down, but your FB line would be a much bigger problem than your midfield IMO. Two of the three took awful roastings yeterday.

cavan4ever

Quote from: imtommygunn on June 28, 2009, 11:07:48 AM
Cavan4ever ,not to want to kick you while you're down, but your FB line would be a much bigger problem than your midfield IMO. Two of the three took awful roastings yeterday.

The best full back line in Ireland would have had problems yesterday due to the amount of ball won by the Antrim around the middle.

Quote from: cavan4ever on June 28, 2009, 11:15:19 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 28, 2009, 11:07:48 AM

The best full back line in Ireland would have had problems yesterday due to the amount of ball won by the Antrim around the middle.

Spot on. Believe me I've been there. Try playing corner back when you can't get the ball past halfway. Thankless task.

Quote from: mylestheslasher on June 28, 2009, 10:00:41 AM
I suppose you were part of that gang of pricks from Antrim on the town side 45 on the hill booing every Cavan free?
Noticed that myself - Antrim fans booing Cavan frees and Cavan points. Uncalled for, especially given that Antrim had a lot more to cheer about than Cavan.

There may have been a load of ball going in the antrim full forward line but whether the antrim man was in front or behind he still won it. That's any of them too. It's not your midfield's fault if you've a man out in front and he can't stay there.

There were definitely a few soccer supporters there alright but to be expected...

cavan4ever

Quote from: imtommygunn on June 28, 2009, 12:55:27 PM
There may have been a load of ball going in the antrim full forward line but whether the antrim man was in front or behind he still won it. That's any of them too. It's not your midfield's fault if you've a man out in front and he can't stay there.

There were definitely a few soccer supporters there alright but to be expected...

I like to blame them anyway  :D.

Quote from: imtommygunn on June 28, 2009, 12:55:27 PM

He did but you can be the best corner back in the world and the dam will burst regardless of the ability of the corner forward.

Don't get me wrong I know they were under a lot of pressure and I've played many's a game in that position and know how tough it is.

They were very very poor from the off though. Two players can not be scapegoated for that cavan performance. It runs much deeper than that.

I said this before and I would still say it. There are no players there of the quality of the 97/98(or whatever year it was) bar Johnston and it's obvious Cavan have struggled to replace this team. Cavan minor teams are usually very good but just fall short - usually it ends up against whoever wins it.

It's hard to believe that some of the underage teams of the last ten years couldn't have provided more quality than was on view yesterday.