Extending the hand of friendship to Unionism: Wise or unwise?

Started by Lar Naparka, April 29, 2009, 11:18:53 PM

As successful as the GAA is, there are people in towns throughout Ireland who would have nothing to do with the GAA and they don't have to be loyalist or protestants to take this stance. Things like their son being run off the fileld for playing with a soccer ball and the residue from old rules from old times still linger.  However, I now consider the GAA to be an all inclusive association to the extent that they are promoting this aspect more now than before.  For me, I would kick ball with a loyalist or proddie any day and have a pint with him after a game.  There was a time when I would not, definitely would not,  like back in the mid sixties, early seventies but while I am too old for the game now I can feel a change about the place that is most welcome.  That's my take on it anyway.

In fairness, Watson may not have been "public representative" in this case and he may have been hard done by with some of this coverage. So he might not bite off the hand of friendship, although others in Antrim would.

http://www.uup.org/newsrooms/latest-news/general/complaint-clarification.php

Ulster Unionist Councillor for South Antrim Adrian Watson has clarified the position of the Ulster Unionist Party following inaccurate comments which appeared on the BBC website which allegedly came from him.

"A story on the BBC website reports that I complained to Tesco following a charity bag pack were children from a local school came along wearing GAA shirts. This is inaccurate. I and the Ulster Unionist Party have no objection whatsoever to Tesco encouraging voluntary, sporting and charitable groups to raise money in their stores.

"It is regrettable that the issue of children collecting money at their local supermarket has received this much negative media attention. The society we are building for the people of Northern Ireland must include a commitment to civil and religious liberty for all.

"I would hope that this does not impact on the ability of other groups to use this scheme to raise money for good causes. I fully recognise that Tesco are well within their right to do provide this service, allowing school groups, clubs and charities the opportunity to raise vital and much needed funds."

"Since the story broke today I have been in touch with the GAA club in question and stressed that I was not involved in the complaint."
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Quote from: armaghniac on April 30, 2009, 11:30:57 AM
In fairness, Watson may not have been "public representative" in this case and he may have been hard done by with some of this coverage. So he might not bite off the hand of friendship, although others in Antrim would.

http://www.uup.org/newsrooms/latest-news/general/complaint-clarification.php

Ulster Unionist Councillor for South Antrim Adrian Watson has clarified the position of the Ulster Unionist Party following inaccurate comments which appeared on the BBC website which allegedly came from him.

"A story on the BBC website reports that I complained to Tesco following a charity bag pack were children from a local school came along wearing GAA shirts. This is inaccurate. I and the Ulster Unionist Party have no objection whatsoever to Tesco encouraging voluntary, sporting and charitable groups to raise money in their stores.

"It is regrettable that the issue of children collecting money at their local supermarket has received this much negative media attention. The society we are building for the people of Northern Ireland must include a commitment to civil and religious liberty for all.

"I would hope that this does not impact on the ability of other groups to use this scheme to raise money for good causes. I fully recognise that Tesco are well within their right to do provide this service, allowing school groups, clubs and charities the opportunity to raise vital and much needed funds."

"Since the story broke today I have been in touch with the GAA club in question and stressed that I was not involved in the complaint."
Fair dues to him for clarifying that.

Quote from: Ari on April 30, 2009, 12:38:52 AM
As a Unionist (albeit as lenient as they come) in the 6 counties (hey, I'm being nice  ;D), must say that GAA is something I would watch when it's on the tv (although with a limited understanding, but I pick bits an pieces up every so often), but it's not something I feel I could get involved in.

I guess it's because I recon I would be looked down upon or something.

Welcome onboard the site, Ari. (There's a terrible pun there, I know.)
Most GAA followers regard themselves as being non-sectarian and non-racist and if they don't go out of their way seeking 'outsiders' to join their ranks, they will not make them feel unwelcome or unwanted.
There is really a two way learning process needed here:
People such yourself might expect to be looked down upon or isolated and distrusted if you turn up at a GAA match or enter a clubhouse for a pint.
Whereas many well-meaning GAA followers may suspect that visitors from the Unionist community might drop by in order to find fault and would have no real intentions of getting involved in any way.
I try to stay away from generalisations but I think it is fair to say that most Nationalists, and GAA followers by extension, distrust advances from the Unionist community, especially from politicians.
The collective experience seems to be that any initiative or proposal will be given a welcome to begin with. Then seemingly minor problems will arise and when they are attended to, everything will appear to be grand again until something else calls for attention. This process will be repeated until whatever is in question is well and truly dead and buried.
In plain English, many Nationalists distrust the sincerity of Unionist politicians. This is especially true when they appear to be conciliatory or open-minded to any degree!
This could very well be the reason why several posters to date have said that politicians should be kept out of any negotiations on this matter.

Is there a GAA club any where, even in the 6 counties, without at least minimal protestant/unionist involvement? I know my own club Portadown has such involvement and has had for years, now surely if it is happening in Portadown of all places its  happening everywhere?

QuoteI try to stay away from generalisations but I think it is fair to say that most Nationalists, and GAA followers by extension, distrust advances from the Unionist community, especially from politicians.

People may be suspicious of advances from politicians. But I disagree that nationalists are suspicious of individuals or community advances. There is a lot of comment about communities along peace lines etc where it is much easier to have a meeting on the Green side of the line.

As for the GAA if people come along they are presumed to be interested and therefore welcome. And even if there is a risk that some people come along to find fault, the welcome and what they actually find might well change many people's views.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Ari

Quote from: thejuice on April 30, 2009, 10:27:56 AM
I believe Adrian Watson said he complained on behalf of his constituents and did not feel offense himself. But we've had this discussion many many times over the last few years I've been on this board.

We know that a significant number of Unionists:

1.  don't like the naming of clubs, trophies and competitions etc,
2.  don't like the playing of Amhráin ná bhFiann in the North
3.  and in some cases even argue about the fact that most clubs are representing Roman Catholic parishes.

and these things haven't changed and probably never will by the looks of things, so there will always be those that can never be reached. But I still think we should make every effort to include those who will be open to joining in, there will be those who may be in other communities who may be willing but don't know how and just need a bit of encouragement. We should be screaming it from the roof tops that all our welcome. Expecting it to happen passively will amount to little. If one family join in, then maybe their neighbors might also and so on and so forth.

The same should be done and I believe in some cases is being done in regards the Eastern European, African and Asian communities. But still feel that more could be done on this issue. Especially in urban areas where immigrant communities can easily get isolated. Multi-lingual websites and adverts should be used. British American Football Association (BAFA) launched a website http://www.getintoamericanfootball.com/ which is very impressive and that game has come on leaps and bounds in the last few years especially with Sky Sports showing live coverage. I think a similar approach would be really work in these cases*.

*I dont mean sell out to Sky Sports in that last sentence.  

Points 1 and 2 are the sticking point for the majority of Unionists who don't want anything to do with the GAA. To be honest, these peoples opinions will never change and they'll never be won over.

Ari

Quote from: Lar Naparka on April 30, 2009, 11:43:26 AM
Quote from: Ari on April 30, 2009, 12:38:52 AM
As a Unionist (albeit as lenient as they come) in the 6 counties (hey, I'm being nice  ;D), must say that GAA is something I would watch when it's on the tv (although with a limited understanding, but I pick bits an pieces up every so often), but it's not something I feel I could get involved in.

I guess it's because I recon I would be looked down upon or something.

Welcome onboard the site, Ari. (There's a terrible pun there, I know.)
Most GAA followers regard themselves as being non-sectarian and non-racist and if they don't go out of their way seeking 'outsiders' to join their ranks, they will not make them feel unwelcome or unwanted.
There is really a two way learning process needed here:
People such yourself might expect to be looked down upon or isolated and distrusted if you turn up at a GAA match or enter a clubhouse for a pint.
Whereas many well-meaning GAA followers may suspect that visitors from the Unionist community might drop by in order to find fault and would have no real intentions of getting involved in any way.
I try to stay away from generalisations but I think it is fair to say that most Nationalists, and GAA followers by extension, distrust advances from the Unionist community, especially from politicians.
The collective experience seems to be that any initiative or proposal will be given a welcome to begin with. Then seemingly minor problems will arise and when they are attended to, everything will appear to be grand again until something else calls for attention. This process will be repeated until whatever is in question is well and truly dead and buried.
In plain English, many Nationalists distrust the sincerity of Unionist politicians. This is especially true when they appear to be conciliatory or open-minded to any degree!
This could very well be the reason why several posters to date have said that politicians should be kept out of any negotiations on this matter.

Thanks!

Wouldn't worry, I don't exactly trust politicians either. Up here they're a bunch of eejits for the most part.  :D

Ari

Quote from: T Fearon on April 30, 2009, 11:58:34 AM
Is there a GAA club any where, even in the 6 counties, without at least minimal protestant/unionist involvement? I know my own club Portadown has such involvement and has had for years, now surely if it is happening in Portadown of all places its  happening everywhere?

There is GAA in Portadown?

I'm originally from Lurgan, I don't think there'd be much protestant/unionist involvement in the clubs there.

Quote from: Ari on April 30, 2009, 12:35:26 PM

I'm originally from Lurgan, I don't think there'd be much protestant/unionist involvement in the clubs there.
Ari that would be a fair enough assumption alright. Can't speak for the other clubs in Lurgan but I know we have been involved with Lurgan Rugby Club at underage in the 2/3 years; but seemingly thats as far as it went.

Ari

Quote from: fitzroyalty on April 30, 2009, 12:44:59 PM
Quote from: Ari on April 30, 2009, 12:35:26 PM

Ari that would be a fair enough assumption alright. Can't speak for the other clubs in Lurgan but I know we have been involved with Lurgan Rugby Club at underage in the 2/3 years; but seemingly thats as far as it went.

Yea, and I can't see that changing any time soon. Recent events will certainly not have helped.  :(

Lar, just as others have said, there are plenty of unionists who are involved in the GAA.  Political unionism most definitely doesn't represent 100% of unionists in its attitude to the GAA.  I know quite a lot of Protestants personally who are heavily involved in their local clubs, what's more is their in-depth knowledge of the game, tactics, etc would put some so-called Gaels to shame.

Quote from: armaghniac on April 30, 2009, 01:10:36 AM
The GAA welcomes everyone, after all a DUP election candidate had played for a team in Dungannon for several years! But it is important to keep saying it. Be sure to send information on clubs to all schools and not just Catholic ones, invite all councillors where you invite some, don't let Sinn Fein take over clubs as an extension of their cumann...  There is a tendency in the GAA for families to be involved in the GAA for generations and having put in the work over the years there can be a feeling that outsiders aren't needed, no just unionists but anyone. The GAA needs to overcome this.

What he said.

Quote from: ardmhachaabu on April 30, 2009, 08:49:00 PM
Lar, just as others have said, there are plenty of unionists who are involved in the GAA.  Political unionism most definitely doesn't represent 100% of unionists in its attitude to the GAA.  I know quite a lot of Protestants personally who are heavily involved in their local clubs, what's more is their in-depth knowledge of the game, tactics, etc would put some so-called Gaels to shame.

I'm not having that. Prods know more about the game than good honest to goodess fenians Gaels? Did your parents not teach you you were better than them at everything?  ;) 

What type of unpolarized world do you live in  ;)

I'm from a small club. I manage one of the underage teams. We have 3 protestants starting most weeks. Without those 3 we wouldn't be competitive. In order to survive, our club (and every bigot in it) now realises that we must encourage all children of every race and creed. As well as making our team stronger, their presence has thought their team-mates tolerance etc...

One of them had to listen to a good bit of abuse last year in a game, so he borrowed one of his team-mates Celtic jersies to wear out past the opposition afterwards just to confuse them!!