LENT

Started by wherefromreferee?, January 27, 2009, 12:06:23 PM

Quote from: Celt_Man on February 16, 2010, 03:25:15 PM
Think I'll give up the Demon Drink.... obviously not for Paddy's day...

Jaysus anyone else when you were a young fella give up sweets and chocolate during lent but that didn't mean you couldn't buy and stockpile them...  You'd absolutely gourge yourself on them on Paddy's day when Lent "took a wee break" and then again on Easter Sunday...

Come to think of it, that's not a bad idea when applied to drink too...

Ohh aye Jesus decide to have a fish supper on St Patricks day too ::)...lol :D :D :D

I usually go off the drink during the Lent and it's never too much bother for me. But I've a few things on during Lent this year, so I'm not going off it the year.

Celt_Man

Quote from: illdecide on February 16, 2010, 03:31:26 PM
Quote from: Celt_Man on February 16, 2010, 03:25:15 PM
Think I'll give up the Demon Drink.... obviously not for Paddy's day...

Jaysus anyone else when you were a young fella give up sweets and chocolate during lent but that didn't mean you couldn't buy and stockpile them...  You'd absolutely gourge yourself on them on Paddy's day when Lent "took a wee break" and then again on Easter Sunday...

Come to think of it, that's not a bad idea when applied to drink too...

Ohh aye Jesus decide to have a fish supper on St Patricks day too ::)...lol :D :D :D

That's good enough for me so!!
GAA Board Six Nations Fantasy Champion 2010

last two years stayed off drink and last year also was off sweets as well.
thinking about going off sweets again this year.
Wont be going off drink, though I am sure the missus will suggest that tonight !!
Have proven that I can do it if I want to, now just dont want to having done so prev.
maybe I'll try being nice to people during lent instead !

Fiodoir Ard Mhacha

...yous could try going to Mass every day in Lent instead of giving up something like tha booze.....
"Something wrong with your eyes?....
Yes, they're sensitive to questions!"

Celt_Man

Quote from: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on February 16, 2010, 06:24:18 PM
...yous could try going to Mass every day in Lent instead of giving up something like tha booze.....

They have mass every day???
GAA Board Six Nations Fantasy Champion 2010

The Worker

Quote from: Celt_Man on February 16, 2010, 06:25:39 PM
Quote from: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on February 16, 2010, 06:24:18 PM

They have mass every day???

none on easter saturday

Fiodoir Ard Mhacha

None on Good Friday either. And the 40 days only goes from tomorrow to Palm Sunday.....
"Something wrong with your eyes?....
Yes, they're sensitive to questions!"

Agnes Dipesto

Will give up chocolate and crisps. Did this last year and didn't break it once. Going to try and give up white bread too. This will be more difficult as I love the stuff. Not giving up drink, not a chance.

Lent is starting to worry me - Ive yet to make the verbal committments to myself of all the things I decided I was going to do.

Im going off the junk food and chocolate, and I probably will go off sushi too (its my weekly treat)

However - I am also toying with the idea of going to the gym every day, and giving up the drink. I do love to go for a few pints after soccer on a friday though, and I cant seem to bring myself to say - yes I will go off it.  :-\

(None of this is for any specific religious reason, I think I just use lent because it has a set time frame).

And so it begins  :'(

Quote from: ziggysego on February 17, 2010, 12:34:45 AM
And so it begins  :'(

If I catch you on Facebook I'm telling god

The first 9 hours have been easy lads ;)

Going to try going to Mass every morning again, plus a couple of other things. Not going to do as much "giving up" this year, going to try and "do" more things.

I've had no creme egg at all this year. :(