Kerry v Mayo, Tralee 21 March 2010

Started by Barney, March 18, 2010, 03:31:23 PM

The Mayo man involved was right imo to stand up and be counted. Lord Christ, Billy Fitz seemed to be frothing at the mouth any time a Kerry man got the ball. He's so annoying at times.

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 24, 2010, 12:34:13 AM
Quote from: moysider on March 23, 2010, 11:59:00 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on March 23, 2010, 10:22:38 PM
Quote from: stephenite on March 23, 2010, 10:18:11 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 23, 2010, 09:55:00 PM
Quote from: ludermor on March 23, 2010, 08:28:20 AM
Id like a PM as well if nothing else to satisify myself that Billy Fitz over reacted

Me too...only if a Ballina man would tell me!

Done - how is it I know and me d'other side of the world

can i get a pm too or is it only a mayo thing

Yearrah Magic, weren't you there? You posted earlier that a sham beside you called a boot to the face. From 2 different sources at this stage I believe slap was thrown by a Mayo player who was prevented from making a supporting run and ended up wrestling on the ground with a Kerry player. Ok not gone on this type of thing but this is one of the good guys and maybe no harm to see him not being messed around. I ve seen this lad play since he was 15 and I can say for def there is nt an ugly intent in his head but is as brave as a lion. That he would kick somebody in the face is very hard to believe and would be very disappointing tbh, if true.
But from what I hear it was striking with fist. Ok, red if seen, but nobody saw it that mattered.

Would seem to be really out of character if it involves the person I think it was. Magickingdom your post is the first I heard of a foot being involved & to be honest I would be almost certain that was not how it happened. I reckon it was just a bit of handbags, didn't one of the officials talk to the ref. and all that resulted was a few yellows.

i didnt see it as it was off the ball, i justed posted what was said but that cant be relied on.

Quote from: muppet on March 24, 2010, 02:20:49 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on March 23, 2010, 07:31:01 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 23, 2010, 07:28:13 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on March 23, 2010, 07:27:01 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 22, 2010, 10:49:11 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on March 22, 2010, 10:11:34 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 22, 2010, 09:44:52 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on March 22, 2010, 09:34:45 PM
No fight on TG4, can anyone who was there let us know the story?

Kerry CB did a deal with Mayo CB to have editorial control over the highlights.

Nothing to see here............move on please (to Tuam or Healy Park preferably)

ah lads, spill

Friend of mine was at it and I heard the story but I m saying nothing. I wonder did the highlights deliberately decide not to show anything because they dont want to be responsible for getting players suspended, if ye know what I mean.

i didnt see it but the guy beside me went nuts saying a mayo player (it wasnt no 4 or no. 6) kicked one of the kerry players in the face when he was on the ground. work it out.... but the guy beside me wanted to call the cops and have him arrested.

Did he call the Gardai in Croke Park last September  ::)

we never call the gardai, thats why he didnt ;) if a certain kerry player had done that the indo would have it on the front page

If a certain Kerry player had done that he would have written a book about it.

yeah but hed have plenty of achievements to fill the rest of the book  ;)

i think were getting away from the fact that mayo won and kerry look Feck when they had to go beyond there 1st 15. and byran sheehan was probably their best player and he didnt get a look in last year, there Tomás oSé and galvin to comeback in but it would be a massive achievement to retain the Sam this year
would put O'connor up there with Micko if they do
IK think he will have to trust he Barry John's and the rest of the Kids
BTW
Are there lots of Welsh Rugby fans down in kerry. at least its an improvement on thosee other wankers in Red

Quote from: rosnarun on March 25, 2010, 12:00:56 AM
i think were getting away from the fact that mayo won and kerry look Feck when they had to go beyond there 1st 15. and byran sheehan was probably their best player and he didnt get a look in last year, there Tomás oSé and galvin to comeback in but it would be a massive achievement to retain the Sam this year
BTW
Are there lots of Welsh Rugby fans down in kerry. at least its an improvement on thosee other w**kers in Red

That s the thing. Kerry s A team last 10 years were a formidable bunch. So was Tyrone's. But a lot of the men that made them formidable are not around anymore or are coming towards the end of days. Does nt matter how good the manager and systems in place are the alpha players cant be replaced with replicas and normal service continues. its never been that way and never will.

surely that is the point of systems, to limit the dependence of influential players,.
if you are only dependant on great players then a manger deserves little credit. its when a manager can turn out successive teams without many great players that is when he deserves credit . (not wanting to starti a war but ) I would suggest that is what has happened in tyrone over the last decade or so, unlike Armagh who were dependant and the same core group and now they have all left Armagh are back to being an average division 2 team and no real threat come summer.
But when a system really shows its working is when managers and all can change and success continues as in kerry football or cork/Kilkenny hurling . that is when every once can share the kudos
I know  cork might seem like a strange example but would you bet against them winning the hurling before Aramgh regain sam?

Quote from: moysider on March 25, 2010, 12:38:43 AM
BTW
Are there lots of Welsh Rugby fans down in kerry. at least its an improvement on thosee other w**kers in Red

That s the thing. Kerry s A team last 10 years were a formidable bunch. So was Tyrone's. But a lot of the men that made them formidable are not around anymore or are coming towards the end of days. Does nt matter how good the manager and systems in place are the alpha players cant be replaced with replicas and normal service continues. its never been that way and never will.

aham, where were the alpha players for kerry when we got trashed by cork, struggled by longford and got by against sligo last year. for the millionth time its about peaking in sept...

Fair enough, magic, your point seems reasonable enough -at first sight that is.
Longford and Sligo, the latter especially, could have knocked Kerry out of the competition and then the question of peaking in September would not have arisen.
I doubt if Jacko and his men deliberately set out to do the minimum against either so they could spare themselves for the inevitable final in September. I feel they would admit that they were damn lucky at times to make it that far. Credit is given where it's due and they certainly won out on merit but they cut it close at times.

Quote from: magickingdom on March 25, 2010, 06:49:06 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 25, 2010, 12:38:43 AM
BTW

aham, where were the alpha players for kerry when we got trashed by cork, struggled by longford and got by against sligo last year. for the millionth time its about peaking in sept...

Dunno if you re agree or disagree with me there? Yeah its about peaking in Sept. But would Longford and Sligo win AIs if they could peak in Sept. Only teams with special players can win Sam. It helps if the management can pitch it right but you need the quality. At times last year alpha ( no apologies for using the term) players like Tomás O Sé (my final MOM) Kennelly and McCarty ( huge impact for the pitch time he had) were the difference. Of course everybody was flying in Sept. but I would be of the opinion that if any of the trio I named above were absent for the campaign Kerry would not have won last year. With Galvin they were the 3 most important players for Kerry last year.That stamp of player cannot be created by even the most scientific training. Losing to Cork was nothing new and with the players available they were always going to find a way against the others.