Sean Og wants pay for play

Started by Minder, April 29, 2010, 10:22:11 AM

Logan

I don't want to see professionalism
I don't think it's a benefit or improvement in the game
I don't think we can sustain it (as is with 32+ counties)

I would like to see two things though for the players ...

1. Strict CAB like investigation of County Managers (this is one reason why many players are asking for money)
2. Proper care (medical bills, meals, travel expenses all paid for immediately - not 6-12 months after)
3. Tax Breaks or tax incentives (so that at source a player on a county panel can apply and pay reduced tax)

2 & 3 Should also be enforced for County Managers

amallon

If the players are getting paid would the Bosman rule not kick in?  Players would be free to transfer to whatever county they wanted as its illegal to stop staff from leaving one emloyer to work for another.  How could the Corks, Kerry's and Dublins be stopped from buying other poorer counties star players? 
Disclaimer: I am responsible for MY comments only.  I don't own this site.

Quote from: Logan on May 03, 2010, 02:38:54 PM

1. Strict CAB like investigation of County Managers (this is one reason why many players are asking for money)
2. Proper care (medical bills, meals, travel expenses all paid for immediately - not 6-12 months after)
3. Tax Breaks or tax incentives (so that at source a player on a county panel can apply and pay reduced tax)

can't source tax breaks for an amateur. you'd be laughed out of it

Quote from: put-it-up on May 03, 2010, 02:36:09 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on May 03, 2010, 01:46:15 AM
Quote from: put-it-up on May 03, 2010, 12:59:22 AM
You can understand why IC players would like some sort of payment.

Think about it, nearly everyone involved in an IC set up is paid - except the players. I know of one player that retired and went into coaching and was getting 150 a night for training a team.

The player's are the ones that fill stadiums - not coaches.

Just off the top of my head thinking about people who would be receiving cash for being involved with Cavan:

Manager - Paid
Physio - Paid
Masseur - Paid
Groundsman - Paid
Secretary - Full-Time position
GK coach - paid

Personally I wouldn't like to see GAA go professional but I do agree that a certain and significant portion of gate receipts should be divided up between the two participating team's that fill a ground on that day.

Like I would hate to see GAA player's on contracts and only playing for cash but I personally would have no problem whatsoever with players receving a chunk from the gate receipts.

and there's me thinking it was the supporters filled the stadiums...

There is always one smart arse around here ;D

You think all the supporters would pay into a ground where there were no player's in action?

We pay into the ground to be entertained. I wouldn't imagine there are too many industries in the world where the entertainers got none of the profits. In a circus, i'm sure the acts get some money. Imagine a stand-up comedian selling out a venue and not getting a cent of what was taken in at the door. If professional athletes knew how hard GAA players worked for the love of the game, I would say they would think that GAA lads are barking mad ;D

IC players should be given a few extra shillings from the gate receipts if you ask me..

So if the ground is full at a club championship game should the players get paid as by your reckoning they have filled it. It goes on and on... if there were no club underage coaches there'd be no players, if there were no club comittees there'd be no players etc etc...  to hell with your elitism...

And if there were no players there would be no need for coaches,committees etc etc etc although Eugene McGee reckons the Committees would continue holding meetings anyway  :D
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Logan

Quote from: INDIANA on May 03, 2010, 06:44:52 PM

?
Eh.... obviously then it wouldn't be amateur then would it?

We're talking about allowing players to be rewarded in a manner that doesn't destroy the game and sport.

Reillers

Quote from: Logan on May 03, 2010, 08:37:07 PM

?

We're talking about allowing players to be rewarded in a manner that doesn't destroy the game and sport.

What people need to realise is that things are going to change, and it's up to the GAA to control it, so some concessions will probably have to be made. The more resistance there is the more damage could be done. When it is in the hands of the GAA at least there is control to it.

The attitude of some club members, the we don't get anything, why should they..for me, is as harmful as the other side.

For me..If they're good enough to play IC, fair play, I wont begrudge anyone anything. I'm not in anyway suggesting or agreeing with pay for play, but I wont begrudge anyone sponsorships or concessions they get for playing.
But there are some people who can possibly do and as much harm as the people saying that the likes of the GPA and the professional aspect are destroying the game, the people who dig their heels in and refuse to give in to any sort of concessions, are putting the game in danger all the same.

I'm sure the majority do not want pay for play, and are only looking for some sort of recognition, if concessions are made, even if they are small ones, it will make a difference, but the more resistance they meet, the more they'll fight.

dowling

What happened with all you boys who accused others of being paranoid, obsessed  or anti-gpa just for the sake of it. 'Pay for play', it will never happen, the gpa don't want it and the players don't either. Well, well, well. Sure Donal óg looked into it and it isn't feasible so that's the end of that.
Of course it's on the agenda and in all likelihood will come into being.
Partly because of what the pro pay element say; so many in admin, but particularly in Croke Park are being paid that the powers that be will not have the grounds to oppose payment, and yes managers get paid and a fair few others.
The problem is sustaining so many when the players' payments come into play and for so many reasons it will fundamentally change the GAA.
But before I make my mind up on this what are the reasons again?
Oh aye, because players give so much commitment.  No, no, no. That's an old reason.
Got it now. Because so many go to watch individual players and there are thousands at matches. No, no, no. Only part of it.
It's because others get monies so why shouldn't they.
Or it's because of the strength of sponsorship.
Or it's maybe because if they don't get a cut the gpa will try to undermine the GAA's sponsorship and be as disruptive as possible.
So why haven't the now recognised gpa come out and said 'pay for play' is not on the agenda and Sean óg and the other boys are only indulging in wishful thinking?
Wouldn't be that Sean óg's interview and the other boys' support was orchestrated would it?

Anyone else who can list a reason previously given for pay for play feel free.

Quote from: Reillers on May 03, 2010, 09:47:50 PM
Quote from: Logan on May 03, 2010, 08:37:07 PM

?

What people need to realise is that things are going to change, and it's up to the GAA to control it, so some concessions will probably have to be made. The more resistance there is the more damage could be done.  the more resistance they meet, the more they'll fight.

That sounds like a strike threat to me?

I would've thought that by formally recognising the GPA, giving them offices in Croke Park and funding player welfare programs would have been a huge concession.

Exactly what more are you're lot looking for? A free jeep to compliment the sponsored car?

QuoteWhat happened with all you boys who accused others of being paranoid, obsessed  or anti-gpa just for the sake of it. 'Pay for play', it will never happen, the gpa don't want it and the players don't either. Well, well, well. Sure Donal óg looked into it and it isn't feasible so that's the end of that.

Will you go away out of it Scully. Not that I'm surprised you fail to grasp it, but there is a difference between wanting something and actively seeking it. Of course every player in the country would like to be paid for doing something they love but I don't know of even one who thinks it is likely or is willing to fight for it. FFS Sean Og won't even be eligible for it should it ever come to pass so he has nothing to personally gain by talking about professionalism. The man gave his opinion, he isn't the brightest spark anyway, but that is all he did. The GPA have said it isn't feasible and everyone else knows it isn't feasible so it won't happen but don't let that stop your paranoid, scaremongering ramblings.

dowling

Get a reality check Zulu.
Do ye think that will be the end of it?

Quote from: Zulu on May 04, 2010, 05:21:01 PM
QuoteWhat happened with all you boys who accused others of being paranoid, obsessed  or anti-gpa just for the sake of it. 'Pay for play', it will never happen, the gpa don't want it and the players don't either. Well, well, well. Sure Donal óg looked into it and it isn't feasible so that's the end of that.

Will you go away out of it Scully. Not that I'm surprised you fail to grasp it, but there is a difference between wanting something and actively seeking it. Of course every player in the country would like to be paid for doing something they love but I don't know of even one who thinks it is likely or is willing to fight for it. FFS Sean Og won't even be eligible for it should it ever come to pass so he has nothing to personally gain by talking about professionalism. The man gave his opinion, he isn't the brightest spark anyway, but that is all he did. The GPA have said it isn't feasible and everyone else knows it isn't feasible so it won't happen but don't let that stop your paranoid, scaremongering ramblings.

A bit presumptious of you to presume 'every' player would like to be paid. There are players gave their 'grants' to their clubs and Phillip Jordan and Oisin McConville spoke out strongly agianst GPA proposed strike for money a few years ago. Not all the players have lost sight of the ethos of the GAA.   

How about a voluntary extra euro to be added to the price of a ticket for every game - to be divided equally among the two panels involved in the game.

Wouldnt cost the GAA a cent.
Those against pay for play should not pay the voluntary euro.
Those who would like to see the players get a few bob and can afford it, can give the voluntary euro. At a wild guess I'd imagine about 10% to 20% would pay the extra euro.
While the GAA may be involved in administering it they would get Revenue approval beforehand that this is a gift from the public rather than salary, so the players are not employees and there are no employment laws to get mixed up in. Under gift tax law, players can get up to about €10k tax free, and after that pay tax at 25%.
Ensure transfers are kept very tight so players can't follow the buck.

Quote from: dowling on May 04, 2010, 07:59:35 PM
Get a reality check Zulu.
Do ye think that will be the end of it?

There might be a few more talking about it in papers but yes I do think that will be the end of it. The GPA accept we can't afford it and very few in the wider GAA community want it so it won't happen but sure you couldn't care less about realities like that your too busy making up fantastical plots for world domination by the GPA.

QuoteA bit presumptious of you to presume 'every' player would like to be paid.

I obviously don't know for sure but I'd be surprised if serious IC players wouldn't like to play football/hurling full time and not have to get up for work every Monday morning. Giving your grant to your club doesn't mean you wouldn't like to be a professional footballer in an ideal world and wanting to get paid for doping something you love doesn't mean you've abandoned any ethos.

mattman

Quote from: Hound on May 04, 2010, 09:01:17 PM
How about a voluntary extra euro to be added to the price of a ticket for every game - to be divided equally among the two panels involved in the game.

Wouldnt cost the GAA a cent.
Those against pay for play should not pay the voluntary euro.
Those who would like to see the players get a few bob and can afford it, can give the voluntary euro. At a wild guess I'd imagine about 10% to 20% would pay the extra euro.
While the GAA may be involved in administering it they would get Revenue approval beforehand that this is a gift from the public rather than salary, so the players are not employees and there are no employment laws to get mixed up in. Under gift tax law, players can get up to about €10k tax free, and after that pay tax at 25%.
Ensure transfers are kept very tight so players can't follow the buck.

That's a fine idea in theory, but who''s going to pay extra to pay someone for something they haven't been paid for so far?

On another point, what would happen if every supporter got behind the idea and paid the extra few bob?  Would each player get the same amount or would ego get in the way (it always does with money) ?

Would a big point scorer get more money than someone else?