Armagh GAA "Fight Night" lives up to billing. (No comment or opinion, Tony?

Started by Evil Genius, October 14, 2009, 01:17:23 PM

Final Whistle

Tony Baloney-it is not uncommon for four or five bouncers to be escorting one man to the door in the bunker. Plus they will make sure your head is used to open doors all  while nipping, pulling, hauling in an unappropriate fashion. Iv seen many a drunk call one out for none to come forth but to come two three four at once to administer a kicking. Tight Lads.

Quote from: T Fearon on October 15, 2009, 09:19:49 AM
Actually I do have an opinion on this, and it would be in tandem with that of EG. I think its a fecking bizarre way for a GAA orientated body (or indeed any other so called respectable legitimate body)to fund raise,encouraging macho types to "fight" in an environment where there is alcohol flowing, a recipe for disaster. This shite might work well as a reality tv concept but not anywhere else

What where the organisers thinking of and will they ever get a bit of sense?

Stick to Mights at the Races for feck sake. >:(

Totally agree. Predictable outcome. Stupid idea that should not be repeated.

Quote from: T Fearon on October 15, 2009, 09:29:32 AM
Its a f**king stupid idea. Most amateur and professional  boxers are nutters anyway, mix this with those wanting to have a go and alcohol and you have a recipe for disaster.

I think you guys are all right...it was the actual boxers that started it ::) maybe if we'd have done the door instead of them other twats then we'd have sorted any problems out without needing the peelers (after all we're all nuts anyway)

I wouldn't rule out extreme provocation, with some cheeky visitor from Down shouting out "Paddy O'Rourke"

T O Hare

Tell me this lads.. what was McNultys and Watters fight like??? Did Ronan Murtagh win? and how did my old school mate Mickey Austin fair out????
"2008 Gaaboard Cheltenham fantasy league winner"

Quote from: T O Hare on October 15, 2009, 12:50:51 PM
Tell me this lads.. what was McNultys and Watters fight like??? Did Ronan Murtagh win? and how did my old school mate Mickey Austin fair out????

Watters and McNulty fight was the worst fight of the night and Paul Watters should have got the decision...Who was R Murtagh fighting and Micky Austin didn't have the goolies for it ;)

T O Hare

Quote from: illdecide on October 15, 2009, 12:59:00 PM
Quote from: T O Hare on October 15, 2009, 12:50:51 PM

Watters and McNulty fight was the worst fight of the night and Paul Watters should have got the decision...Who was R Murtagh fighting and Micky Austin didn't have the goolies for it ;)

Dont know who Murtagh was fighting seen his name in the paper!!!! Austy would talk a good scrap(after ten pints and ten half uns) :D :D
"2008 Gaaboard Cheltenham fantasy league winner"

JUst retired

One of the big problems  would appear to have been the actions of the PSNI. Who else would spray pepper spray to clear out a hall,where people were doing nothing. The fight was outside with the bouncers. The peelers then antagonise everybody and get them all out side. Some crowd control ability shown there. Any wonder people lost the rag. :o

give her dixie

Well folks, I have been following this thread with a vested interest, as i'm helping a charity who are
running one of these "Vegas Fight Nights" in a couple of weeks time.
The concept is a good idea, however, the costs involved are incredibly high.
The fixed costs for ring, referee's, judges, etc, etc run to well over £5,000, and then there is their
commision on ticket sales, which is 15% of ALL sales.
So, commision on a night like this was in excess of £4,500.
Therefore, it would take over £12,000 to put on a night like this.
For a club to run one of these nights, it could be done for a
whole lot less, and therefore making more profit for themselves.

The trouble that flared up on the night is no reflection on the organisers,
and to be honest, take any 1,000 people from any county, fill them with drink
at a fight night, some tear gas and the PSNI, then you will be gauranteed trouble!!
As far as i'm aware, the entertainment on the night was fantastic, and it's a shame that
the trouble at the end spoilt what was a good night.
It is a black eye for the GAA, and for Armagh folk who didn't deserve it.
next stop, September 10, for number 4......

Quote from: T Fearon on October 15, 2009, 03:16:22 PM
Funny, there is no peeler intervention at Gala Dinners, Auctions and the like.

Boxing is for macho scumbags and will largely attract similar types, and is a recipe for trouble I hope this stupid event is never repeated.

Funny for all the fights I've ever been to I can't remember any crowd trouble unlike that soccer game you run about after and the fecking inbreeds that associate themselves with it.

I am shocked at some of the comments especially from Aerlik and Tony about boxing.  Boxing is a sport. A combat sport just like Olympic or Greco Roman Wrestling, just like Mixed Martial Arts or Judo for example.
The skill required to compete at an amateur level is on a par with any other sport.  The dedication and determination to make it at a professional level is above and beyond what other sports require and aside from Boxing, most combative sports "stars" get paid a mediocre amount of money.
I have competed at various levels in Boxing and MMA and I'm certainly not a "nutter" nor would I label the majority of people I have ever trained with as "nutters".  There are always exceptions of course, as in every sport, and we all know our fair share of "nutters" on and off the field.
The incident at the Hotel in Armagh boils down to mis-management by the Security Staff, who have, for the longest time, been completely unprofessional, ill-prepared and badly managed.  The buck stops with them and the Hotel for employing them.

I can't understand why some of you do not get what happened here. A large group, mostly men, gather to watch other men fight in a ring. A fair few of the watching men (I would guess about 70%+) are drinking. They watch numerous fights getting excited about it. Some of these men are from opposing clubs and will have 'history'.

There is a good chance that the above scenario will end up in trouble with or without the added problem of the PSNI/bouncers.

A very bad idea and the GAA should distance themselves from such.

For some people to openly attack boxing as a sport is just crazy.  Cage fighting is another story but the art of boxing when mastered is a joy to watch, a great sport.