Gaelic players announce media ban

Started by ziggysego, June 26, 2009, 09:20:11 PM

Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 28, 2009, 09:16:19 AM
Well yesterday evening after I made that last post above I took the bull by the horns and rang Dessies about my membership.  "Come out to DCU and meet me sez he, I am meeting Conor there to give him his wages early this week and shur you can join us for a few minutes."  Well for balls alone for suggesting that I sit down beside a Mayo man after them landing poor little Donie Brennan on his arse and turning him upside down in the square the very first minute he ran on as a sub in Croke Park in that quarter final.  In fairness I went out with fire in my belly about some issues I had and by the time I left I wondered why in the name of Jaysus anyone would travel from Sligo or Donegal to Rathkeale to pray at a stump of a tree when you could drop at this mans feet any day of the week.

Not allowed to say what was discussed but as I left he came all the way out to the car park, said good luck now, thanks for the spuds and put this note in my hand:

This 125yr celebrations,
it's over, we have all had enough,
It's time to move on and give us recognition,
or else we'll just have to get tough.
They spend more time up there in Headquarters,
discussing old times going back to 'our roots'
And useless debate about things that don't matter,
like who would or would not lace Christy Rings boots.
All the smart talk about Club Energiser,
we just drink before each game to quench thirst,
Ye'd think we were back in the thirties,
when a man cut hay and milked twenty cows first.

All we want is better injured players welfare,
We're not talking scenes like Omaha Beach,
Now that Francie's not about, there are less players laid out,
and Nine Hundred Grand is well in our reach.
Lads like Conor are playing a blinder,
But at the Connaught Final my heart really sank,
When he pulled up his jersey to reveal Michael Jackson,
Instead of the Halifax Bank.
If Mayo get to the All-Ireland,
he may have to take down his pants,
because what I'm hearing, every day on the wireless,
I think we are fooked with the grants.

Thats why we can't delay, there are pensions to pay,
and cars to be kept on the road,
while GAA Discussion boarders and bar stool supporters,
continue to laugh and to goad.
We have two million now in the kitty,
thats our executives pay sorted out,
So I can't understand for a minute,
what all of the bitching's about.
We have now almost 2000 members,
Where they are from, well who really cares,
but sometimes I laugh when I realize,
there are only about forty of them players.
Thanks for your time and your money,
And for coming to see me today,
And tell all your friends on your discussion board,
That the GPA won't go away !

Well done Bud. Having a blinder as usual.

Good man Bud, I knew you'd eventually come to appreciate the GPA for the wondrous, wholesome and immovably venal virtuous organisation that it really is. Good stuff!  :D

QuoteGood man Bud, I knew you'd eventually come to appreciate the GPA

Not yet, between yourself and meself the bag of spuds had no effect, I am on probation.
Dessie said it is a matter of trust and he finds it hard to trust a Laois man after us trying to set up the Dub's in the K Club by foisting Micko on them mid season and there were issues with a few comments I made on the board a few months ago along with my avitar.  Ah, I'd say we will work it out though.

Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 28, 2009, 10:29:06 AM
QuoteGood man Bud, I knew you'd eventually come to appreciate the GPA

Not yet, between yourself and meself the bag of spuds had no effect, I am on probation.
Dessie said it is a matter of trust and he finds it hard to trust a Laois man after us trying to set up the Dub's in the K Club by foisting Micko on them mid season and there were issues with a few comments I made on the board a few months ago along with my avitar.  Ah, I'd say we will work it out though.

Try 2 bags of spuds.  ;)

Is it  31st July 2008 or 2009 that the Halifax Credit Card offer expires, I think I have 'till tomorrow and if I take it I can go on the drink for a week and I get 100 euro in cash from Dessie absolutely free to spend along with an approximate 4% difference with MBNA.  I'll let you know when I come back from test driving me Opel.

Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 29, 2009, 07:46:25 AM
Is it  31st July 2008 or 2009 that the Halifax Credit Card offer expires, I think I have 'till tomorrow and if I take it I can go on the drink for a week and I get 100 euro in cash from Dessie absolutely free to spend along with an approximate 4% difference with MBNA.  I'll let you know when I come back from test driving me Opel.

Opel Fruits ?

gerrykeegan

Bud, for your information (although I am sure you all ready know as you are operating at the coal face these days) Brian Whelahan has been appointed as at 12/7/09 as a director of the Gaelic players Management Company Limited

Sean Cavanagh was also appointed a director
2007  2008 & 2009 Fantasy Golf Winner
(A legitimately held title unlike Dinny's)

cornafean

Is it a coincidence that the forms to appoint Whelehan and Cavanagh as directors were filed with the CRO within a couple of weeks of Bud's post on 1 July?  :o

Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 01, 2009, 06:21:16 PM
There are only two shareholders in the Gaelic Players Management Company, one with a 75% stake and the other with a 25% stake.  Since it is not a company without shares and limited by guarantee, as is normal for a non-profit making company, I would assume that their assets will be taxed.

I did accounts for a company there a while ago and the company owed P.A.Y.E. and a few bob in Vat.  Mr Tax man went directly into the companies bank account and scooped out what he wanted without as much as a warning.  I applied for Grant Aid from the Enterprise Board and I was told that I had to produce a Tax Clearance Cert even though I was only starting a new company.   What I am saying is, how can another company apply for a Government Grant if they owe VAT, or better still, how did they get previous grants at a time when they appeared to owe vat?

Here is the information that is available from the CRO Site.
Donal O'Neill and a guy called David Burke own 75% and 25% of the shareholding respectively.
The company had net assets of €159,694 as at the end of December. This is a sizeable sum for a company owned by only 2 individuals in toays stormy weather. The company paid Corporation Tax of  €21,209. The notes to the accounts do not include (as they should) a reconciliation of how this figure is calculated, but the accounts do note that the entire Corporation Tax bill arose in respect of profits charged at 12.5%., this would indicate that the company made profits of €169,672 in 2007, again a tidy sum (after directors salaries etc) to be shared among two individuals.
The movement in 2007 in "equity shareholders funds"  as per the Balance Sheet is €145,273, which ties up pretty closely with the post-tax profits of €148,463 as indicated by the Corporation Tax bill, as above. The accounts record the company as owing €78,590 to the Revenue as at 31 December 2007 and €52,973 as at 31 December 2006.  So was this owed when they got original funding? This would normally appear to indicate an ongoing problem with VAT arrears and/or cashflow, which is hard to understand.  The Balance Sheet figure for "Creditors falling due within 1 year" of €193,041 does not tie up with the total of the corresponding note, Note 5, €103,226.   Why?  I don't know, especially when the accounts were audited without qualification.  the Balance Sheet includes "Creditors falling due within 1 year" of €93,056, which is referenced to note 6, but  Note 6 does not appear in the notes. The notes jump from Note 5 to Note 7. Again the same omission was made in the 2006 accounts. The company had "cash in bank and at hand" of €121,125 as at 31 December 2007, which is very curious given the existence of the large VAT liability as at that date. The  "cash in bank and at hand" as at 31 December 2006 was €247,626. The company's debtors as at 31 December 2008 were €319,180, a massive increase on the corresponding figure of €63,510 a year earlier.  Ciaran McArdle was appointed as director on 1 October 2008 and signed the accounts in this capacity on 22 October 2008. The company's 2008 B1 return was made up to 30 September 2008 (the maximum 9 months after the year end of 31/12/07) and Ciaran McArdle signed the B1 as a director on 24 October 2008. McArdle's appointment as a director after the year-end is not recorded in the accounts.
The auditor's report on the abridged accounts is dated 24-10-08, two days after the directors signed the accounts. The date on which the auditor's report on the full financial accounts is required to be stated as part of the auditor's report on the abridged accounts.  it is standard auditing practice to date the audit report concurrent with the date the directors have signed the accounts. (Note in this regard that, as the date is handwritten on the audit report, the final digit of this date is a bit unclear.). Note 1.4 indicates that the company has a defined contribution pension scheme for its employees. There is no mention in the financial statements of any amounts owing by the company to the directors at the year end, or of any transactions between the company and the directors during the year. There is no mention either of any connection between Ciaran McArdle (who is listed as an "accountant" on the B10 return filed with the CRO to record his appointment as director) and the auditors Kearney McArdle McEnaney & Company, so it can probably be assumed that no such connection exists simply because you can't be a director of a company and be the companies auditor at t6he same time, although a certain Hugh Hannigan gave this law a whole bnew meaning about five years ago. So basicly, after all that I haven't a clue who the GPA are, how much money they have, how much money they owe or how much money they want and what they want it for
Boycott Hadron. Support your local particle collider.

Ah for jaysus sake cornafean don't be bringing that up again, ye'll get me thrown out an I only after becoming a member.

Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 30, 2009, 07:41:20 PM
Ah for jaysus sake cornafean don't be bringing that up again, ye'll get me thrown out an I only after becoming a member.

Bud will be a director soon too.  ;)

Quote from: orangeman on July 30, 2009, 07:58:03 PM

Media Director? Entertainment Director?

Quote from: ludermor on July 30, 2009, 08:02:30 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 30, 2009, 07:58:03 PM

Media Director? Entertainment Director?

I'm pretty sure it won't be Finance director. He'll not be let near the cheque book.

QuoteBud, for your information (although I am sure you all ready know as you are operating at the coal face these days) Brian Whelahan has been appointed as at 12/7/09 as a director of the Gaelic players Management Company Limited

Sean Cavanagh was also appointed a director

Only got a chance to see that there now, been busy for a day or two.  I certainly will be raising issues about this at our next meeting !  They need to appoint a few more onto the board of directors if they are trying to promote an inclusive organizeation.  In the first instance let me say that there are no two players that I admire more than the two new directors, both have made immense contributions to the GAA but:

While Sid may bring back a few bob to John Troy in his own county who is hobbling around on crutches for no other reason than an old hurling injury I would have serious issues with Mr. Whelehan being the sole hurling representative on the board of directors.  Firstly Brian ran as a candidate for Fine Gael in the last election.  I had an issue with that too because, with respect to Brian, and I mean no insult to the man, it is a disgrace that all political parties are running celebrities as politicians instead of economists and planners with experience in infrastructural development projects. Brian to my knowledge is a publican.  As a member of Fine Gael and as a candidate in the last election it would appear on balance that the GPA should now to appoint a member of Fiana Fail, Sinn Fein, and any other party to balance things up.  The GPA are promoting the facilities they provide their members as including getting them jobs and looking after their welfare. For that reason you can not allow what can be seen as a political agenda if questions are asked as to how these jobs are allocated.  

The Board of Directors should have at minimum, two hurlers from each province and two footballers from each province and none should be actual members of political parties regardless of what party they support.  For a non-profit organizeation they should have a minimum of 12 directors in the first place, but of course it is a profit making venture so four is enough for the moment.

12 directors is a good idea. Would certainly achieve your objective of the GPA being able to do nothing.