Gaelic players announce media ban

Started by ziggysego, June 26, 2009, 09:20:11 PM

Aye-please go on strike... and you will find the neither the world nor the GAA will come to a halt... spoilt is right.   

well we know that a lot of the pundits and 'sportswriters' read this website

how about we start up a post or campaign to dare the GPA players to go on strike.
Yes it is high noon in the championship but imo the grass roots players/supporters/club coaches/mentors and future generations of the GAA need the gpa to see that they are NOT supported by a large majority of the organisation.

I'd dare these fcukers to GO ON STRIKE.
We want to tell them to 'go on if you think yer hard enough'

I'd take Mickey Hartes line that Tyrone WILL field a team and I'd bet a strong fecking team at that.
They might be hateful hoors but they (maybe because they have the best manager in the game) are the old style mentality of GAA Men!

I want us to start some kind of campaign asking the GPA outside for the toe to toe.
What do yez think ?

come on gpa, come on and strike if ya think yer hard enough !
I'm against ya.

They know they can't summon a strike. It's all sh1t stirring, nothing more.

Maybe they could in February, but not now when the season is reaching a boiling point. The people who would suffer most of all are the players.

Imagine Dessie and Donal called a strike for this weekend. Would the Antrim squad toe the line, or kit out for their once in a generation provinical final? That's not even a choice, not even for a Saffron GPA Ultra.

fearglasmor

In the context of what may be to come on foot of yesterdays report from Colm McCartrhy, will anyone really give a flying f**k if lads choose not to take part in their "recreation of choice" as Mr Cooney so accurately phrased it.

I for one am far more concerned at the prospect our local 2 teacher national school being closed and the school transport scheme going from an already increased €300/head to €500/head, to name just two.

These GPA lads appear to me to be totally delusional.

Some of the leading journalists seem to back the GPA because of the obvious reason they want to keep them on board for them own articles.
What about different players go on strike if they are so committed to this. Maybe their most vocal O'Hara on Saturday... Sean Cavanagh on Sunday... Alan Brogan for the quarter final - they will find other players only too glad to wear their jerseys.     

Its really getting a pain in the arse at this stage but unfortunately it'll only get worse.

I'd love to see them call a strike and see how they long it would last and now many retirements we'd have. Imagine the gobshites on TV and in the papers crying about their love of the gaa, how they only want to do their best for their county and it is hurting them so much.

There would be teams filled and intercounty matches played and well attended.

This needs to happen and when you knew the noises coming from O'Hara then its becoming clear that a strike is needed  to finish off these notions of grandeur.

Anyone pick up on the Tipp Hurling captains speech on Sunday. Apart from it been dreadful, he was at pains to point out the players part in the victory (fair enough) and mentioned the 125 year anniversary. He then said that "without the players the GAA is nothing". I took it as a shoot in the direction of Croke park and the media ban in place by them.

Quote from: JMohan on July 17, 2009, 07:30:01 AM
The country is on it's knees and the one eternal bright spark of entertainment on the island - the GAA - is being held to ransom by a crowd of spoilt pups ... O'Hara would need to wise up and come into the real world.

As for McGeeney ... he's hardly signing on

Would not think so.

Quote from: bingobus on July 17, 2009, 11:48:03 AM
Its really getting a pain in the arse at this stage but unfortunately it'll only get worse.

I'd love to see them call a strike and see how they long it would last and now many retirements we'd have. Imagine the gobshites on TV and in the papers crying about their love of the gaa, how they only want to do their best for their county and it is hurting them so much.

There would be teams filled and intercounty matches played and well attended.

This needs to happen and when you knew the noises coming from O'Hara then its becoming clear that a strike is needed  to finish off these notions of grandeur.

Anyone pick up on the Tipp Hurling captains speech on Sunday. Apart from it been dreadful, he was at pains to point out the players part in the victory (fair enough) and mentioned the 125 year anniversary. He then said that "without the players the GAA is nothing". I took it as a shoot in the direction of Croke park and the media ban in place by them.

or without the paying supporters, club volunteers, men who take youngsters to play underage games, ticket sellers, club groundsmen... these players think the world revolves around them.   

antoinse

Bingobus- how correct you are when you mentioned the Tipperary captain's speech. It has to go down as the worst in living memory and probably the worst in the 125 year history. What a foolish young man and time will lead him to regret his total speech. I suppose he felt he left his mark! he did and for him it was on him.

I see Halifax, the GPA Sponsor is closing up all the ESB shops they bought and pulling out of Ireland.

Any comments on this letter in the Independent?
http://www.independent.ie/opinion/letters/why-gpa-is-playing-a-dangerous-game-1807354.html

JMohan

Carbery

Did Eamonn O'Hara (Sligo) commence his 'Strike' before or after yesterday's game in Tralee?

I wonder will sean get kicked out for being on the sunday game tonight ;)

mckieran

Is this strike still going on?

Aongus Callaghan talked to RTE last night accepting his MOM

laoisgaa

Strike was only for Leinster Football Final and Munster Hurling final games