USFC Final Antrim v Tyrone Clones 19th July

Started by milltown row, June 27, 2009, 09:09:54 PM

That Tyrone victory over Down, 0-23 to 1-5 (15 pts), was the biggest since 1959 when Down bate Cavan 2-16 to 0-7 (15 pts).

Cavan beat Fermanagh in the 1945 by 15 points as well (4-10 to 1-4).

1942 Cavan beat Down 5-11 to 1-3 (20 pts)

1933 Cavan beat Tyrone 6-13 to 1-2 (26 pts)

1923 Cavan beat Monaghan 5-10 to 1-1 (21 pts)

1919 Cavan beat Antrim 5-6 to 0-2 (19 pts)

Quote from: ONeill on July 03, 2009, 07:49:55 PM
That Tyrone victory over Down, 0-23 to 1-5 (15 pts), was the biggest since 1959 when Down bate Cavan 2-16 to 0-7 (15 pts).

Cavan beat Fermanagh in the 1945 by 15 points as well (4-10 to 1-4).

1942 Cavan beat Down 5-11 to 1-3 (20 pts)

1933 Cavan beat Tyrone 6-13 to 1-2 (26 pts)

1923 Cavan beat Monaghan 5-10 to 1-1 (21 pts)

1919 Cavan beat Antrim 5-6 to 0-2 (19 PTA)

That Cavan result still hurts, come on lads do it for '33!

That's the spirit.

I've had enough of the niceties. We're the All-Ireland Champions at full strength playing Antrim in Clones in mid-July. We've seen off Armagh and Derry whilst Antrim struggled by Donegal and defeated Cavan.

Fcuk it. We should be hammering these lads off the field. Div 1 v Div 4. Call it as it is - this game should be comfortable after a spirited Antrim opening, I'd imagine 8-10 point victory.

What I'd love is for Tyrone to play well but Antrim to play out of their skins. It's in the Antrim pysche to do that. You see it in St Galls and I think that confident mentality has been tapped into by Baker. We're as good as them approach. It'd be great to see Antrim pin Tyrone down with a swashbuckling defensive game and Cunningham on fire. Tyrone one ahead with 10 left. That'd be good prep for the quarters.

However, I think Stephen O'Neill has a massive game in him. He has been well shackled by Mallon and Lockhart and needs let out of the cage.

OverThePostsAWide

Quote from: Maximus Marillius on July 03, 2009, 10:51:45 PM
The Ulster final...the biggest non event for a long long time.

Now, now Max, you won't get your toys back unless you promise you won't throw them out again  :D

Well sure if it's a non-event Max it'll just be like the Derry - Tyrone semi-final not so long ago. :-*

milltown row

Quote from: Maximus Marillius on July 03, 2009, 10:51:45 PM
The Ulster final...the biggest non event for a long long time.

here was another supposed 'biggest non event'

enjoyed the fact that we played in Saffron that day ;D ;D

Maximus Marillius

Lads don't take it personally, you have got to be totally realistic. It would be great to see Antrim win, brilliant infact, but FFS your playing the All Ireland champs, who have all thier players fit for the first time since 05. A Division 3 team playing All ireland champs, it doesn't take a brain surgeon to figure this one out.

OverThePostsAWide

Quote from: Maximus Marillius on July 04, 2009, 04:54:31 PM
Lads don't take it personally, you have got to be totally realistic. It would be great to see Antrim win, brilliant infact, but FFS your playing the All Ireland champs, who have all thier players fit for the first time since 05. A Division 3 team playing All ireland champs, it doesn't take a brain surgeon to figure this one out.

But why does that necessarily make it a non-event? That just makes you sound churlish  :(

Plenty of people will be interested in this match whatever the result and should, should Antrim somehow win, it will be the event of the millenium! Regardless, it couldn't be any more of a non-event than the National League runners up provided  ;)

Aontroim Abu!

milltown row

some good teams to be knocked out in the next round of the qualifiers and a couple of teams that Antrim can beat left (Wicklow and Cavan)  with a bit of luck Antrim will be playing senior Championship football in Croke Park and unlike last year they wont be playing at 12 o clock. possibly top billing and live on telly.

Antrim to get to the quarter finals. what price that at the start of the year????

A Quinn Martin Production

Right let's get this going..

Fcuk yous, yous culchy b**tards...I can smell the dung from here!  Please don't clog up the road with your tractors.  And leave all those f**king "weemin" who know f**k all about any sport at home tending the sheep
Antrim - One Of A Dying Breed of Genuine Dual Counties

Mr. Nakata

Only Joe McMahon an injury concern ahead of the Ulster final according to today's IN. Rib injuries tend to take time to heal so I can't see the big man lining out. Dooher will be the obvious replacement. So all county men safely through Friday night's championship games and the league games over the weekend. I read Ronan McGarrity got his cheekbone smashed up in a Mayo club game, massive loss for them. Thankfully, things in Tyrone are going well regarding the lack of injuries. Touch wood this continues to be the case.

Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on July 06, 2009, 02:08:02 PM

Fcuk yous, yous culchy b**tards...I can smell the dung from here!  Please don't clog up the road with your tractors. 

Can I remind you that a third of your team is from Cargin...

Quote from: Rois on July 06, 2009, 02:12:29 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on July 06, 2009, 02:08:02 PM

Fcuk yous, yous culchy b**tards...I can smell the dung from here!  Please don't clog up the road with your tractors. 

Can I remind you that a third of your team is from Cargin...

Aye but they've all passed the pre-qualification intelligence test...McMenamin got an F apparently.  What role do you think the GPA loving diver will play in the final?

And how come the quotes are appearing like that?