USFC Semi Final, Cavan V Antrim, Clones,Saturday 27th June at 7pm

Started by BallyhaiseMan, June 14, 2009, 07:43:51 PM

Hollow man would you not maybe say that while Cavan were bad they were made to look bad?

Cavan wouldn't/couldn't play that badly when playing a bad team. To be honest they were just beaten by a better team with better players all over the pitch.

(Don't get me wrong we are far from world beaters but the football in the last two games has been a marked improvement on anything I've seen from Antrim before ... ever. That, at times, would not be saying much...)

I think Cavan will be back but they are a few players short just yet(basically they've not been able to replace McCabe, Forde, Peter Reilly, Damian O'Reilly etc etc ) and they're not as bad as people make out and need a rebuilding period. Maybe some should actually give Antrim some credit though.

boojangles

Quote from: hardstation on June 30, 2009, 11:09:12 PM
Martin Reilly too.
And dare I say Larry.

Martin Reilly really has alot to prove,he still doesnt offer enough from play.In time he may come good. Larry was our best player on Saturday and was the only man who took the game to Antrim.I was referring to the starting 6 as Im sure Hollow was. Larry was Cavans only forward for long enough.

Martin Reilly could be good. Far too light though - needs to beef up.

Larry wasn't your best player. That guy Gibney was.

boojangles

Quote from: imtommygunn on June 30, 2009, 11:14:44 PM
Hollow man would you not maybe say that while Cavan were bad they were made to look bad?

Cavan wouldn't/couldn't play that badly when playing a bad team. To be honest they were just beaten by a better team with better players all over the pitch.

(Don't get me wrong we are far from world beaters but the football in the last two games has been a marked improvement on anything I've seen from Antrim before ... ever. That, at times, would not be saying much...)

I think Cavan will be back but they are a few players short just yet(basically they've not been able to replace McCabe, Forde, Peter Reilly, Damian O'Reilly etc etc ) and they're not as bad as people make out and need a rebuilding period. Maybe some should actually give Antrim some credit though.

I couldnt give Antrim enough credit.Do ya hear that Hardstation?? :P :P
Attitude,Fitness,Work-rate,Tackling,Use of the ball,Running into space,Supporting men,Intensity,Reading of the game.I cant say much more and its no wonder Cavan couldnt live with it. Add in a manager who knew exactly his team plan and executed it superbly.
Its disappointing because its something I thought that Cavan may have finally brought to their game.How wrong I was.
Givney or Larry were the only bright spots,Jayo too caused problems.
Givney IMO proved that he is ready for the step up,maybe more so than Keating.

You have a few things you need to do...

Brides hasn't been the same since his broken leg and doesn't cut it.

That no. 5 shouldn't be near the FB line ever again but by all accounts is not bad out the field.

You need a midfield who will at the very least be competitive.

You need to teach that fella Mackey that he's a half forward and he's not good in his own half.

Givney should be on.

A few of them forwards need a heavy dose of weight training this winter.

Keating probably isn't a CHB either.

Not much new in what I say though.

What do we need to do -We need to start putting teams away while we're on the subject. How that game was three points I dunno. We also need a miracle to beat Tyrone...

trim blue

Quote from: imtommygunn on June 30, 2009, 11:14:44 PM

In saying Cavan played bad its relative to their performance against Fermanagh, while Antrim also made them 'look bad' by the standards of their play it doesn't explain the missed frees, the fumbles when not under immediate pressure, the 10 yard passes going astray etc., this was all of Cavan's making. There are numerous reasons for this, Cavan going in as slight favourites and not being able to handle this, the mental pressure of knowing on the day you are up against a superior team on the field and panicing, lack of belief or just plain lack of ability. All credit to Antrim though they were great on the day and had tactics, attitude spot on. Would worry about your finishing though, there should have been 10 points in it, a lot of bad wides. Still think you will put it up to Tyrone for most of the match.
ah sure tog out anyway

cavanmaniac

Quote from: trim blue on June 30, 2009, 11:43:38 PM
In saying Cavan played bad its relative to their performance against Fermanagh, while Antrim also made them 'look bad' by the standards of their play it doesn't explain the missed frees, the fumbles when not under immediate pressure, the 10 yard passes going astray etc., this was all of Cavan's making. There are numerous reasons for this, Cavan going in as slight favourites and not being able to handle this, the mental pressure of knowing on the day you are up against a superior team on the field and panicing, lack of belief or just plain lack of ability. All credit to Antrim though they were great on the day and had tactics, attitude spot on. Would worry about your finishing though, there should have been 10 points in it, a lot of bad wides. Still think you will put it up to Tyrone for most of the match.

Correct, and right. Add basic fitness to the mix there and you have the whole shit cake, fully baked.

Hollow Man

QuoteYour point however Hollow that Cavan have one good forward is an insult to Cian Mackey and Ray Cullivan.Obviously they didnt show it on Saturday(although you must have a very short memory when both had fine games against Fermanagh) but in time both will prove you wrong.

I meant on what they showed Saturday night. I am a big fan of Mackey, Cullivan and Flanagan but on Saturday night's performance, we had only one starting forward worth a f**k, and even he didn't bother in the second half.
If Jelly sorted out his attitude, he could be another Canavan. He never will though I don't think.

cavan4ever

Quote from: Hollow Man on July 01, 2009, 10:46:45 AM
QuoteYour point however Hollow that Cavan have one good forward is an insult to Cian Mackey and Ray Cullivan.Obviously they didnt show it on Saturday(although you must have a very short memory when both had fine games against Fermanagh) but in time both will prove you wrong.

I meant on what they showed Saturday night. I am a big fan of Mackey, Cullivan and Flanagan but on Saturday night's performance, we had only one starting forward worth a f**k, and even he didn't bother in the second half.
If Jelly sorted out his attitude, he could be another Canavan. He never will though I don't think.

They have one thing in common they are poor for 3 games good for 1.

It was me who said it was the best day of my life and it was.

Im on this board every day for years--im obsessed with Antrim football--ive followed Antrim since i could walk and for years have watched us get tanked and lose games with no fight (a la the hurlers v Dublin this year--look at the 2nd hal--dead--no fight) (Waterfored and Tipp in the league last year, throwing away a win v Offaly at Casement last year--years of walking out of grounds in a hushed, depressed silence after games)

Suddenly we have a team who can play proper football, flying wing backs, fullforward line out in front, a real team, not individual dickheads running to the papers only thinking about themselves, Antrim supporters singing, antrim having supporters, Antrim reaching an Ulster Senior Football Final

for me its just brilliant

it wasnt just about beating Cavan, it's about much, much more than that as Hardstation said

We are living the dream at the moment --you gotta realise--we had won TWO GAMES IN TWENTY SEVEN YEARS --now we've won another 2 in TWO WEEKS--it doesnt matter who it was against or how the opposition played --its about us--The Saffron Army --and i cant stop smiling since Saturday and to Baker, to Kentucky Blue and the boys on the panel, i want to thank each and every one of you

cavan4ever

Quote from: Gold on July 01, 2009, 11:17:39 AM

Im on this board every day for years--im obsessed with Antrim football--ive followed Antrim since i could walk and for years have watched us get tanked and lose games with no fight (a la the hurlers v Dublin this year--look at the 2nd hal--dead--no fight) (Waterfored and Tipp in the league last year, throwing away a win v Offaly at Casement last year--years of walking out of grounds in a hushed, depressed silence after games)

Suddenly we have a team who can play proper football, flying wing backs, fullforward line out in front, a real team, not individual d**kheads running to the papers only thinking about themselves, Antrim supporters singing, antrim having supporters, Antrim reaching an Ulster Senior Football Final

it wasnt just about beating Cavan, it's about much, much more than that as Hardstation said

We are living the dream at the moment --you gotta realise--we had won TWO GAMES IN TWENTY SEVEN YEARS --now we've won another 2 in TWO WEEKS--it doesnt matter who it was against or how the opposition played --its about us--The Saffron Army --and i cant stop smiling since Saturday and to Baker, to Kentucky Blue and the boys on the panel, i want to thank each and every one of you

Thats why i am happy for Antrim to be in the Ulster Final and i hope you enjoy all the hype building up to it and make sure you take the monday after it off work just in case  ;)

tierworker blue

Suddenly we have a team who can play proper football, flying wing backs, fullforward line out in front, a real team, not individual d**kheads running to the papers only thinking about themselves, Antrim supporters singing, antrim having supporters, Antrim reaching an Ulster Senior Football Final

Fair play Gold...that's what it's all about! You have just described how every Cavan person felt in 1995 / 1997, so we know exactly what ye're feeling. There seemed to be a bit of bad winnersmanship (new word invention alert!) about for the past few days here and there, and although I did'nt bother taking the bait, I felt it was worth commenting on a decent post like yours. When we were on the road to Clones, we all agreed that apart from ourselves (and not at our expense, as it turned out!) we would love to see Antrim getting to an Ulster Final sometime, more so than any other county. Just because we are all disgusted at our performance, does'nt mean we begrudge ye the win, so enjoy the rest of the c'ship, and hopefully ye'll get a few more wins under the belt.
Ok, that's enough of the lovey dovey stuff for now...! Please God we'll hammer yis the next time we meet...sure is'nt that what it's all about?!  ;D

A Quinn Martin Production

Quote from: tierworker blue on July 01, 2009, 04:30:42 PM

enough of the lovey dovey stuff for now...! Please God we'll hammer yis the next time we meet...sure is'nt that what it's all about?!  ;D

Have yis not hammered us enough times since 1951?
Antrim - One Of A Dying Breed of Genuine Dual Counties

tierworker blue

Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on July 01, 2009, 05:06:58 PM
Quote from: tierworker blue on July 01, 2009, 04:30:42 PM

enough of the lovey dovey stuff for now...! Please God we'll hammer yis the next time we meet...sure is'nt that what it's all about?!  ;D

Have yis not hammered us enough times since 1951?

Well, I suppose we have, but it's always good to look forward to the next meeting and the possibility of revenge...nothing like a bit of healthy rivalry to make it interesting!  :D
Any comments regarding Cavan doling out hammerings must be taken with a pinch bucket of salt...it's been quite a while since we've sent anyone running with their tail between their legs, and I'd say we'll be waiting a long time before we see it again!