USFC Semi Final, Cavan V Antrim, Clones,Saturday 27th June at 7pm

Started by BallyhaiseMan, June 14, 2009, 07:43:51 PM

Hollow Man

Well done Antrim and congrats, thoroughly deserved to win and should have been out of sight. On the balance of play Antrim should have won by about 12-15 points - we got a fluke of a goal and Antrim must have kicked 15 wides or more.
Plus, Antrim won I'd say 90% at midfield.
This truly was embarrassing and a few Cavan players would want to take a long hard look at themselves. Shapers.

Thought Antrim were excellent and fully deserved to win. Looks like they just needed organsiation- some terrific players on that team. Any county would be glad to have them.

Cavan were a disaster. Where they go from that today is anybody's guess.

Just back home. Great result, and thoroughly enjoyable to watch.

I like the fast flowing but patient football from Antrim. And they did get the rub of the green regarding fouls on the Cavan forward line.

Quote from: hardstation on June 27, 2009, 11:27:22 PM
That was f**king fantastic. Take a bow Mr N. McKeever. Great performance.

To a certain few Cavan men (and we know who you are), did you just overlook us?
Well suck it up you arrogant shower of b**tards.

That was f**king fantastic!
Antrim played well and fully deserved to win, I am delighted for Antrim football and supporters.

Drunk sir?

Congratulations HS.
Sow it into them Tyrone biys in the final. ;)

so you wernt at mass then!!!!!!!!

Brilliant win. How we only won by three points I'll never know. I thought we were 8 / 9 points the better team.

Great tactics again from Baker and a very well motivated, drilled and dihsciplined team.

McKeever won some ball there and whoever was marking Mick McCann got the roasting of their life.

I wouldn't be too happy with that performance were I a Cavan person.

as a derry man wile close to the border, congrats to the antrim boys; few observations;

thats a seriously young team ye's have; if they keep together oer next few years they could be well worth a watchin;
dont implode like yous usually do; build on it ffs;
thon scullions some engine; hugely impressed;
mccanns, loughrey, mckeever and oneill all played v well;

finally, and i knwo ye's wont have heard this before ( :P); but it took a derry man tae finally get ye's sorted; like a crowd o sheep that finally got a good farmer&sheepdog to sort them out, if ye will;

gd nite;

Congragulations Antrim, well deserved, the Worm has finally turned, you have the makings of a serious team over next few years,  keep your heads and keep developing and major success is possible, no one will begrudge you it

Congratulations Antrim. Great performance and great result - it would have been a total injustice if Cavan had managed to steal even a draw at the end of that game. Antrim were better in every area and totally dominated midfield.

Small crowd at the game alright - although a decent crowd on the hill. I'd say the crowd was 2/3 Cavan to 1/3 Antrim - any chance of many more Antrim fans at the final or will it be 30% Antrim to 70% Tyrone fans?

Lawrence of Knockbride

Well done to Antrim. They played well and totally deserved their win. Now that we're all back to reality, as a Cavan follower for many a year that is the worst championship performance I've witnessed in the blue jersey, and I've thought about it for a few hours. To analyse what was wrong would take me several hours and this maybe should have been posted on our local thread.
Disgraceful attitude, baffling tactics and just plain bad performances by players we probably thought were better than they are. Embaressing. Them boys would want to keep out of sight til the qualifiers in shame. I'd nearly expect to see an apology for us fools that followed them around the country this year. If I was good enough to be a in a position to train for 6 months with these games being the ultimate focus and I turned out a performance like that you'd wonder was there any point.
Good night.

A lot of teams would be happy enough to draw Cavan in the second round of the qualifiers, going on this evening's performance.

cavanmaniac

Enjoy the win but wind your neck in a bit maybe? Not many Cavan folk here or elsewhere for that matter were arrogant or over confident, we thought we'd squeak it and would have been more than delighted to. Bottom line is we were a million miles behind Antrim today and should have been beaten by more. Be proud, and rightly so, but don't be a bad winner.

Bradley really has done a fantastic job with that side and Antrim are so young, vibrant and hungry for work that as long as they don't shit on their own doorstep like they did when Brian White was in charge, they can become a force in years to come. It's amazing what an astute appointment can do, and the massive improvement in Antrim fortunes under the hand of Bradley has me asking questions of our own manager for the first time. Carr was badly exposed today to a degree, but the main problems were with the players committing absolutely, hideously laughable errors on the ball and playing like a disparate rabble. How much of the blame for that is at TC's door remains to be seen but there's cracks appearing already.

Cavan were just dreadful today. First half we never put in a tackle and were still leaking scores when we belatedly tightened up in the second half, but at the expense of our attacking 'gameplan' because with the numbers back the field plugging numerous holes we had nobody supporting in attack. In short, we were woefully lacking in basic fitness to stay with Antrim and play any sort of fast-paced counter-attacking game. McKeever destroyed us, we had nothing around the middle and some of the error-strewn efforts at using the ball in attack were ones you wouldn't see in a minor match. Lamentable. We're a very soft touch in the qualifiers now for sure and itll be a short year.

Anyway, today is all about Antrim and I take my hat off and say well done, it was a magnificent performance and if you raise your game again especially in front of the posts, then you can give Tyrone a rattling good test in the final. A real breath of fresh air in this year's championship and best of luck for the rest of the year, I for one will be cheering Antrim on.

well done to antrim on getting to a ulster final, you will have 31counties cheering for you.  i bet you CJ a sad man tonight.