Sigerson Cup 2009

Started by Our Nail Loney, January 28, 2009, 10:28:07 AM

He's not playing GAA I can't put it any plainer than that. Why waste 15 months work for a team that barely trains together . They'll still be meeting with their club mates 10 years after they stop playing. Will they be doing the same with Sigerson team-mates.You got to be joking. Sigerson is nice but a club all-ireland is an all-ireland medal. No disrespect to Sigerson but despite what our Northern brethern think, it ain't all that important.

The GAA

Never played sigerson or Fitzbibbon then?

who are you or i to dictate to a player that one medal should be more important than another to him?

It would be different if the SIgerson was the week before the club final but there is a laughable amount of time between the two. Sure a club final is special but a Sigerson is important too, lads that win a Sigerson form a great bond too, which lasts well beyond college. Actually playing in such a high level game(s) will benefit the players enormously, moreso than whatever challenge/practice games Crokes play, where injuries are still a possibility. I know Crokes have a right to be selfish but this is ridiculous, it doesn't make sense.

Quote from: INDIANA on February 26, 2009, 12:30:36 PM
He's not playing GAA I can't put it any plainer than that. Why waste 15 months work for a team that barely trains together . They'll still be meeting with their club mates 10 years after they stop playing. Will they be doing the same with Sigerson team-mates.You got to be joking. Sigerson is nice but a club all-ireland is an all-ireland medal. No disrespect to Sigerson but despite what our Northern brethern think, it ain't all that important.

Absolute nonsense, knowing a few boys with Sigerson medals I would like you to say to them that it is not that important. I am sure there are a few Sigerson winners on the boar here, would be nice to hear their opinion.

I am not saying it is as big as an All Ireland club medal, but to devalue it like that is drivel.

You talk some amount of shite. A Sigerson is not as important as a club all-ireland according to people but key players for Crokes should be permitted to play in it 2 weeks before the biggest game of their lives. No sense at all in that statement. At least I'm consistent in what I'm posting.
Our senior team played no challenge games between the club all-ireland semi and final. How many challenge games did kerry and tyrone play between the all-ireland semi and final last year?None.  There is a reason for that.
If i was manager of Crokes I wouldn't have any of them anywhere the Sigerson this weekend. There are no Cross players involved in the Sigerson. Crokes would have to be clinically insane to allow key players to play 2 games in 3 days over the weekend.

Quote from: INDIANA on February 26, 2009, 01:07:13 PM
You talk some amount of shite. A Sigerson is not as important as a club all-ireland according to people but key players for Crokes should be permitted to play in it 2 weeks before the biggest game of their lives. No sense at all in that statement. At least I'm consistent in what I'm posting.
Our senior team played no challenge games between the club all-ireland semi and final. How many challenge games did kerry and tyrone play between the all-ireland semi and final last year?None.  There is a reason for that.
If i was manager of Crokes I wouldn't have any of them anywhere the Sigerson this weekend. There are no Cross players involved in the Sigerson. Crokes would have to be clinically insane to allow key players to play 2 games in 3 days over the weekend.

There is only one man talking shite and, yes, you are consistent in that.

If I were Crokes management I'd be at the very least encouraging them not to take part in the Sigerson. There's an argment that you could get injured training but Crokes will be doing everything and rightly so to prepare for the biggest game in a long time.

The club will have the say at the end of the day.

Going to try and decypher this, as stated by posters, it is their personal choice, but there shouldn;t be any pressure by the clubs, as GAA says the club does not own him.

How can you possibly compare challenege games to Sigerson Cup. Interesting Cross, the most successful of club teams, were happy to allow Paul Kernan to play two weeks before their semi. So that sort of wrecks your non-Cross argument.

My main gripe is with your devaluing of a competition that is held in high esteem by most GAA folk, regardless of whether "you will be meeting up with them in 10 years."

I'm devaluing it in comaprison to a club all-ireland. I don't know anyone who'd swop an All-Ireland medal for a Sigerson. Maybe you can find them for me. Sigerson weekends are notorious for lads getting injuries playing so often in a short space of time. Asking for trouble in my view. Both Vaughan an O sULLIVAN are carrying knocks so why risk it ? You'd never forgive yourself if it was the only chance you ever got to play in an-ireland club final.

The GAA

Really? you say its the biggest game of their lives. i wonder what they might say

Quote from: INDIANA on February 26, 2009, 01:19:01 PM
I'm devaluing it in comaprison to a club all-ireland. I don't know anyone who'd swop an All-Ireland medal for a Sigerson. Maybe you can find them for me. Sigerson weekends are notorious for lads getting injuries playing so often in a short space of time. Asking for trouble in my view. Both Vaughan an O sULLIVAN are carrying knocks so why risk it ? You'd never forgive yourself if it was the only chance you ever got to play in an-ireland club final.

Sigh, point out where I said I would swap the medals. I said it doesn;t compare to an AllIreland in my original post.

Notoriously bad for lads getting injured? You're going to have to back that up. Here training is notoriously bad for players get injured.

From my own clubs viewpoint, if we ever got to the all ireland final (I know, I know) and Sigerson was on a couple of weeks prior, any player asked to drop out would be met with two words.

Hey, if it is good enough for Cross, it is good enough for everyone else.

The GAA

A sigerson medal is an all ireland medal and is the second highest available to be won in terms of quality or the standard of the football.
ditto for the fitzgibben and liam mc carthy

To bring your argument to its logical conclusion these lads shouldn't have played any football once ye got out of Leinster, sure they could have done knee ligaments in the Sigerson quarter-final. Do you not think at least the players should have the choice? If the club final is so important to them, then they'll have no problem ditching the Sigerson. But, the thing is, they will want to play in the Sigerson as well because the relationaships you build up at college can often times be as tight as club ones

You're entitled to your view on that GAA. I've never met anyone who's won a Sigerson  who'd put it on a par with a club-all-ireland. As for the second highest quality. In theory it should be but I've never seen so many mediocre games in any other competition than Sigerson. Its so over-rated its not funny. And thats based on a decade of watching it closely not one or two games like some of the posters here.
It simply doesn't create the sort of emotion winning something with you club could ever create. You leave college how many people do you keep in touch with? You'll see your club-mates 20 years down the line. Thats the difference. Those who've won club -all-irelands know the difference. Sigerson is taken very seriously up North, doesn't really have that status in other counties. If you win it its nice, but its not the end of the world if you don't.
I know of a player who is currently playing with a potentially serious injury Corn02 who was practically forced to play for his University recently because of a scholarship demands. Thats the climate we're moving into. Too many games. As far as I know the players themselves have stepped out of the Sigerson.

I know for a fact Redhand Vincents played one challenge game last year between feb 1 and march 17th. Now obviously everyone is different but our clubs attitude was if they got injured training with vincents thats fine. But that they weren't to get injured playing for anyone else. Cross are guaranteed an armagh championship every year at the moment. You won't get that in Dublin, thats why the Crokes players have stepped out.

The GAA

Is Joe Canning "clinically insane" for playing with WIT yesterday?