If you were giving out All Stars at this stage, who would be shoo ins ?

Started by orangeman, August 11, 2008, 03:22:41 PM

Quote from: AZOffaly on August 12, 2008, 05:39:03 PM
And at this point I will now roll out the obligatory spake on this (sort of) matter.

Who are the only county to have an All Star in every position in both football AND hurling?

Would have thought the Rebels but assume you've some sort of agenda here AZ so I'll guess Offaly.

Correct EG. The Faithful County it is.

I'm sure Cork will do it soon as well, and probably Galway, at which point I will change the question to 'The First County blah blah blah'. We have to hold on to such trinkets at this stage.

And at this point I will now roll out the obligatory spake on this (sort of) matter.

Who are the only county to have an All Star in every position in both football AND hurling?

Offaly is right - I knew that one - most people guess Cork, but Offaly were a superpower when the awards started - and they're on the rise !  ;)

EddieMerx

Quote from: orangeman on August 13, 2008, 10:09:05 AM

Offaly is right - I knew that one - most people guess Cork, but Offaly were a superpower when the awards started - and they're on the rise !  ;)

Get a room will ye ;)

Quote from: EddieMerx on August 13, 2008, 10:19:35 AM
Quote from: orangeman on August 13, 2008, 10:09:05 AM

Get a room will ye ;)

;D ;D

After today --

Eoin Kelly Waterford - definite
Eoin Kelly - Tipp - deifinite
John Mullane
Shane Maher - definite
Shane Mc Grath - definite
Eoin Mc Grath has had a good year as well

What has happened to Big Dan - he has really lost form - he won't even get a nomination this year !

youngfella

Quote from: orangeman on August 17, 2008, 08:27:08 PM
After today --

Where do you put these two fellas? Almost all of the cats forwards were more impressive last day.
Pull hard and early

Quote from: youngfella on August 17, 2008, 10:12:49 PM
After today --

Where do you put these two fellas? Almost all of the cats forwards were more impressive last day.

I know but you can't have 15 cats on the team, now can you ?  ;)

youngfella

Im still in awe of what they did too cork, and it wasnt one or two boys it was a full team game.
Pull hard and early

After today --

John Mullane
Shane Maher - definite
Shane Mc Grath - definite
Eoin Mc Grath has had a good year as well

What has happened to Big Dan - he has really lost form - he won't even get a nomination this year !

Too many presentation dinners in big Dan by the looks of him.

Conor O'Mahony and Shane McGrath are the only two Tipp certs for All-stars after yesterday.

Maher and Corcoran are maybe's but I don't think Eoin Kelly was anything spectacular this year.

Eoin Kelly (Tipp) is seriously overhyped and has been for years IMO (Babs wasn't that far off the mark). He possesses immaculate stickwork, but lacks that cutting edge of pace that would make him the legend some people make him out to be. Lar Corbett also lost out after yesterday. His performance had a real negative impact on Tipp's fortunes yesterday

Eoin McGrath to me has been the real surprise package this year. He has been consistently influential in all of waterfords matches this year. In open play he would be ahead of Eoin Kelly (Waterford) for me. Wouldn't say that Mullane was shoe an at this stage. Just because he jumps around shouting at the crowd every time he scores doesn't make any more affective than Shefflin, Larkin, Brennan & , O'Connor for example.

Quote from: theskull1 on August 18, 2008, 10:02:33 AM
Eoin Kelly (Tipp) is seriously overhyped and has been for years IMO (Babs wasn't that far off the mark). He possesses immaculate stickwork, but lacks that cutting edge of pace that would make him the legend some people make him out to be. Lar Corbett also lost out after yesterday. His performance had a real negative impact on Tipp's fortunes yesterday

Eoin McGrath to me has been the real surprise package this year. He has been consistently influential in all of waterfords matches this year. In open play he would be ahead of Eoin Kelly (Waterford) for me. Wouldn't say that Mullane was shoe an at this stage. Just because he jumps around shouting at the crowd every time he scores doesn't make any more affective than Shefflin, Larkin, Brennan & , O'Connor for example.

What do you all make of this jumping around and putting the hurl up to the crowd ?? Eoin Mc Grath did it yesterday as well.

By the way, I thought Eoin Mc Grath was a disgrace yesterday, feigning injury and lying down. He bought frees early on yesterday.

I really hope that Eoin stops this auld shite of lying down. One time in particular he lay down and you'd have thought he was shot - the referee went over to hom and told him to get up - without even the aid of a sponge, he jumped up and ran on !! The referee must have had healing hands !!  ;D ;D ;D

The Waterford corner back after being hit by Crobett, you can see on the replays, had a look round to see what the reaction was - somebody obviously told him to lie down and he seemed to pass out !!!  ;D ;D ;D

Davy Fitz runs in and shows the referee that his man is nearly dead and is appealing for a red card !!! This is one part of Waterford's play yesterday that I was very surprised at - even more surprised that it came from Davy Fitz !

I answered this on the other thread, but you're being very harsh on Eoin Murphy. I agree Davey 'Scrappy Doo' Fitz looked silly pointing out the blood to the ref, but it was a bad enough belt.

Quote from: AZOffaly on August 18, 2008, 11:10:03 AM
I answered this on the other thread, but you're being very harsh on Eoin Murphy. I agree Davey 'Scrappy Doo' Fitz looked silly pointing out the blood to the ref, but it was a bad enough belt.

Scrappy Doo ??