Cork V Kilkenny

Started by Reillers, August 01, 2008, 12:32:46 PM

milltown row

No, the intensity the Kilkenny lads put into the tackles on 72 minutes was the same in the first. The hunger they have to win all their games was evident on the final whistle when they celebrated so much.

Fair play to Diarmuid O'Sullivan, he was not given the run around and was, at times, the real defiant 'rock' in the backs for Cork. Credit where it's due, and it reminded me of Brian Lohan's dramatic display against Cork I think, towards the end of his career. Lohan stayed on another year and was all at sea, so I hope Diarmuid has a good look to see if he can replicate that effort again, and if he can't, to call it a day. He isn't actually that old though, in fairness to him. I think Lohan was older.

Kilkenny are fantastic though. In all fairness to them, they met a whirlwind from Cork in the first 25, and outlasted them before turning the screw as only they can. They also started the second half with a couple of scores, which meant that, unlike Clare, they always looked composed even when Cork got 4 or 5 on the trot. Noel Hickey was brilliant, as was JJ Delaney, and the likes of Cavanagh, Tyrell, Walsh and Hogan just kept things tight and competitive.

Tipperary or Waterford may catch Kilkenny on the day, that's why we play the games after all, but if they do it will take an almighty effort from them, and an off day from Kilkenny. They are the best team I've personally seen, and from 1-30, and beyond, they have quality in every jersey. Quite simply they were just too good for Cork, and that's that.

Tom Kenny's stroke on Cha was filthy at the end. Lets be honest here, we've all taken belts, usually accidentally, in that area, and it is a right sickener. Some people, as has been pointed out, have lost testicles in more innocuous challenges than that, so for him to do what he did was completely out of order. I realise it was probably borne out of frustration, and he did seem a bit upset himself afterwards, but that's just not on.

Hopefully Cha is okay, but the sight of the 'hurling brigade' on the Sunday Game closing ranks behind Kenny was a bit hard to take when you compare it to the Football equivalent. Maybe the hurling lads were more correct, now that I think of it, 'Wrong, unfortunate and will be looked at, but out of character'. It was a bit less like the baying mob that sometimes analyse the football, especially when they look at similar incidents.

Still wrong though, and Kenny deserves a month.

Some boys are great fella's when they're winning or have a chance of winning the game right up until the end. Did yesterdays slap only bring out a trait in Kenny that we haven't seen before but was always there all along? A terrible sneeky stroke

EddieMerx

I can't believe the so called experts were saying there was no intention behind it ??? So he he didn't intend to hit Cha with the hurley even though play had stopped the scuffle had ended and his hurl hit Cha right smack in the sack!!!

the colonel

that will be classed with striking with minimal force so he will only get a month, deserves more. previous character shouldnt come into it. disgusting stroke that we have seen cork at more of this year.
the difference between success and failure is energy

I was listening to the experts on the radio leaving as I was leaving Croke Park yesterday and it made me sick that this whole incident with Cha and Kenny was glossed over.  Minimal force my arse, from where I was sitting it was one of the dirtiest strokes seen in a hurling game in Croke Park for a long time and something has to be done about it.  Kenny should be ashamed of himself and not let near a gaa pitch for six months and that whelp John Gardiner deserved another red card.  I came on here to see had any of you lads posted on it hoping that I was not on my own and thankfully this DB has more lads with cop on than the gobshites like John O'Shea who was lmore concerned about having two referees and teams reduced to 13 than he was about this incident.

Does anyone have any update on Cha?

I know he left Croker with the rest of the team afterwards, although he was struggling, apparently. I feared for him when I saw him being carted off. How would Tom Kenny feel if Cha had to lose a testicle? That's almost assault in fairness. There used to be an unwritten rule that striking with a hurley in a row was not on, it was acknowledged that a hurl is potentially a deadly weapon. Sadly there's been a few incidents (Carton on Curren last year, Watson from Antrim, and various other things like butts of hurleys into the face) in the last few years. That has to be stamped out.

....and don't mention Castletown and Camross.

Are you sure Cha went in the bus? I thought he went away in an ambulance because the golf caddy/trolley thing went out the gate but the bus didn't go 'till twenty past six anyway.  Post any updates if ye hear anything.

Quote from: Bud Wiser on August 11, 2008, 02:19:21 PM
I was listening to the experts on the radio leaving as I was leaving Croke Park yesterday and it made me sick that this whole incident with Cha and Kenny was glossed over.  Minimal force my arse, from where I was sitting it was one of the dirtiest strokes seen in a hurling game in Croke Park for a long time and something has to be done about it.  Kenny should be ashamed of himself and not let near a gaa pitch for six months and that whelp John Gardiner deserved another red card.  I came on here to see had any of you lads posted on it hoping that I was not on my own and thankfully this DB has more lads with cop on than the gobshites like John O'Shea who was lmore concerned about having two referees and teams reduced to 13 than he was about this incident.

Does anyone have any update on Cha?

What did Gardiner do yesterday ? He's an angel !  ;)

slow corner back

In the last few years there have been a few nasty incidents at the end of semi finals, Gerry Quinn of Clare got a hand broke and missed a final, then Gerry himself did something similar on Shefflin now the Tom Kenny incident. It appears with the back door players are scared of a suspension while still in the championship but if you are getting beat sure take some guy out for the final.

Quote from: slow corner back on August 11, 2008, 08:44:12 PM
In the last few years there have been a few nasty incidents at the end of semi finals, Gerry Quinn of Clare got a hand broke and missed a final, then Gerry himself did something similar on Shefflin now the Tom Kenny incident. It appears with the back door players are scared of a suspension while still in the championship but if you are getting beat sure take some guy out for the final.

I don't think any of this is premeditated at all.

slow corner back

I would class any dirty blow as premeditated, as in I am not going for the ball I am gonna nail that *@!". Players do not start the game intending to injure someone as they expect to be winning the way to the final however when the final is out of sight and the championship year over then an attitude of at least leave a mark on one or two appears to take over.

the sunday analysts though are a disgrace. What is glossed over on tv gives licence to some little toerag in a junior club game to maim somone for life. played hurling for years myself, loved it , but there is a line you can't cross with a hurl in your hand and that was crossed yesterday. We pay ou tv licence ofr analysis and calling a spade a spade , not for sitting on the fence.

Quote from: INDIANA on August 11, 2008, 10:29:50 PM
the sunday analysts though are a disgrace. What is glossed over on tv gives licence to some little toerag in a junior club game to maim somone for life. played hurling for years myself, loved it , but there is a line you can't cross with a hurl in your hand and that was crossed yesterday. We pay ou tv licence ofr analysis and calling a spade a spade , not for sitting on the fence.

They're scared of their lives now - afraid to say anything that might enflame the situation - get Brolly on - he's not afraid to say his piece ( only when it doesn't involve a Derry player mind you ) !

I see Kilkenny county chairman has called for the GAA NOT to target Tom Kenny for a suspension.

Very gracious - the biggest of rivals obviously but the best of friends off the pitch.