Down v Wexford

Started by interested, July 27, 2008, 08:30:43 PM

the milkman

Yeah played a few league games last year!

Model Hammer

Down lads, what's the verdict on Ross Carr's management at this stage in the season?

There was great excitement at securing the McKenna Cup, then this was followed by an ultimately disastrous League campaign in what was a fairly sticky division. Since then Down have had a good ulster championship with a memorable victory over Tyrone and an impressive run in the Qualifiiers culminating (so far) in a last 12 appearance in Croker.

Ross had to run a gauntlet of fairly vicious abuse after the match in Leitrim, but I presume even those lads would be happy with progress since?

I was at the match in Tullamore, and while the pace of the game was very slow, I was very impressed with the movement, the passing, and the handling and finishing (albeit under mimimal pressure from the backs) of the Down forwards. I presume they met somewhat stickier defenders in Portlaoise yet still racked up 2-11 in the first half. (Actually i saw the highlights and the goals were fairly woefully defended).

I guess if yis get to the Q-Finals or beyond the disappointment of the league will be forgiven. Ye certainly have the momentum anyway. It'll be interesting to see if our lads can recover mentally from the collapse in the final. I'd like to think they have the pride to go out and give it a proper lash.

western exile

I. for one. am happy with the progress so far.  We were disappointed with the league in the end having finished 3rd when promotion was our aim. However, with reflection, it was not as bad as it seemed at the time.  The one really bad performance and defeat was in Carrick-on-Shannon, and it was that that cost us promotion. Had we won there, where we should have, it would have set up a "realistic" promotion battle with Fermanagh in the last game ( I wont add to the post match comments here  :-X )
We were beaten in Wexford Park by a better team without playing too badly ourselves (ironically without Dan Gordan that day too).
I am very proud of the way they responded in the championship, and am looking forward to a rematch with ye on Saturday.

I said in the Armagh aftermath thread that if Carr and Kane can get the players motivated for the qualifiers, then they deserve another term or two, and if not we should look elsewhere.

There seems no doubt that the players are motivated by them this year, and i'm delighted to see it, so credit where it's due.

Aside from back-door motivation, Ross and DJ have also had a fair go at resolving a number of recurring issues with Down football over the past decade, principally breaking-ball/first phase possession deficiences, players being played in unnatural positions, a lack of positional discipline when put up against it, and the unwillingness to look for anyone but Coulter as a target for long ball. Down definitely aren't a one-man show these days.

I'd still prefer to see an extra body or two in defence to plug the gaps, but we've definitely moved in the right direction overall this season.

Down Gael

I think the Leitrim game is well and truly forgotten now, even if we had beaten Leitrim it wouldnt have been enough as our scoring average was a lot less than Fermangh or Wexford. For me the biggest disappointment of the league was the fermanagh game, we were 5 points up with 4 minutes to go and we lost by 2. We just stopped playing for the last couple of minutes. We did something similar against Wexford, only then we stopped playing after 25 minutes. We were 6 points up then, but seemed to take out foot off the gas and Wexford scored 4 points, 10 minutes after the break the game was over. Mattie Ford who hadnt been in the game destroyed us, scoring one goal and making another.
I wouldnt really blame the manager for the loss to Leitrim. There was an attitude that day that we just had to turn up, from everyone, not just the players. It wasnt helped when Benny Coulter found the net with his first touch, my initial reaction was that this was going to be like shooting fish in a barrel. It was, but not for us, we only started to play again in the last 10 minutes and just fell short of a victory. Maybe the managment should have made sure the team wasnt so complacent, but it was just one of those days.
We would be happy enough with things at the minute, we havent been playing football at this time of year for quite some time. The Tyrone game was a huge result for us, you could really see it on the pitch afterwards, players, managment, supporters celebrated like we had won something, in reality it was just first round championship game, but for us it was the first time that this current side had stood up to be counted. We all thought there was a performance like that in them, but no one outside the county believed us. The Armagh game was a bit of a blow, maybe the Armagh supporters wont agree with me, but Down are a much better footballing side than Armagh, more talent, better forwards, a far superior midfield, but maybe our defence just isnt as good as theirs. What we forgot is that Armagh dont play football, not as we know it, they play dirty, they hassle, they foul, they dont let you get going. Its not pretty to watch, but it is very effective. I wont say the best team won on the day, but the cuter, more experienced team won. Down went to Clones to play football, Armagh didnt, but we will learn from that day.
In previous seasons that would have been the end of this team, we would have been looking forward to the McKenna Cup, but they seem to have come out fighting. Maybe we were a bit lucky with the draw, but you can only beat what is put in front of you. Offaly were out of it after 25 minutes, Laois would have been if it hadnt been for Nancys play acting, but for a change we didnt roll over and accept defeat, we dug deep, made the odd mistake, but didnt dwell on them and played ourselves out of trouble. Dan will be a huge loss, he has been the star man of this years championship, but there have been other stars as well. Coulter has been in his best form since 99, he is not just scoring, but bringing the other forwards into the game. Ambrose has found some form and been a great partner for Dan. In defence Luke Howard has been excellent, held McDonnell scoreless and got better and more confident since. But we have had some blows along the way too. Martin Cole our full back and Liam Doyle our centre half back are both out with injury, so too is the man that was sure to light up this championship, Paul McComiskey. All huge losses, but we are still here. We wont win the All Ireland, not a chance, but we are making progress and Ross, like the rest of us will be happy enough with that.
Promotion from Division 3 will be our main objective next year, then a shot at Ulster, anything after that will be a bonus.

RadioGAAGAA

Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 29, 2008, 06:22:51 PM
Was Marty McClean on the panel a year or so ago?

Apologies, he was indeed.
i usse an speelchekor

QuotePromotion from Division 3 will be our main objective next year, then a shot at Ulster, anything after that will be a bonus.

Since you are so much better footballers than Armagh, these modest targets should be no trouble at all.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on July 30, 2008, 11:10:57 AM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 29, 2008, 06:22:51 PM
Was Marty McClean on the panel a year or so ago?

Apologies, he was indeed.

I wasn't trying to be smart there radio, I honestly wasn't sure! Knew he was on the u21s an all, thought he was brought in aloing with henry, cunningham an all from that squad.

RadioGAAGAA

Quote from: armaghniac on July 30, 2008, 11:20:26 AM
Since you are so much better footballers than Armagh, these modest targets should be no trouble at all.

The problem is coping with the smell of puke when we step out onto the field to play you bunch of knuckledraggers  ;D
i usse an speelchekor

whyarerefssobad

now that the Dan thing is sorted let get back to the football this is not going to wins us the game but gives us a chance think it will be a tight game if we can keep forde quiet and get good ball into Clarke and coulter we can do it
always look on the bright side

downredblack

Anyone know any GAA pubs in Newcastle ?(england)  :'(  :( Fooking going mad

lfdown2

great news that dans available, it should be enough to sway it in our favour! Though we are up against what was until the Leinster final the only unbeaten team in the country, beating ourselves, the ulster finalists and Meath to name a few along the way! There is a lot of talk as Kerry being a wounded animal going into their game with Monaghan, well no more than Wexford will be, they will be extremely disappointed with their last display in Croke Park and will be out to rectify it, a team also that will not be short of confidence in facing Down its prob the draw that both teams wanted!
So imo if Down can keep they're heads out of the clouds and unlike some posters realise they have a game on they're hands the return of dan should just be enough!
Thanks lads for the year so far!!keep er lit!!

Quote from: downredblack on July 31, 2008, 11:02:20 AM
Anyone know any GAA pubs in Newcastle ?(england)  :'(  :( Fooking going mad

There is an Irsih pub up beside St James Park
I know they show games

D4S

A little bit of googling goes a long way :) O'Neills on Neville Street in city centre, O'Neills is a chain in most english cities decent pubs I was in the Leeds one before...or you could try the Tyneside Irish Centre near St James Park just google it.  The Irish centres in english cities are normally fairly old and not the nicest but great atmosphere for matches as all the irish living in the city head there to watch the matches!
The secret of success in life is for a man to be ready for his opportunity when it comes.

upthehoops

I don't think that keeping our lads heads out of the clouds is the problem. it is instilling self belief and accepting that we can go further yet respecting the fact that Wexford are a decent team with quite a receny hyistory of playing at HQ.
Good to have Dan on board but there is a job to be done.