Quote from: Yes I Would on July 31, 2008, 10:39:10 PM
Quote from: full back on July 31, 2008, 11:07:44 AM
Quote from: downredblack on July 31, 2008, 11:02:20 AM
Anyone know any GAA pubs in Newcastle ?(england)  :'(  :( Fooking going mad

There is an Irsih pub up beside St James Park
I know they show games

Irish centre opposite St James's is the place to watch it. Do tasty pints as well.
Stay clear of O Neills, they likely wont be showing it!

Decent spot - no windows in the 'Lounge' can be a bit freaky when you walk out after an afternoon's drinking though!

RadioGAAGAA

Quote from: armaghniac on July 31, 2008, 07:49:29 PM
I know you haven't been in Croke Pk recently, but smoking isn't allowed there now. Which is a vast improvement.

Have they cleaned up the puke your lot left all over the pitch?
i usse an speelchekor

Yes I Would

Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on July 31, 2008, 10:44:22 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 31, 2008, 07:49:29 PM
I know you haven't been in Croke Pk recently, but smoking isn't allowed there now. Which is a vast improvement.

Have they cleaned up the puke your lot left all over the pitch?

Thats well washed away at this stage!!

QuoteAnd what have Armagh got to show for their much talked about outings in Croke Park & dominance of the Ulster championship in the last ten years, 1 All-Ireland & a couple of Ulster titles

1 All-Ireland and 7 Ulsters may be less than Armagh deserve, but it is better than 1 McKenna cup. Better to dominate, and not quite win everything, than to be a disgrace to the memory of your illustrious predecessors.  Please do better on Sunday.

QuoteHave they cleaned up the puke your lot left all over the pitch?

What a witty quip. Are you the new Oscar Wilde?
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

RadioGAAGAA

Quote from: armaghniac on July 31, 2008, 10:53:16 PM
What a witty quip. Are you the new Oscar Wilde?

Did he hate to watch the game being butchered by a bunch of no marks* too?

*plus Stevie McDonnell & Ronan Clarke - they are good footballers surrounded by water carriers.
i usse an speelchekor

amallon

Down team v Wexford is as follows:
Brendan McVeigh
Luke Howard
Peter Turley
Colm Murney
Paul Murphy
Aidan Carr
Kevin McGuigan
Dan Gordan
Ambrose Rodgers
John Fegan
Kevin McKernan
Danny Hughes
Ronan Murtagh
John Clarke
Brendan Coulter
Disclaimer: I am responsible for MY comments only.  I don't own this site.

imdagaffer

This thread is pretty quiet .... compared to usual,

AMALLON Thanks for the team,

Is McComiskey still injured?

No1

That defence still scares the shite outta me!

What's the craic with Dee Rafferty's injury?

southdown

I think Murtagh is lucky again to get a starting place.  Fair play to Turley, has taken his chance well.  Still, this is a debut championship season for the entire full back line, the wide open spaces of Croke Parke and Mattie Forde cause some worry.

Down should have enough firepower to get through saturday ok. there is plenty of goals in that forward line against a defence like wexford's. obviously the same could be said at the other end but down will win more possession in the midfield sector i imagine.

two worst defences left in the championship -

Down 7 - 19, Wexford 5 - 18.

D4S

The object of the game Uladh is to score more than the other team....I'd take that result no problem ;D ;D ;D
The secret of success in life is for a man to be ready for his opportunity when it comes.

upthehoops

Think back 2 months. we were all convinced Healy Park was a worry. Then we thought Tyrone couldn't make a second mistake.
a week ago after 15 mins of the second half Laois was like a steam train coming down the track but we held on, thanks mainly to that inexperienced Full Back line for whom Turley and Howard were excellent.
I think we are all apprehensive about tomorrow but we are playing Championship football in August when we had no aspirations to some months ago. Croke Park has been some what bereft of true colour since 1994. There is no sight in the world like the masses in red and black.An Dún Abú.

buglebhoy

from rte

It's almost impossible to tell how Wexford will react to their humiliating Leinster final defeat to Dublin.

Manager Jason Ryan did brilliantly to lead the Slaneysiders to their first provincial decider in over 50 years, but there might be a part of him that now wishes that the magnificent comeback they produced against Meath had fallen just short.

But no-one in their right mind can argue that Wexford are 23 points worse than the Dubs, and Ryan will surely have been pushing the line that the back-door offers his men an immediate opportunity to repair the damage.

There were plenty of positives to be taken from their first-half performance at Croke Park. Mattie Forde looked especially dangerous every time he received decent ball, but when the supply dried up he was powerless to prevent the rout.

That means the midfield battle will be crucial, and Wexford may be in trouble there. Dan Gordan was rightly cleared of any wrongdoing after Padraig Clancy's antics led to the Down man being dismissed against Laois last Saturday.

Gordan has formed an impressive partnership with Ambrose Rodgers, which has laid the foundation for the Ulster side's progress this summer.

Down manager Ross Carr has been forced to bring in Peter Turley at full-back in place of the injured Martin Cole, but he will feel the momentum his side have built up since their defeat by Armagh should stand them in good stead.

Dublin exposed the Wexford full-back line time and again, and the Model men could be destroyed by Benny Coulter alone if they haven't found a solution to their problems back there.

The Mourne men's lack of games at Croke Park may put them at a slight disadvantage, but Wexford's harrowing experience on their last visit to Headquarters will hardly do them any favours.

Verdict: Down

RadioGAAGAA

Quote from: Uladh on August 01, 2008, 10:45:36 AM
two worst defences left in the championship -

Aye... some teams don't play 13 men in their defence... imagine that  ;) :D
i usse an speelchekor

Aye, but they don't beat anyone of consequence or stay in the championship too long though...