Ulster Final 2008 - Armagh vs Fermanagh

Started by wanderer, June 29, 2008, 11:22:11 PM

Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 27, 2008, 11:54:50 PM
An absolutely brutal game of football which highlighted the massive problems in Gaelic today with a near total inacapability to kick scores and a massive reliance on defence....While hoping Fermanagh would win after watching it I was glad they didn't because picking a team to hopefully score 9/10 points at most and defending is not how the game should be played....Its all fine and dandy picking guys who can run for 70 mins but why is there seemingly a rule that this is more important than kicking scores....

Anyway awaiting all the vitriol towards McDonnell that was thrown at the Dublin players last year..

Dunno DFS if you look at the video you will see Gallagher has a kick at McDonnell as the ball goes in, which is probably why that incident started. Don't think McDonnell is the type for that usually so there will be no backlash.

As poor a game a football as I've seen... awful stuff and Fermanagh's lack of forwars will mean they don't win anything this year. Having said that they will beat Kildare and if they got Cork I would fancy them to win that too and anything can happen in an AISF.

People can talk all they want about the puke in Ulster football but the bottom line is that there are 5 Ulster teams in the last 12 (Derry and Donegal both knocked out by Ulster teams I might add). Whilst it's not pretty it's damn sure effective and any team not prepared to deal with the blanket will be waving bye bye (Derry and Donegal). To be honest I fancy Kerry to be beaten by Monaghan and the Ulster teams to win all 4 Round 3 qualifiers. I wish it weren't that way though and teams could just go out an play and everyone enjoy the skill and some great shootouts but alas this ill not happen, winning is the business these days and this decade has proved that to win it you have to do it ugly sometimes!

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 28, 2008, 01:23:31 AM
QuoteBold prediction. Armagh to lose by 4!

.....a real mystic Meg aren't you

Just saw this  :D :D :D... OK I got it wron and let romance dictate what my head should've known. Having said that if Fermanagh had an any way decent free taker I still think thy'd have won. I think you might be still crabbit about Limerick getting beat given you thought they were the saviour of Munster football's questions over quality... ah well maybe next year for them.

Screen - And last year Rooney had a grab at Vaughan before he reacted after the goal and the Laois guys had a go at Brogan before they started pointing to the scoreboard but no-one accepted that as being acceptable.....

Yes but the last 2 years have shown the Ulster teams getting to the 3rd round/qtr-finals but no further and likely to happen again...

This winning ugly lark I think is done by teams who's players/managers are scared to actually go out and play football the way it should be played and who are incapable of training/coaching a team to win playing good football and are resorting to negative defensive football because it is the easiest way to train/coach players rather than promoting attacking positive football......

bigpaul

All the feedback I am getting is that Gallagher did not behave in a very gentlemanly way throughout the two matches, but I would still rather Stevie rose above it, if he he felt he couldn't let it go on this occcasion I won't condemn him.The rest of your post is just plain stupid.Who holds the rights on how to 'play football the way it should be played'?The only blueprint for how the game should be played is contained in the rule book.

Quote from: bigpaul on July 28, 2008, 01:58:17 AM
All the feedback I am getting is that Gallagher did not behave in a very gentlemanly way throughout the two matches, but I would still rather Stevie rose above it, if he he felt he couldn't let it go on this occcasion I won't condemn him.The rest of your post is just plain stupid.Who holds the rights on how to 'play football the way it should be played'?The only blueprint for how the game should be played is contained in the rule book.

Your assertion is glib and sweeping without attempting to use any examples or analyse particular incidents to illustrate your point, big lad ;)

bigpaul

Again I have to disagree!!!!!I am merely relating information passed to me and never attempted to add any weight as to its' veracity! ;)

Gaelic football suicide on Fermanagh's part. To run the game the way they did and come in at half time was demoralising and it was a very average Armagh team that beat a Fermanagh team with the inability to take their scores. Their inexperience and naivety cost them the game yesterday and Armagh's experience and pedigree seen them through. With 10 minutes left there was still only 2 points in the game so both teams will need major improvments if they are to beat any other team on their next appearances...

A major disappointment for all Fermanagh folk to watch their team implode in front of them on their biggest day.

Quote from: Onion Bag on July 27, 2008, 08:46:42 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on July 25, 2008, 05:18:40 PM

I've enjoyed the views and opinions today, but I am moving on for a while now, planning to be back here some time on Tuesday after the Fermanagh celebrations have calmed down a bit but I won't be gloating, well not much anyway

Good Luck, may the best team win on Sunday  ;)

Didnt expect to hear from you today Sammy, did the celebrations get wrapped up early

Onion Bag, the celebrations were put on ice when Stevie from Killeavy hit the Onion Bag  >:(

Yous kicked yourselves out of it, Why wasnt brew on fro the start, It was obvious that the free taking was not sorted from the 1st day, Owens was a big loss, but when you are playing against a seasoned and experienced team like Armagh, you only get one chance to overturn them. 

Terrible Ulster Final for a neutral.  On their first half performance both teams would have trouble beatin London never mind win an AI.

Fermanagh's inept free-taking began to affect confidence all over the field and they knew man for man they should have been out of sight at half-time.    Ownes getting stretched off capped their day off and Armagh probably should have beaten them by double scores such was Fermanagh's listlessness in the last 15mins.  

Anyway Armagh are in the 1/4 finals which is what they probably wanted more than another Anglo Celt while Fermanagh have a relatively easy back-door passage, when what they really wanted was the Anglo Celt! Such is life!

Quote from: sammymaguire on July 28, 2008, 09:07:13 AM

Onion Bag, the celebrations were put on ice when Stevie from Killeavy hit the Onion Bag  >:(

If Stevie hadnt of hit the net the celebrations would still have been on ice.
Jaysus Sammy, do you honestly think ye would have won?
Fermanagh were comprehensively beaten

ffs, of course we weren't going to win 4 points down with 2 minutes to play, that was the final nail in the coffin

Fermanagh's inexperience and lack of self belief (which diminished watching the umpire's arms waving around for 35 minutes) after being on top for so long without pulling away from Armagh.

BerfArmagh

Very poor match yesterday & if both sides play as poorly again then they won't in any ASF.

Fermanagh played out football sucicide yesterday, it really does to show how important a decent freetaker is i.e Paul Finaly the difference against Donegal. Some of the Fermanagh wides were embarrassing. Armagh were'nt far behind them. T Kernan did'nt work, however it does seem to have given Stephen K a kick up the ass as he played very well when he came on. Indeed it was his excellent run which laid to the goal.

I thought Mc Donnell was held very well all day, clarke had a better day out. Class come through in the end & even though stevie had an off day (You could see he was frustrated) he stil ened up with 1-3 (I think)

I thought the Armagh backs were excellent, (Though Moriairty is suspect under the high ball) Bellew, A Kernan & Mc Keever were immense. Martin O ROurke had a fantastic game as well. I actually thought ARmagh won mid field yesterday. Mc Grane was my man of the match & Toner really came of age.

A fanatastic seventh ulster title, now lets give sam a real lash (The Draw next sunday will be fascinating) Good luck to fermanagh against kildare (Keep the heads up)

Quote from: sammymaguire on July 28, 2008, 09:25:04 AM
ffs, of course we weren't going to win 4 points down with 2 minutes to play, that was the final nail in the coffin

You said the celebrations were put on ice when the goal was scored.....
I said the game was over well before that ::)
Not taking the defeat graciously are we...

To get away from the footbal for a second but staying with the occasion on Clones, did anyone notice the talent floating round clones yesterday and im not talking about the talent on the pitch, jasus it was mighty  ;)