Armagh v Down- 29th June-Ulster Semi Final Thread

Started by Whacker, June 17, 2008, 08:53:38 PM

Quote from: buglebhoy on June 27, 2008, 02:42:51 PM
anyone know what the weather's like for sunday in clones?we won't see big dan catch as many clean balls if it stays the way it is!!

don't think getting tickets will be a problem with a few lady supporters changing their minds. you'll def not see the girl with the 6 inch heels and jockey pants at it that someone was talking about!

Down to win by a point

Bellew to go off (if he can climb out of bennys pocket) with a fake injury because he's getting roasted

Ambrose will get man of the match with 4 points from play

Paul McGrane to announce his retirement after the game.......... again!!!

Gives showers all wekend,

Benny will be going of early with his teeth shattering from francie getting stuck, faking injury because hes actually scared shitless

Armagh to win by 3  ;)

haveaharp

i'd genuinely forgotten the cockiness of Down fans. Dj kane doesnt play anymore does he. We'll be grand then.

Quote from: haveaharp on June 27, 2008, 02:57:11 PM
i'd genuinely forgotten the cockiness of Down fans. Dj kane doesnt play anymore does he. We'll be grand then.

I know what you are saying harp.
I almost forgot what they were like before.
At least in times gone by they had something to mouth about, now it is just a chane to spout off after all these barron years ;)

buglebhoy

think it's called having a bit of banter!! and no DJ def doesn't play now

downredblack

Quote from: full back on June 27, 2008, 03:06:54 PM

At least in times gone by they had something to mouth about, now it is just a chane to spout off after all these barron years ;)

Priceless , who do you boys think ya's are Kerry ? Armagh have won Sam once , so what about your barron years ? ::)

D4S

Well yous had plenty of barron years so you should know all about it! Armagh WILL NOT stay at the top forever, someone will take them off their pedestal at some stage...all we're saying is why not Down? You've a short memory things go in swings and roundabouts..when armagh won ulster in 1999 it ended our successful team of the 90s who won 2 all irelands in their short period at the top, maybe now we can end your successful spell before god forbid you get a 2nd all ireland out of this team that has been so successful for the last 9years!!
The secret of success in life is for a man to be ready for his opportunity when it comes.

haveaharp

Quote from: D4S on June 27, 2008, 03:16:34 PM

Well yous had plenty of barron years so you should know all about it! Armagh WILL NOT stay at the top forever, someone will take them off their pedestal at some stage...all we're saying is why not Down? You've a short memory things go in swings and roundabouts..when armagh won ulster in 1999 it ended our successful team of the 90s who won 2 all irelands in their short period at the top, maybe now we can end your successful spell before god forbid you get a 2nd all ireland out of this team that has been so successful for the last 9years!!

I think its more difficult now for weaker counties to get back to where they once were as opposed to a top 4 county sliding into oblivion. The bar has been raised in Armagh, whereas maybe they should raze a few bars in Down.

Armagh are not "at the top". they lost both of their championship games against donegal and derry last year and struggled by one of the worst two teams in the province in the first round.

however, we feel our nobodys should have enough to beat your nobodys

Jasus lads, everyone is getting a bit edgy, maybe its championship nerves, the banter here is great, you couldnt beat it with a big stick.

But seriously you down guys are banging on about all these all irelands and that way back when men wore caps while playing football and the goalies smoked pipes, and it was a pigs head or bladder was being booted round the field, the tv was black and white, i bet 90% of yous on here couldnt even enjoy the last in 94 becasue ye were only wee cubs still running round in nappies, for the older folk yes i can take on board their arguments but you boys really werent around to celebrate it properly like us Armagh men

haveaharp

Quote from: Onion Bag on June 27, 2008, 03:26:41 PM
Jasus lads, everyone is getting a bit edgy, maybe its championship nerves, the banter here is great, you couldnt beat it with a big stick.

But seriously you down guys are banging on about all these all irelands and that way back when men wore caps while playing football and the goalies smoked pipes, and it was a pigs head or bladder was being booted round the field, the tv was black and white, i bet 90% of yous on here couldnt even enjoy the last in 94 becasue ye were only wee cubs still running round in nappies, for the older folk yes i can take on board their arguments but you boys really werent around to celebrate it properly like us Armagh men

They may have 5 but how many of them saw their first. ;)

buglebhoy

not edgy, just confident!!

RadioGAAGAA

Quote from: Onion Bag on June 27, 2008, 02:51:47 PM
Benny will be going of early with his teeth shattering from francie getting stuck, faking injury because hes actually scared shitless

When's Francie gonna catch him to hit him?  :D
i usse an speelchekor

D4S

:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
I love it! Did have a chuckle reading that very witty!

I definitley remember 91+94 and yes I wasnt able to celebrate in the pubs as I was only a teenager 1994, and I agree with you it would be massively different to celebrate an ulster or all ireland win as a man! Hopefully this year will be the year!  Ive experienced what it could be like to an extent in 03+05 when Tyrone won their 2ALLIRELANDS this decade as my woman is a tyrone woman...If you can't beat them join them ;D

But I dont think I could ever celebrate with Amrmagh sorry ;)
The secret of success in life is for a man to be ready for his opportunity when it comes.

D4S

I meant ARMAGH not amrmagh or however i spelt it there in previous post :)

Quotesomeone will take them off their pedestal at some stage...all we're saying is why not Down?

Because Down are a pretty average side, who beat a pretty average Tyrone team at the second time of asking.

If Down did qualify for an Ulster final, it would be music to the ears of Fermanagh.