U21 Football Championship

Started by Croí na hÉireann, February 13, 2008, 03:39:38 PM

dodo

Quote from: Rossfan on April 10, 2008, 05:13:22 PM
Quote from: dodo on April 10, 2008, 04:46:52 PM

Doubt if you can isolate the blame for the first half performance to Mr Maughan !

If he had left the U21s or 90% of them anyway to thier own devices I think it's common sense to suggest that the U21s would be better prepared and fresher etc.
Down havent a great Senior team at present but I'd be very surprised if they have 12 or 13 of their excellent U21s on the Senior panel.

If these lads were not training with the seniors since october the chances are that they would not be playing much football. On this basis it could be argued that they were in better shape than would have otherwise been the case.  :o

Not when they were training without a ball and racing around a dog track under the Commdt.
Anyway they were obliged to train FOUR times  over Easter Weekend - Friday U21s,Saturday Seniors, Sunday U 21s and Monday despite promises to the contrary they were obliged to report for Senior training by the ex Manager.
Then the following weekend 4 of them had to play v Westmeath 24 hours after the U21 Championship game v Sligo.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

neilthemac

and don't forget 3rd level football

Shrewdness

Come on fellow Rossies, let's be fair about this.

Some of the Mayo lads are involved with their senior set up as well, and actually played a hard game last Sunday against Galway, whilst most of our U-21'S didn't play.

I believe Ros' poor first half performance cost them the game. But, as all of yesterday evening's team, with the exception of 3 i think, are eligible again next year, we might give it a better shot then. Unless of course, they scrap the u-21 grade as has been threatened.

The legacy of Maughan had no bearing on yesterday's result.

dodo

Fair play Shrewdness. If yesterday's game had gone to a replay I wouldn't be over confident of Mayo winning again.
Is Donie Shine still less than 100% fit ? Saw very little ball from open play and surely should have been brought into play more if fit. His freetaking was very good. He still has 2 years left at u21 I believe.

Of last nights team and subs who came on Higgins,Carty, Shine,McKeague and Paul Garvey have 2 more years at U21.
There are more than 3 who are now finished with U21 - Martin,Brady,the 2 midfielders, Cregg and Kenny . I'm not sure about Gaynor - I cant remember him being on or near the Minor panel in 2006 ( oh the memories  ;D). That would mean 6/7 now gone out of U21.
I cant understand why Cathal McHugh and Niall Grehan both regulars with Co Champions Brigids werent considered good enough to be on the U21 team?
Donie certainly didnt look all that fit right enough. At one stage in the second half he seemed unable to bend to a low ball. I had heard earlier in the year he had a back strain - I wonder was it still at him.
Anyway it's over and done with for us for this year so like the team I'll now bow out. :'(
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

rocco

willie hegerty asked donie (senior) the day of the sligo game how was donie (j) back which he replied that his back was not his problem but his ankle, which he said was o k now..

Where is the pitch in Nenagh does anybody know?

dodo

From Loughrea take N65 to Portumna and Borrisokane. From Borrisokane, take N52 for Nenagh.

Go right at roundabout staying on N52 (Link Road). MacDonagh Park should be on the left after about 0.5 mile.

amallon

I've heard the two semis are to be played in Navan as a double header.  Kerry v Mayo then Down v Kildare at 5.  Anyone confirm?
Disclaimer: I am responsible for MY comments only.  I don't own this site.

From GAA.ie

Cadburys All Ireland U21 Football Championship

Semi-Final
Nenagh 3.30pm Ciarraí v Maigh Eo
Referee: Tomas Quigley, Baile Átha Cliath
Páirc Tailteann 5.00pm An Dún v Cill Dara
Referee: Pat McGovern, Gaillimh

StoneWall

Surely Ennis or Limerick would have been a more logical choice for Mayo V Kerry! Anyway both semis are live on TG4.

Mayo look to have a number of injuries with doubts about three of their defenders...Chris Barrett, Tom Cunniffe and James Burke.

Ah Nenagh is a grand pitch, and a nice set up. It's probably that bit closer to Mayo than Limerick or Ennis as well. Certainly more like half way for North Kerry-South Mayo.

Well I'll be getting the bus down from Dublin. Hope the lads do it and get to a final again. Stonewall, that's the entire half-back line you've mentioned there I think. Doesn't look too good if they are actually injured for Saturday. Who else plans to go?

SuperDooperCooper

Not all that confident about tomorrow, the U-21 have been a mixed bag this year.
The forward have put up impressive scores against Limerick (0-17 to 1-7), Cork (0-15 to 0-10) and Tipperary (0-15 to 2-7) but the defence has not looked great.
Killian Young is doing a good Sheamus Moynihan impression putting out fires all over the place. As one of the Mayo boys said whoever win midfield will take it.
I am surprised that Keiran Brennan only starts on the bench, though he played well when he came on in Ardfinnan.
The match is a replay of the minor All-Ireland of 2005 which Mayo won by a point 1-12 to 0-14 (Great game too if I recall correctly).