Started by ziggysego, August 13, 2011, 03:08:08 PM

AustinPowers

Quote from: RedHand88 on March 06, 2026, 02:36:28 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on March 06, 2026, 02:35:18 PM
Quote from: tiempo on March 06, 2026, 02:25:28 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on March 06, 2026, 02:14:53 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on March 06, 2026, 02:10:50 PM
Quote from: tiempo on March 06, 2026, 01:15:00 PMA game for thugs played by gentlemen - what would/should the GAA do in such circumstances?

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/ce8ww783d99o

how many recipients of the MBE does the GAA have

A great pub  quiz question, that one!

None. Immediate suspension. Game Changer.

I wouldn't be so  sure. I'd say  there's one or two members with  an MBE.

I knew  of two  people in a former life  who had MBE's. I'd  say there was a  good chance  at least  one of them was   a club member.

Former county minor Martin Oneill has an OBE.

There you go then.

Uncle Hugo has  some sort of -BE.  He could  well be a club member.

They live amongst us ....

Sir AP played a bit before he discovered horses

Quote from: AustinPowers on March 06, 2026, 02:14:53 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on March 06, 2026, 02:10:50 PM
Quote from: tiempo on March 06, 2026, 01:15:00 PMA game for thugs played by gentlemen - what would/should the GAA do in such circumstances?

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/ce8ww783d99o

how many recipients of the MBE does the GAA have

A great pub  quiz question, that one!

Socrates always the answer

Brennan and McGuinness incidents like comparing apples to oranges the brains of the operation reckons...

Quote from: Armagh18 on June 02, 2026, 03:53:29 PMBrennan and McGuinness incidents like comparing apples to oranges the brains of the operation reckons...

The more time goes on, the more I think JB as a serious superiority complex. He talks some BS and expects everyone to buy into it.

I don't think he'll be seen as being a successful appointment, which is really disappointing as I thought he was a great appointment when he got the gig.

Quote from: tbrick18 on June 03, 2026, 10:12:05 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on June 02, 2026, 03:53:29 PMBrennan and McGuinness incidents like comparing apples to oranges the brains of the operation reckons...

The more time goes on, the more I think JB as a serious superiority complex. He talks some BS and expects everyone to buy into it.

I don't think he'll be seen as being a successful appointment, which is really disappointing as I thought he was a great appointment when he got the gig.

At some level though he has to say that. He can't come out and say in public that the committee are a shower of eejits. However, if I were him I would ensure that this is a long look at the rules in relation to this.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

2ndstringsub

Was disappointed that Jarlath didn't get the job at the first time of running for it.

With that said I have been far more disappointed with his leadership in the role. another stooge towing the line like all the others.

its unfortunate as he seemed a really positive voice for change upon getting the job but back to the status quo it seems like for me.

I suppose the allure of being invited to speak at dinners golfing excursions etc during his golden years is worth not having Joe blogs back him up on the day to day running of the association.

Will struggle going forward, when no doubt he puts his hat in the ring for the other presidential job  ;)
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: armaghniac on June 03, 2026, 12:20:37 PM

At some level though he has to say that. He can't come out and say in public that the committee are a shower of eejits. However, if I were him I would ensure that this is a long look at the rules in relation to this.
Why is he saying anything? Just don't comment. But he is incapable of doing that.

I get that he was on the radio talking about the draw and may have been blindsided with the question, but all he had to was defer to the committees decision. But no, he has to have an opinion and if you disagree with him you are irrational.

Where do we find these eejits

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 03, 2026, 01:37:12 PMWill struggle going forward, when no doubt he puts his hat in the ring for the other presidential job  ;)
I think Jim Gavin killed that golden goose.

But Burns can't seriously think he is Presidential material?

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on June 03, 2026, 04:21:09 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 03, 2026, 01:37:12 PMWill struggle going forward, when no doubt he puts his hat in the ring for the other presidential job  ;)

I would have thought the natural progression for him, (what I felt) he may have been striving for, was that role..

Look I thought he handled things well at the start of his current job and then nose dived after some heat came his way (self inflicted mind you) with things that possible could have been handled better..

Possibly with some political training and time he could well put himself forward, he'd have been no worse than what Ireland has had in the past, but he sorta blew himself up
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 03, 2026, 04:35:58 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on June 03, 2026, 04:21:09 PM

I would have thought the natural progression for him, (what I felt) he may have been striving for, was that role..

Look I thought he handled things well at the start of his current job and then nose dived after some heat came his way (self inflicted mind you) with things that possible could have been handled better..

Possibly with some political training and time he could well put himself forward, he'd have been no worse than what Ireland has had in the past, but he sorta blew himself up
Ireland hasn't had any bad Presidents though. Hillary was a wet fart, but he did nothing wrong. Ó Dálaigh was the only controversy when he resigned, but he was right.

Burns is miles off the constitutional lawyers or respected former politicians that run, never mind win. As Gavin showed, the electorate don't give a shit if you used to be good at football, and he had a decent record in public service.

tyrone08

Burns has made a tit out of himself again. First it was the ref dealt with it at the time now hes on the radio saying its because if the cccc implemented a ban it may not stand up to an appeal.

Which excuse is it?

I agree. A spoofer of the highest degree.

What's his legacy?

He thinks people are stupid re; Brennan/Mc Guinness thing. Tries to bluff his way out of it.

SaffronSports

Everything about the fella is inconsistent.