Christy Ring, Nicky Rackard and Lory Meagher Draws

Started by MoChara, November 23, 2015, 04:33:34 PM

Genocide Organ

Bad result for Kerry, I would've thought? They were competing at the top end of McDonagh not that long ago. Would that Derry team be backboned by Slaughneil lads?

Brendan

Quote from: Genocide Organ on May 31, 2026, 08:35:26 AMBad result for Kerry, I would've thought? They were competing at the top end of McDonagh not that long ago. Would that Derry team be backboned by Slaughneil lads?

Not as many as you would think, defintly a string presence with Sé Cassidy, Conor Coyle and of course Cormac O'Doherty being sleacht Neil men who stood up brilliantly yesterday

Quote from: Genocide Organ on May 31, 2026, 08:35:26 AMBad result for Kerry, I would've thought? They were competing at the top end of McDonagh not that long ago. Would that Derry team be backboned by Slaughneil lads?

Yeah, Kerry would have been strong favourites. Dominated the league stage and lost to Derry, when they had nothing to play for. Credit to Derry who battled back V Meath and got the draw. But played unreal yesterday from the get go. Really aggresive and hard work. Played for each other. But Kerry needed to turn up and they didn't so they'll be gutted. Sport is really about being good on the day. Nothing else counts.

Mixture of clubs on the panel. A good few from the successful U20 B winning teams I think, plus a solid spine of long soldiering servants like O'Doherty, Mc Grath and Foley etc. SN have a core group on team and most start. Kelly is a really solid keeper. That experience defintely helps. Manager cute to develop a lot of his own club players also. Probably a third of panel from there.

I think Derry hurlers deserved that Christy Ring. And not just because of that performance yesterday. They've knocked on the CR door this while and were up against better teams - apart from London last year. So glad for them players to get over the line.

But management can only work with what's available. It'll be interesting to see who's 'available' next season. Could be a few boys back which will be tough on some of the lads currently there.

With Antrim and Down in Mc Donagh next season, it'll have an Ulster feel to it. Less travel also, so the northern counties will be happy about that. Unreal to have 3 Ulster teams in the Joe Mc D. Should create a good buzz.

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 29, 2026, 11:18:56 AMGood luck to my beloved Longford on Sunday as we face Leitrim in the Lory Meagher final in Croke Park.

It will be a tight affair.

My nephew playing for Longford. Hurling is in the blood.

Well done to Longford and your nephew.

Full time Leitrim 1-13 Longford 1-18.

Quote from: Blowitupref on May 31, 2026, 02:06:16 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 29, 2026, 11:18:56 AMGood luck to my beloved Longford on Sunday as we face Leitrim in the Lory Meagher final in Croke Park.

It will be a tight affair.

My nephew playing for Longford. Hurling is in the blood.

Well done to Longford and your nephew.

Full time Leitrim 1-13 Longford 1-18.

Good stuff Shamrock Shore. Longford win the derby!

Thanks all.

Good win for Longford. Turned it on in the second half.

Can we be designated as a hurling county now?

Congrats Shamrock.

Hope ye have as much craic tonight as the Laythrums had the year they won it🍺🍺🍺🍺🍺🍺
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.