?

?
16 (50%)
?
16 (50%)

Total Members Voted: 32

Ryan O

Our forwards just aren't very good regardless of coaching, tactics, systems and all that.
They work really hard yes but apart from maybe Murray there's nobody with that ambitious streak ready to take a risk and make things happen.

With the subs today and the changes to starting line up I honestly believe preparation for next season has started already.

Really disappointed not to see Sean Kearney getting a run out. Niall Loughlin had a poor day and only scored a point so thought that change could have been made.

The elephant in the room here is how did Shane get staying on the whole game, as poor as I have ever seen him.

Maybe some of our stats men on here could tell me how many times Glass was one of our 3 left up, standing on half way line shouting instructions isn't a good look for a lad touted as one of top midfielders in country.

Mc Cabe absolutely dominated that defensive link role today. Tight at the back and sitting behind the attacking group as the out ball at all times.

And with all that, probably slated as harsh criticism we were only beat by 5, defensively I thought we done fairly well, maybe slightly lacking bit of pace but well set up. Once we got our defensive line moved forward about 10 yards in first half I thought Armagh really struggled to get through.

Another thing, hardly any Derry supporters at it, bck to the bad ole days!

Red10

Quote from: Stickittotheman on May 30, 2026, 09:41:16 PMThe players really need to stand up now. The last few years they have wanted RG or Meenagh back. Some need to show some real leadership. Armagh didnt get out of 2nd gear but neither did we. The shooting was abysmal. Some easy easy scores passed up. Loughlin and McGuigan in the first 10 minutes passed up 1-1 between them and we got zero from those attacks. Kick outs were poor and we barely got any away clean the whole game.

Some real questions need asked now. What do we want to be? The 2020's nearly men who threw it all away or is there something in this team that when it clicks we can be one of the top teams in the country. Confidence looks shot again. Time for Meenagh to really show what's the about.

Yeah they can't blame the management again. Although you'd have to question the authority Meenagh has when you see  the performances of some. Also the distactions of the nonsense social media stuff players have been putting up the last while. You can't see the Donegal or Armagh management tolerating it in a run up to a big game. Derry have become a laughing stock in those counties. 

Always great to read the shite on here after a defeat you'd think we are a regular all.ireland winner going by some youns fuckwits

Too much bullshit to even discuss but one that stands out is id be curious to know who said we had the best midfield in the country interstellar

jb77

Here it cant go on like this surely

OakLeaf

Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on May 30, 2026, 11:13:43 PMAlways great to read the shite on here after a defeat you'd think we are a regular all.ireland winner going by some youns fuckwits

That's fair if you believe we don't have the players to be challenging the top teams in the country. I think we probably do but we need to be a bit more adventurous than we've been recently. Are you happy with our style of play?

Whats that now jb

See for yous younger boys we aren't an all Ireland winning county. We are top ten when things are going good maybe top 3/4 when they're going v good. I don't know what else you expect but feel free to come on here here make fools of yourselves stamp your feet and demand better

Ball

Quote from: Red10 on May 30, 2026, 10:34:27 PM
Quote from: Stickittotheman on May 30, 2026, 09:41:16 PMThe players really need to stand up now. The last few years they have wanted RG or Meenagh back. Some need to show some real leadership. Armagh didnt get out of 2nd gear but neither did we. The shooting was abysmal. Some easy easy scores passed up. Loughlin and McGuigan in the first 10 minutes passed up 1-1 between them and we got zero from those attacks. Kick outs were poor and we barely got any away clean the whole game.

Some real questions need asked now. What do we want to be? The 2020's nearly men who threw it all away or is there something in this team that when it clicks we can be one of the top teams in the country. Confidence looks shot again. Time for Meenagh to really show what's the about.

Yeah they can't blame the management again. Although you'd have to question the authority Meenagh has when you see  the performances of some. Also the distactions of the nonsense social media stuff players have been putting up the last while. You can't see the Donegal or Armagh management tolerating it in a run up to a big game. Derry have become a laughing stock in those counties.

Seen this mentioned before whats the social media stuff and who you on about? Hopefully you dont mean lads promoting their business ventures?

Quote from: OakLeaf on May 30, 2026, 11:22:27 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on May 30, 2026, 11:13:43 PMAlways great to read the shite on here after a defeat you'd think we are a regular all.ireland winner going by some youns fuckwits

That's fair if you believe we don't have the players to be challenging the top teams in the country. I think we probably do but we need to be a bit more adventurous than we've been recently. Are you happy with our style of play?

Your post not the worst until the last bit. You want a full clear out. Tell me who you're bringing in

When things are going well we are a competitive county nothing more nothing less. Our style of play is effective to a certain level yes. We don't play much off the cuff football. We are where we are

We are where we are? We still trying play the same way fball was 2yrs ago, fball moved on, we havent.

OakLeaf

Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on May 30, 2026, 11:32:24 PMYour post not the worst until the last bit. You want a full clear out. Tell me who you're bringing in

When things are going well we are a competitive county nothing more nothing less. Our style of play is effective to a certain level yes. We don't play much off the cuff football. We are where we are

Definitely not bringing you in lad. You dont set your ceiling very high.

Im sure there are plenty of managers out there that could play more progressive football. We could build a team with Deets and a few others. The point is that we have a lot of talented footballers now, and more coming through; my frustration is that I can see us wasting their chances if things continue as they are.

And, I'm not young either. Played MacRory football at Maghera in the mid 80s, so no spring chicken 😀

Ball

Firstly fair play to the hurlers finally getting over the line in the christy ring. Great performance today and great to see for the men that have stuck at it through more bad days than good as cormac said.

Is this likely to entice more to commit again for next year?

On the football, we look like a group that have lost all confidence, most noticeable in shane and ethan and looks like its going further through the team.

Weve needed new blood for a while, ruairi forbes has been a find this year but thats been it. Dan higgins injured most of the year, patrick mcgurk played a bit last year hasnt pushed on. Sean kearney preferred one day then sean young the next. Mathew downey looked like he was back during the league now gone/injured again.

Weve failed to bridge the gap between u20 and senior

Red10

Quote from: Ball on May 30, 2026, 11:29:40 PM
Quote from: Red10 on May 30, 2026, 10:34:27 PM

Seen this mentioned before whats the social media stuff and who you on about? Hopefully you dont mean lads promoting their business ventures?

No not that. Fellas have a right to earn a living. Other shite.

Derry barely blooded any new players during the league, 5-15mins here and there. Young Sargent comes on the nite but what that say to other lads training all yr and barely tried. Didnt see the goal to i got home but theres no way that should found the net. Derry stood of Armagh in the tackle and on the couple good breaks they got, they hadnt the speed to complete a score. They miles off what they were 3/4yrs ago.

Quote from: OakLeaf on May 30, 2026, 11:44:21 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on May 30, 2026, 11:32:24 PMYour post not the worst until the last bit. You want a full clear out. Tell me who you're bringing in

Definitely not bringing you in lad. You dont set your ceiling very high.

Im sure there are plenty of managers out there that could play more progressive football. We could build a team with Deets and a few others. The point is that we have a lot of talented footballers now, and more coming through; my frustration is that I can see us wasting their chances if things continue as they are.

And, I'm not young either. Played MacRory football at Maghera in the mid 80s, so no spring chicken 😀

Ah you played mccrory. I apologize 😄

If there's plenty of managers list them lol
It's not that i don't set the ceiling v high I'm just maybe more realistic than some. We've some fine footballers but are they any better than what Donegal Armagh have? Without going further south? We got to two semis couple years back that was great but maybe that was the peak rather than automatically grabbing ourselves an AI
Agree we could play more expansive football all through the age groups

Just boils my piss that ones think we've a divine right to beating the likes of these  teams, at the minute Armagh and Donegal the main contenders and we've just been beat by one