?

?
16 (50%)
?
16 (50%)

Total Members Voted: 32

Ryan O

Tactics, systems styles of play all you want but eventually you have to have a big enough back bone to take the game by the scruff of the neck and win it.

Dessie Ward, Rory Beggan absolutely dominated that game in last 15 with a mentality that we do not have, Shea Mc came out and up the left near the end and had no option but to turn back as nobody else wanted the ball.

Sean Kearney should have been on alot earlier,
Taking men off normal time, on extra time and then back off again is poor management.

seanaglis

Quote from: Ghost on May 02, 2026, 09:07:36 PMFew lads very touchy..he's been shown up to be a liability time and time again...Reality is he's only getting game time because he's from the city.

Token gestures biting Derry in the hole today. If that's whose inspiring the kids round Derry city we'd be better off leaving them to the soccer.
It was a silly foul. There were plenty of derry defenders to hold McCarthy up when he made the catch. It was a stonewall free, and inevitable that Beggan was going to kick it.

But those comments are out of line.

The fella himself knows he made a mistake.

The bigger issue is the 2nd hslf collapse when so far in front. Not one fellas mistake.

Quote from: Ghost on May 02, 2026, 09:07:36 PMFew lads very touchy..he's been shown up to be a liability time and time again...Reality is he's only getting game time because he's from the city.

Token gestures biting Derry in the hole today. If that's whose inspiring the kids round Derry city we'd be better off leaving them to the soccer.

You are an absolute clown.

I could be here until the morning with a reply to you, but I couldn't be bothered, but know one thing......

You are on here, hiding behind a keyboard slagging off a Gaelic footballer who goes out to represent your county.

You are an absolute disgrace.

Whoever you are, you made a fool of yourself.

You are not a gael. 

You are a coward.

Shocking loss for Derry. The game was over at HT. It was so easy and comfortable that Derry took the foot off the gas, pulled the handbreak and then went to sleep.
Credit to Monaghan for their fight but Derry will be sick from this one for a long time. No promotion and now out of Ulster, it's hard to see where they're going. They have better players than most counties yet the struggle continues.

Last free even worse when i see it on Tv, that Monaghan man had 3 men round him, he was going nowhere. Derry worse defeat, in the circumstances, since Galway 2001 and Tyrone 1995. By the way whos Derry 2 pt shooters.? Nobody wanted to take them on. Derry lost massive leads last yr in the league and nothing changed.

Derry Man

Quote from: Ryan O on May 02, 2026, 07:40:44 PMTheres an elephant in the room that we insist on building a team around, he wore 11 today. 

He's not our leader, Doherty and Mc Guigan go missing when the pressure really goes on.
Mentally soft and easy to get at.
What a ridiculous comment, McGuigan won an Ulster final on his own

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 02, 2026, 09:48:01 PMLast free even worse when i see it on Tv, that Monaghan man had 3 men round him, he was going nowhere. Derry worse defeat, in the circumstances, since Galway 2001 and Tyrone 1995. By the way whos Derry 2 pt shooters.? Nobody wanted to take them on.

Thought u were leaving it till tomorrow 😄

Quote from: Derry Man on May 02, 2026, 09:52:54 PM
Quote from: Ryan O on May 02, 2026, 07:40:44 PMTheres an elephant in the room that we insist on building a team around, he wore 11 today. 

He's not our leader, Doherty and Mc Guigan go missing when the pressure really goes on.

I thought he meant Glass?
Either way he's an arsehole best ignored

Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on May 02, 2026, 09:56:16 PM
Quote from: Derry Man on May 02, 2026, 09:52:54 PM

I thought he meant Glass?
Either way he's an arsehole best ignored

Yip.

Some boys on here love getting the dig into players.

Should have won today, but didn't.

Players will know that without arseholes on here stating the fact.

Doire Abu. Go again the next time lads.

Champion The Wonder Horse

Some cockheads on the internet.

So, we're away in our next match, rather than at home. Not the biggest deal.

Though that's a game we should never have lost. But we'll go again.

Ryan O

I'll tell you why they are soft and this forum is classic example. People treating senior county players like fairies.

"Hard luck lads we'll go ahead"

"You're a disgrace saying a player had a bad game"

" Everyone's putting the boot in"

We folded like a deck of cards, big men disappeared, substitutions were very iffy and then reversed. We lack a killer instinct, that used to be there.

Somebody said here we missed Mc Faul and that 100% right, someone with a ruthless streak that people are nearly afraid to let down. Chrissy was in the same boat, demanding so much more from everyone around him.
Who is doing that now?

jmcgdoire

I thought Niall Loughlin was superb today. He does so much great work and really put his body on the line to draw contact and lay the ball off to murray for mcevoys goal. Hes an unselfish player. Shane could learn from him. Niall was through on goal and shane chipped it over the bar. I think we had an advantage there too so there was nothing to lose in just laying it off to him.

jmcgdoire

Stupid comment. Do you really think that meenagh picks his team with mcgurk or downey at corner back and then hes escorted into a private back room where the higher powers tell him hes obligated to start one player from the city? Baker is a solid player who has had great moments in the derry jersey and just unfortunately made a very bad mistake today after 90 minutes of football.

Topmarks

That's a hard one to take as I felt we were stronger for the majority of the game. We lacked composure in the second half but still should have closed it out. However, I would say the two point rule is killing us, both defensively and our lack of consistent kicking from range which kept Monaghan in it. No point slagging players, we were in good shape, played well for long spells but it wasn't our day. Im gutted but will be nothing compared to the players. It does feel like any luck we had winning Ulster finals has deserted us the last couple of years. Btw fair play to McCarron and Beggan.

Brendan

Quote from: jmcgdoire on May 02, 2026, 10:17:56 PMI thought Niall Loughlin was superb today. He does so much great work and really put his body on the line to draw contact and lay the ball off to murray for mcevoys goal. Hes an unselfish player. Shane could learn from him. Niall was through on goal and shane chipped it over the bar. I think we had an advantage there too so there was nothing to lose in just laying it off to him.

Player of the season so far, been so consistent through league and championship so far. Added lots of scores to his qualities as an already key player for us